We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squaw Valley Ski Area

Squaw Valley Ski Area
Book In Advance
$50.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Circle Tour Including Squaw Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous ski area with Olympic memories.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took 2 of my [spoiled] huskies for a hike here. My boyfriend has been several times for skiing, but it was my first time here. It was STUNNING! The waterfalls, views of Lake Tahoe ... all of it was simply stunning. We had a wonderful hike (he hiked all the way down instead of taking the gondola down from High Camp), and were made to feel very welcome when we meandered over to Uncorked in Squaw Village for some wine. I wish I lived close enough to go every weekend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    130
    49
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have skied in many place including the Alpes. And I love the skiing at Squaw Valley. No stress, small lines and great views from the slopes! Love it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The ski area speaks for itself if you come during ski season. During the summer there is a great golf course and stable. There are a number of restaurants and bars open all year round.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TahoeMounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alpine Championships”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I wasn't there for skiing but to watch the Alpine Championships. If your interested in ski competitions, whether you ski or not, Squaw valley is a great place to see some of the best go at it on a slope previously used in an Olympics. The weather was beautiful for four out of the five days, first day was postponed due to heavy snows, and the people and atmosphere were great. Nearby restaurants and shops have a variety of food and items available. I look forward to visiting again.

Short 1 minute video of some of the competition that I shot with my cell phone.

http://youtu.be/-Vx3OkYJAI8

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late in the season and limited snow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

They kept Granite Chief closed for some odd reason even though it was the best snow on the mountain. While wind was quoted, I think everyone knew it was staff related instead. I'm sure they lose money in years like this one and probably are looking to limit their exposure where they can.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SolanabeachMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squaw Valley Ski Area also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Squaw Valley Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing