We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly, kid friendly”

Squaw Valley Ski Area
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Circle Tour Including Squaw Valley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous ski area with Olympic memories.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, kid friendly”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Took gondola up with dog and teenage daughter for a hike around the top. Was great because teenager hates hiking and this was a way we could get her to buy in. Dog was free to ride the gondola. Sort of uppity atmosphere of the "village"( read: expensive stores to shop in) was a turn off.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    147
    59
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice little town”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

There was no snow when we were there. It was just a small nice town to walk around and watch the nice buildings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KL_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I enjoy the terrain and atmosphere at Squaw. There are so many lines to admire and conquer that it would take a season (or two, or three, or etc) to ski/ride them all. I continue to find new little 'spots' that I overlooked the season before. The staff is friendly and helpful. The patrons are friendly and helpful. Squaw had a much needed face lift last season and will undergo some mountain renovation to make access faster and easier. Parking sucks and will always suck. There are no people movers to get you from the edge of the lot to the edge of the mountain - that would be nice. Carry your boots to the nearest lodge and stow your shoes in a daily locker. $7 or so. There is a shuttle that runs from Squaw base to the
resort at Squaw Creek. There is also a shuttle that runs from Squaw to Alpine Meadows.
TIP - Get your morning coffee at Dave's. It is $1. Get your afternoon hot chocolate at Dave's. it is $1. Mamasake sushi - roll and pint special. Uncorked - wine bar. if you are lucky enough to catch Callie (owner) there, tell her what flavors you enjoy and your approximate price range - she will serve you up something wonderful! Geocachers? There is quite a bit for you, too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great family resort area”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved the whole place, It was like a quaint little town. Wonderful places to eat. We did not ski but we shopped and wandered throughout the village. My son did snowmobiling there and loved it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ifugono1canfollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Advanced Terrain and caters to beginners too!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What can you say, Squaw has produced some of the best athletes in our country for a reason. Challenging and varied terrain, coupled with great snow and an outstanding competive program for all ages.
For those learning, you can ski the top of the mountain on the green runs, rather than being stuck at the bottom!
For young ones, the ski school at Squaw kids is much nicer than the one at Alpine.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JeniferH431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squaw Valley Ski Area also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Squaw Valley Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing