We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so cozy, but rather uncomfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so cozy, but rather uncomfortable.”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the lodge for one night and had originally planned on spending a full two days in the Point Reyes area. We arrived early in the day and went to the Visitor's Centre and then ate lunch at the restaurant next door to the lodge. Our lunch was quite good, but a bit on the pricey side. We had come to Point Reyes for the hiking and beaches and were quite disappointed that the fog was so bad that you could not see the ocean or even the lighthouse.

When checking in we had to wait at the front desk for several minutes before anyone came to help us. We stayed in room 1, on the lower level right beside the lobby. The room was quite small and very uncomfortable. The bed spread was stained and the room felt tired and dirty. The room was also strangely layed out with an "open concept" bathroom behind the bed, the shower and toilet area offered no privacy. The room was hot and stuffy when we arrived leaving no choice but to open the door and eliminate the little privacy we had left.

The grounds were nice, but not anything terribly exciting. Despite the fact that it was the middle of August, many areas were grown over and un-maintained.

We spent the evening in the games room as there is NOTHING else to do in this area, not even anywhere to walk to once you have been to the visitor's centre. Eight people crammed into the small games room and watched a tiny television and attempted to play scrabble (minus several letters). There is no washroom in the lobby area either, so you must go all the way back to your room. At 10pm we reluctantly went back to our room when the lobby was locked.

We spent a very uncomfortable night there without much sleep. The bed was uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. If only we had a tiny TV to drown out the noise of our neighbours and the noise from the kitchen in the morning! We were too uncomfortable to use the shower in the room, so we just packed up early and went in for breakfast, another disappointment. We didn't expect much, but we both left there hungry. There was a nice looking fruit tray, but on closer inspection it was full of fruit flies and much of the fruit was bad. The pastries were dry and over cooked, I would be extremely suprised if they were home made. And there was a giant, unappetizing bowl of yogurt, also with fruit flies surrounding it. Needless to say, we cut our loses and left the area completely. The lady who checked us out didn't even ask how the stay was or make eye contact. It was simply "sign here" and then we left. Sadly, $140 we won't get back.

  • Liked — It wasn't great, but I suppose the games room and lobby were the best part.
  • Disliked — Noise, layout of room, uncleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trivial77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    85
    20
    19
    11
See reviews for
40
122
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

The rooms here seemed very nice. Our room had a fireplace, which was very nice. The view out our window was excellent - a great place to watch the sun set.

You can walk out of the hotel and hike a little ways on a nice trail to get to the Pt. Reyes visitor center.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2008

My husband and I were in CA on vacation from Kansas. We stayed in the area for 5 days. I did all the research I could online and came across the Lodge. Their website was lovely ~ picturesque. While in CA we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in San Francisco, Holiday Inn Express in Sebastopol and Embassy Suites in Burlingame. I thought the location of the lodge was great and more of a B&B feel. However, getting to the lodge we didn't feel welcomed when we checked in. We felt that we had incovenienced the woman at the desk by being there. She did take us to our room - open it and give us the key and walked away. The first impression of the room was the temperature. It was stuffy. Since there isn't air conditioning (but have heated floor boards) we had the leave our door open and open all the windows to let air into the room. We did have a beautiful view of the garden. The setup of the room was unusual. There was a sliding "window" that separated the bathroom and bedroom. So, you could hear everything in the bathroom if you were in the bedroom. The toilet at a leak at the base and had to be flushed a few times. It did have a jacuzzi bathtub. Obviously, since we stayed only one night we filled out a comment card and hopefully things were taken care of for the next night's guests. We didn't use the breakfast in the morning since it was just coffee and muffins...very continental. Not what we expected.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — temperature of room and service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSUWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We took advantage of a winter 3-nights-for-the-price-of-2 special and enjoyed our stay here very much.

We stayed in Room 16, a fireplace room on the 2nd floor. The view was tremendous, looking westward across a creek and meadows directly at Mount Whittenburg in Point Reyes. Definitely get a 2nd-story room for this view.

The room was large and comfortable with a fireplace, balcony, and jacuzzi tub. The back garden was lovely with Adirondack chairs, a bench swing, and a bird feeder that attracted many songbirds.

One review complained of thin walls. I can't address this because we were there on a Sun-Tuesday night and there weren't many other guests. There was NO traffic noise, though.

The "extended continental" breakfast was delicious and filling with a variety of cereals, bagels, fresh pastries, fruit, etc. They also put out fresh cookies and coffee in the afternoons.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to extend the hours of the lounge and "rec room." The main lodge, that contains the rec room, reading room and lounge, is locked up at 9 pm and everyone is booted out and must go back to their rooms. I found this odd and think it should at least be mentioned on the website.

The location is wonderful, very close to the Pt Reyes Visitor Center and many hiking trails, and only about a 3-minute drive to Point Reyes Station.

  • Liked — Wonderful views, convenient location
  • Disliked — Main lodge locked up at 9 pm
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sfresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I love this place because I can come here with my husband and CHILL...we come here from the city when we feel like getting away and being surrounded by nature. It's just the most pleasant, beautiful inn and it's surrounded by pure beauty. We LOVE this inn, and we'll keep coming here forever! Furthermore, they always have a fresh tray of the best homemade cookies I've ever tasted!

  • Liked — comfortable beds, breakfast every morning, really great service, AMAZING garden...
  • Disliked — hmmm, everything's pretty good. That's why we keep coming here!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Not many B&Bs allow guests to stay just one night, so this was the first plus for us. We arrived too early for check-in, but the woman at the desk was very helpful. She gave us maps and recommended beaches and hikes in the area.

We chose to hike to Abbott's Lagoon. What a treat! The trail was lined with yellow lupine, gold poppies, and many other wildflowers. We were followed on the narrow trail by a mother deer and her fawn. When they leaped off the trail, there was a rabbit on the trail. Then a long-tailed weasel emerged from a burrow right in front of us. We also saw redwinged blackbirds, egrets, a blue heron, and many other kinds of birds.

When we returned to the lodge, we were ushered to Room 1. It was small, but charming, with a bright poppy comforter, a unique room design with bath behind the bed, and French doors opening onto a beautiful patio. And the best part was the remarkable English garden right along the creek. It was very peaceful and welcoming. We spent some time reading there in the Adirondack chairs under the shade of a big tree.

The lodge includes a pool room which we had all to ourselves both in the afternoon and later in the evening. A small TV allowed us to watch the latest episode of our favorite show, a dance competition.

We ate dinner at the Farmhouse Restaurant next door. Nice ambiance and good food.

We didn't have any trouble with noise at night. It was very quiet and we slept well.

Continental breakfast included fresh fruit, an assortment of cereals, breads, and bagels, juice, coffee, and (a bit late) breakfast pastries.

We were sad to have to check out the next morning, but we went on to Limanteur Beach, another recommendation by the staff, and had a wonderful afternoon before heading for home.

We think this was an excellent value for $135.

  • Liked — The English garden on the creek
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in the bathroom area made it difficult to put on makeup
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

In general I really liked this lodge. We stayed in the Sir Francis Drake Room. Dated decor but very clean with a fabulous view of the very inviting gardens. We had been staying at the Golden Hinde Inn and this was such a massive jump up in lodging, I didn't notice anything but the good stuff.

The one truly problematic issue was that in our room, and I suspect most rooms, you could hear all conversations that took place in the main lobby. It was annoying to evesdrop on each conversation. The front door SLAMS shut each time someone goes in or out and it shakes the whole lovely building each and every time. We happened to stay there while part of a wedding party was also there. The door slammed so many times that night I almost started counting door slams instead of sheep. Luckily I was exhausted and went back to sleep after each fit of door slams.

Jacuzzi tub is silly. It only fits one person and takes a massive amount of water to run. The gardens were lovely!

  • Liked — The gardens.
  • Disliked — The noise.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysgladtobehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgekeeper, Lodgekeeper at The Lodge at Point Reyes, responded to this review, August 20, 2007
We are glad that this guest generally really liked the Lodge and enjoyed the fabulous views of the flower gardens from the room (which has a two-story window overlooking the lawns and flowers).

The front door was immediately repaired and now closes quietly, and we do offer rooms with double Jacuzzi tubs that two people can enjoy together. The front door to this room is located in the lobby, but most all other rooms are located outside the lobby.

Wedding season in our area is during the summer and we do welcome wedding groups. Those wedding guests do their best to respect the non-wedding guests' quiet enjoyment of the Lodge. There is definitely a happy celebratory mood around the Lodge during wedding season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
23.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,281 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
84 reviews
18.2 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
21.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
461 reviews
24.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Point Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Point Reyes

Property: The Lodge at Point Reyes
Address: 10021 Coastal Highway One, PO Box 39, Olema, CA 94950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Point Reyes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining the Point Reyes National Park, the Point Reyes Seashore Lodge is designed to feel like a private country estate with all of the amenities of a modern inn. Featuring 22 rooms and 2 cottages, all rooms are private and many have Jacuzzi tubs or fireplaces. Complimentary WiFi. Onsite restaurant (featuring local oysters), historic bar and deli. Close to San Francisco and Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Point Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Seashore Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing