We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“likeable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went with my family on an overnight trip to Pt Reyes. We were able to get a last minute booking for MLK weekend, which was great.

The rooms were nicely furnished and decorated, although a little small. One pleasant surprise is that although you're on a main road, rooms are very quiet. The fireplace is a nice touch.

Breakfast is good- fruit, pastries, coffee and tea.

One great point is that you can go hiking into the park from the backyard of the lodge - no need to get back into the car again. This was great for my family - after spending a couple hours in the car, we arrived at 4:00, and we had a beautiful hike before it got dark.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We came here with our grandchildren because it was close to the horse stable where we were booked for horse-back riding. The rooms are really clean and well-acquainted. They don't mind if you bring in a futon so a kid could sleep on the floor. We love the groups. Interesting gardens! You can't tell there's all that from the front when you see it on the highway. There is a pool room where there is a TV and some games. Nice place to hang out. We didn't want to leave the secret garden.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the garden and not the highway, which is good. They are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowrider-knitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the lodging here even though my boyfriend freaked a little when he saw there was no TV. We used the jacuzzi tub several times. I should warn folks that you need to be in good shape to climb in and out of the tub. It is rather deep but we were okay with it. Next time I'd like to get a room higher up with a fireplace. The proprietor, Lynn, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Next time we need an oyster fix we will be staying at The Point Reyes Shore Lodge. We had a nice albeit small room on the ground floor with easy access to the garden area and breakfast room. Our room had twin beds that were comfortable with a private roomy bath. Some shelving in the bathroom to land a cosmetic bag would be nice. The walk in shower for two was a treat. The lovely lady at the front desk was very gracious and helpful and walked us to our room. Wi-Fi worked faster than what we have at home. And the room was indeed very quiet. We didn't hear any traffic noise at night. Although we chose to eat in Pt. Reyes Station our first night we did eat at The Farm House restaurant right next door to the Lodge the second evening. The food was good and the bar scene entertaining. Tomales Bay Oyster Co. is about 5 miles north on Highway 1 where you shuck your own oysters and the Marshall Store is a few more miles north where they will shuck your oyster order for you. All in all Point Reyes Seashore Lodge is a very nice place to stay to enjoy hiking, good food, whale watching at the lighthouse and some dramatic scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittehmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Chose this hotel based upon prior reviews, and it did not disappoint. Our room, #10, on the bottom floor, was quiet and clean. The bathroom was split, somewhat uniquely, with the sink and tub on one side of the door into the room and the toilet on the other. The tub had jets, although we didn't use them. Might have been nice to have a soak after a hard day birding. Three steps down was the large bedroom, with plenty of room for all our stuff, and a nice view out into the grounds at the back of the lodge, which were peaceful and quiet. The first morning, I was awakened at about 5:00 am by the call of a great horned owl, which must have been perched on the fence post outside our room. How cool is that?! Was out both mornings very early, so didn't have a chance to enjoy the breakfast. And for a place that caters to hikers, environmentalist-types and birders such as myself, it was a bit of an inconsistency to have coffee available only after 8:00 am. That's really the only reason it doesn't get five stars!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Quiet, relaxing, and comfortable. I have stayed here twice with a group of hikers. Both times I found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and pleasant. In a ground floor room this trip I enjoyed the deck and access to the lawn and well kept grounds. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The continental breakfast is simple but better than most. We parked our cars and hiked for 4 days. Every morning we walked down across the lawn, crossed the creek, and headed into Point Reyes for a day of hiking. Sure was nice to leave the cars parked and enjoy more than 50 miles of great hiking with a cozy room waiting every evening. An enjoyable stress-free time away. There are fancier places nearby but this one is very pleasant, and a better value. A nice place for us to enjoy a long weekend of hiking with friends, great local cheeses, and some awesome local oysters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcordHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here for five nights as part of a hiking trip. This is the ideal locations for doing day hikes throughout Point Reyes National Seashore. Continental breakfast was a cut above, way above with beautiful fruit platters and bakery fresh buns and croissants. The grounds were beautiful. The rooms, very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenkcallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
23.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,770 reviews
21 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
15.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,603 reviews
18.2 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
565 reviews
24.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Point Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Point Reyes

Address: 10021 Coastal Highway One, PO Box 39, Olema, CA 94950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Price Range: $234 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Point Reyes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Point Reyes features 22 rooms and 2 cottages located on three acres, which adjoins the 71,000 acres of the Point Reyes National Park and is a short drive from some of the best beaches in Northern California. The Lodge is designed to feel like a private country estate with all the amenities of a modern inn. All rooms offer private bathrooms, telephones, radiant heat warmed floors, down comforters and pillows, as well as views of Olema Creek, our lush lawns and gardens, the Inverness Ridge and Mt. Wittenberg. Rooms are private and many have Jacuzzi tubs or fireplaces. Complimentary WiFi. Rates are based on single or double occupancy and include a delectable continental breakfast. The Lodge has an onsite restaurant (featuring local oysters), historic bar, and market. Close to San Francisco and Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Point Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Seashore Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing