We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunflower”
Review of Olema Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olema Cottages
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunflower”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Like the other reviews this place was very enjoyable and private. We stayed in the Sunflower cottage for six nights. Nice wood burning stove, very clean and soothing quiet. Close to the village of Olema, Pt Reyes Nat'l Park and about 3 miles from Pt. Reyes Station. I could easily stay here for six nights again. I would prefer to rate this 4.5 stars.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 465IndyMike23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at 'The Nest' in Sep 2013.
It was a very enjoyable stay with everything there as promised and more.
First of all, Kelly is really responsive to the emails and any questions you might have. I totally appreciated that.
In addition to the nice, clean cottage, they had rain ponchos, small ice chest, umbrella, sheets that you could borrow - how nice!
Chickens, the cat, and the view of horses did give us a 'village' feel.
Collection of DVDs and books is not bad either.

If you forgot something, Point Reyes Station market is just a 5-min drive.
Feel free to go to the Bear Valley Visitor center to get all the trail maps. The beach is about 20 mins away.

Overall - definitely recommend.
Could be a little cheaper :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the Cypress Cottage for 3 nights, and really can't say anything that hasn't been said before, very relaxing, peaceful, and private. In the morning, I'd take a cup of coffee and sit at a table in the common grounds, and have chickens hop on the table to share my breakfast, if I let them. The only thing I would do differently is to have the TV receive TV channels instead of DVD only.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor63021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the lovely little "Cypress" cottage. We were welcomed by the chickens and a cute sign on the cottage gate. This was our first time staying here and we found the cottage to be very clean and thoughtfully stocked for our stay.
We booked the "Hide-a-way" cottage, but received an email prior to our stay stating that they were experiencing some plumbing problems and offered us the Cypress at no extra fee. It was a blessing for us, since the Cypress had a nice little kitchen, a private fenced-in yard complete with a BBQ and outdoor seating. It also had a cute lil porch to enjoy a morning cup of coffee.
Stayed here to watch the Amgen Tour of California in nearby Pt. Reyes Station. It was the perfect ending to a week long trek of following the race. So relaxing.

Room Tip: The bedroom is in the loft, so if you have difficulty with stairs, you may want to consider another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skeddadle_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in Robin's Retreat, which is down the road a bit from most of the other cottages. First all the things we liked:

- This is a great spot and felt remote even though it was beside Highway 1. Road noise really wasn't an issue at night. In fact, the only thing that woke us up were two dueling Great-horned Owls in the trees above the cottage.

- The bedroom and bathroom of the cottage were both spacious. The electric heaters in both rooms kept the place cozy.

- Your proximately the the Point Reyes visitor center and other sites is great. Olema is tiny compared to Point Reyes station so nature and wildlife is more abundant (we had a fox run across the cottage driveway at dawn one morning)

Here are the things that we didn't like:
- When we entered the cottage there was a slight smell that my wife noticed (my sense of smell is not good and I didn't smell it). When we got home though we both could smell it on our clothes. It sure smelled like cigarette smoke and we had to wash all our clean clothes and air out our bags to get rid of it. But, I did not smell it while we were there so it is not too bad.

- The kitchenette is just a boarded up hallway (which actually isn't boarded up if you look behind the curtain.) This is OK especially because the cottage has basic utensils, a mini fridge, and toaster over which is all you need for breakfast and maybe even lunch. However, there is no sink. So, you need to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink which has no counter space so you must wash and dry every item one at a time.

- Despite them saying that there is no maid service, someone entered our cottage while we were out and tracked mud into the bathroom and around the toilet. We know it was not us because our shoes were off at the door the second we entered the cottage.

Yes, these are small gripes but for the price ($175+), I my expectations were a little higher. I would give the place 3.5 stars if I could but 4 would be too many in my opinion. We go to Point Reyes often and would likely look for a different place for our next visit since there are many places. The booking process with Kelly went just fine so we would even consider staying in one of the other Olema Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our family divided and stayed in the Farmer's Parlor and the Cypress Cottage, so we got to experience both of these wonderful cottages over a couple of nights. Olema Cottages has added a new meaning to our family's vocabulary. When we say "relax", we now mean "Olema Cottages". The small kitchen in the Cypress is great for fixing light meals. The Farmer's Parlor has a small microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster - great for quick breakfast. The Olema Farm House restaurant is an easy walk down the street. The visitor center for Point Reyes is a longer walk or very short drive of less than 1/2 mile. Enjoy the chickens, views of horses in the pasture, and the wonderful cats that I feel sure handle the rodent patrol duties with expertise. Kelly has done a beautiful job with this property and we felt blessed to have gotten a chance to experience her hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose Farmer's Parlor for romance, good views, and wood burning fireplace. Cypress Cottage is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two nights in this wonderful little cottage (Sunflower Cottage). The weather was rainy and cold so we ended up spending most of the time in the cottage, which was so relaxing and quiet. This was exactly what we needed escaping from the busy city life. Tending fire at the wood stove was so calming and got me into such a deep meditative state, and playing with cats and chickens added a nice treat to our vacation. There is a very reliable electric heater as well but wood stove is quite powerful once it gets going. Time was moving so slowly and nicely that it felt like we were in a different dimension.
The bed was very comfortable with extra comforter and blankets. We also liked that the bedroom can be closed off and can be used as a completely separate room.
Nice CD selection but you can also bring your own ipod to play your own music.
I can see how Kelly, the owner has carefully prepared and set up things in the room considering guests' needs. Everything is compact and just right. We also liked the ecofriendly choices in toileteries and garbage disposal setting.
If you are looking for a quiet time away this is it!
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yumiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
23.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,268 reviews
18.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
84 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olema Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Cottages

Property: Olema Cottages
Address: 9970 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard, Olema, CA 94950
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Olema Cottages Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing