We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Pt. Reyes National Seashore”
Review of Olema Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olema Campground
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've camped here many times, and have always had a good experience (which is why we keep coming back). The $50/night is getting pricy, as the cost has gone up almost each year.The campground is very large, and there's lots of camping options available. The most popular is the camping circles with hook-ups - these are somewhat close together, so hopefully you have good neighbors. Otherwise, there are other spots along the road or in the backside of the campground that afford more privacy. Yes, the roads are gravel and you have to deal with some mud and dirt in your RV, but generally, the campground is very well-maintained, with clean bathrooms/showers. There's lots of trees, and grassy fields, so lots of room to play and walk the dog. We understand the owner's have changed (again), but the front office is still the same and she's generous and very helpful. Understandably, they don't take credit cards (probably don't want to pay the % to the bank), so no big deal, we mail them a check. Is it a resort - well, maybe not, but it does provide decent camping near Pt. Reyes Natl Seashore, with lots of opportunities for recreation and day trips. We just spent 4 nights there, and I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Make your reservation advance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a good time, but the accommodations are far from a resort style RV park. The roads are all dirt and the RV pads are dirt and gravel. The store was not open while we were there. The area is nice, but really could use updating especially for the high prices that are charged. As others have mentioned it takes a lot of effort to connect to their WiFi. This should be corrected as so many people need / use internet. We had a large group next to us that were noisy well past what would be considered quiet time and no effort was made by the park to quiet the crowd. No help in parking a large RV like most RV Parks have. Overall not a great experience and probably would not return again. It's too bad they are the only choice in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

First off just booking here is not convenient ( they don't take credit cards and you must mail a physical Check) should have been my first indication. The staff member I encountered at check in was rude and incompetent as she could not even complete our check in and advised me to come see 'Judy.' the roads are dirt (once gravel, that has since eroded away.) The grounds themselves are not well kept. The playground is old as are most of the so called ammenities. Horseshoe pits are not maintained and the stakes are driven in too far to be useful. I'm in an RV but noted the tent campers have port-a potties and will need to walk a distance for restrooms/showers etc. overall I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank HPYCamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

In view of some comments from other campers, this campground may start to lose it's customers. Although restrooms have been remodeled, there are other areas that need attention such as the rundown building when you enter near the office, the old barns should be fixed or torn down and lattice work/fencing needs replacing. In the 5 windy days we were there, the dirt roadways were watered down only once and that was after my husband complained about the dust. This campground is in a great location and is actually a very pretty setting but maintenance issues are many. There are some beautiful RV resorts popping up in Calfornia that cost near the same or less than Olema and provide modern clubhouses, pools, spas, cement pads and grass all around. One camper we talked with said she swore she'd never go back as she remembers what the campground was under previous ownership.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stay at the campground for over a week every two years. We were excited to learn that the campground now offers Wi-Fi. However, despite multiple attempts by multiple people with multiple platforms (PCs, Macs, iPads, etc.) we were unable to log on. Front desk admitted many campers had same problem, but was unable to correct the problem. If you need a Wi-Fi connection during your stay, ask to talk to the person responsible for Wi-Fi to be sure the problem has been corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have camped here a few times and like the location to so many great parks, hiking, site seeing, historical sites, etc. We love the fact that you can drive into Point Reyes Station within 1-2 minutes for great food and groceries, shopping, etc.
Over the past year it seems like it is slowly getting more run down and needs some attention and investment. I think there are new owners, but either way, it needs some sprucing. The sites are average to large, depending on your circle. The bathrooms are always clean although very very cold.
They need more FULL HOOL-UP sites that are not right next to the road.
We will definitely go back because of the location and I really don't find the price to be as bad as some other reviews have said. It is not a state park and so you expect to pay a bit more, especially in such a fabulous location within less than an hour to SF and on the Marin Coast.

Room Tip: The only full hook up sites are very narrow and near the road. There are some great sites in the 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

They are doing a lot of work on the property. It's not all open for camping. We stayed Veterans Day as we did last year. Sites are a bit bigger than the standard RV site. Love all the trees and greenery. Management stays out of your hair. Great place for dogs. Just a short walk to "town". We will definitely go back next November!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olema Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Campground

Address: 10155 Highway 1, Olema, CA 94950-8900
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olema Campground is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore, just north of San Francisco. We offer the ideal place to enjoy different outdoor activities like bird watching, hiking, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. We offer both RV and Tent campsites in a beautiful rural setting. We are located next to 65,000 acres of unspoiled park land and wilderness, rife with wildlife and heart-stopping vistas. Grab a good book or your hiking boots, and come visit our outdoor family destination that will help you create wonderful lifelong memories. Obtain all your daily essentials at the local grocery or hardware store, located just two miles away in the town of Point Reyes Station. The hardware store carries sports equipment and some camping and RV supplies. There are interesting shops and restaurants in Olema and Point Reyes Station. Stop by the campground office and we will be glad to give you information on all the local businesses. Get your chance to see one of America's most beautiful landmarks when you visit the Golden Gate Bridge, which is just an hours drive down our scenic coastline. Just across the bridge is San Francisco. With the waterfront and Fisherman's Wharf, parks and museums, cruising on the bay, and lots of fine dining, everyone will find something to love in San Francisco. Also just an hours drive from the campground are the famous vineyards of Napa and Sonoma. Spend a day at the shops with friends when you visit Sonoma and Napa Valley. This area offers great places for fine dining as well as wine tours that you won't want to miss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olema Ranch Campground Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing