We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, average campground nothing special.”
Review of Olema Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olema Campground
Reviewed August 3, 2012

First off just booking here is not convenient ( they don't take credit cards and you must mail a physical Check) should have been my first indication. The staff member I encountered at check in was rude and incompetent as she could not even complete our check in and advised me to come see 'Judy.' the roads are dirt (once gravel, that has since eroded away.) The grounds themselves are not well kept. The playground is old as are most of the so called ammenities. Horseshoe pits are not maintained and the stakes are driven in too far to be useful. I'm in an RV but noted the tent campers have port-a potties and will need to walk a distance for restrooms/showers etc. overall I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank HPYCamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

In view of some comments from other campers, this campground may start to lose it's customers. Although restrooms have been remodeled, there are other areas that need attention such as the rundown building when you enter near the office, the old barns should be fixed or torn down and lattice work/fencing needs replacing. In the 5 windy days we were there, the dirt roadways were watered down only once and that was after my husband complained about the dust. This campground is in a great location and is actually a very pretty setting but maintenance issues are many. There are some beautiful RV resorts popping up in Calfornia that cost near the same or less than Olema and provide modern clubhouses, pools, spas, cement pads and grass all around. One camper we talked with said she swore she'd never go back as she remembers what the campground was under previous ownership.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stay at the campground for over a week every two years. We were excited to learn that the campground now offers Wi-Fi. However, despite multiple attempts by multiple people with multiple platforms (PCs, Macs, iPads, etc.) we were unable to log on. Front desk admitted many campers had same problem, but was unable to correct the problem. If you need a Wi-Fi connection during your stay, ask to talk to the person responsible for Wi-Fi to be sure the problem has been corrected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have camped here a few times and like the location to so many great parks, hiking, site seeing, historical sites, etc. We love the fact that you can drive into Point Reyes Station within 1-2 minutes for great food and groceries, shopping, etc.
Over the past year it seems like it is slowly getting more run down and needs some attention and investment. I think there are new owners, but either way, it needs some sprucing. The sites are average to large, depending on your circle. The bathrooms are always clean although very very cold.
They need more FULL HOOL-UP sites that are not right next to the road.
We will definitely go back because of the location and I really don't find the price to be as bad as some other reviews have said. It is not a state park and so you expect to pay a bit more, especially in such a fabulous location within less than an hour to SF and on the Marin Coast.

Room Tip: The only full hook up sites are very narrow and near the road. There are some great sites in the 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

They are doing a lot of work on the property. It's not all open for camping. We stayed Veterans Day as we did last year. Sites are a bit bigger than the standard RV site. Love all the trees and greenery. Management stays out of your hair. Great place for dogs. Just a short walk to "town". We will definitely go back next November!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Large campground in beautiful surrounding. Sites are a little close together. Showers / restrooms are clean, but not much light ( dark ). Water was luke warm, so not much for a hot shower. Restroom building in loop 100 could use a renovation ( just like the main buildings and barn at the entrance ). Over priced, $ 50 p.n. for a full hook up ( in October ). No creditcards accepted, only cash ?!?!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We took our new travel trailer to this large campground that is within a days drive to many scenic areas of the central coast. Under new ownership 4 years ago, improvements have been made with newly renovated restrooms and showers. Sites are available with electric and water and there are a few with full hookups. The campground has many tall trees and is bordered by a creek with nice schrubbery although the creek is not accessible. More could be done to upgrade this property. Renovation of two red barns at the entrance to the resort as well as other out buildings, fencing, etc. could bring this property into a true resort of distinction. It might be nice to add some small farm animals to the barns for children to view.
All in all, this is a nice place to stay and take day trips out to Pt. Reyes, Tomales Bay, Stinson Beach and more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank kelly2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olema Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Campground

Address: 10155 Highway 1, Olema, CA 94950-8900
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olema Campground is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore, just north of San Francisco. We offer the ideal place to enjoy different outdoor activities like bird watching, hiking, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. We offer both RV and Tent campsites in a beautiful rural setting. We are located next to 65,000 acres of unspoiled park land and wilderness, rife with wildlife and heart-stopping vistas. Grab a good book or your hiking boots, and come visit our outdoor family destination that will help you create wonderful lifelong memories. Obtain all your daily essentials at the local grocery or hardware store, located just two miles away in the town of Point Reyes Station. The hardware store carries sports equipment and some camping and RV supplies. There are interesting shops and restaurants in Olema and Point Reyes Station. Stop by the campground office and we will be glad to give you information on all the local businesses. Get your chance to see one of America's most beautiful landmarks when you visit the Golden Gate Bridge, which is just an hours drive down our scenic coastline. Just across the bridge is San Francisco. With the waterfront and Fisherman's Wharf, parks and museums, cruising on the bay, and lots of fine dining, everyone will find something to love in San Francisco. Also just an hours drive from the campground are the famous vineyards of Napa and Sonoma. Spend a day at the shops with friends when you visit Sonoma and Napa Valley. This area offers great places for fine dining as well as wine tours that you won't want to miss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olema Ranch Campground Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing