We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice here”
Review of Olema Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olema Campground
Reviewed November 18, 2011

They are doing a lot of work on the property. It's not all open for camping. We stayed Veterans Day as we did last year. Sites are a bit bigger than the standard RV site. Love all the trees and greenery. Management stays out of your hair. Great place for dogs. Just a short walk to "town". We will definitely go back next November!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Large campground in beautiful surrounding. Sites are a little close together. Showers / restrooms are clean, but not much light ( dark ). Water was luke warm, so not much for a hot shower. Restroom building in loop 100 could use a renovation ( just like the main buildings and barn at the entrance ). Over priced, $ 50 p.n. for a full hook up ( in October ). No creditcards accepted, only cash ?!?!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We took our new travel trailer to this large campground that is within a days drive to many scenic areas of the central coast. Under new ownership 4 years ago, improvements have been made with newly renovated restrooms and showers. Sites are available with electric and water and there are a few with full hookups. The campground has many tall trees and is bordered by a creek with nice schrubbery although the creek is not accessible. More could be done to upgrade this property. Renovation of two red barns at the entrance to the resort as well as other out buildings, fencing, etc. could bring this property into a true resort of distinction. It might be nice to add some small farm animals to the barns for children to view.
All in all, this is a nice place to stay and take day trips out to Pt. Reyes, Tomales Bay, Stinson Beach and more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank kelly2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've camped at Olema Ranch Campground about a dozen times over the years because
its close to where I live, you can't beat the beauty of the Pt Reyes, and I love Stinson Beach. The campground is convenient, clean and in a great location but the circular sites for RV's are to close together except for five or six spots and the RV spots in the front are
in the parking lot. The tent sites on the other side of campground seem OK. The
price of $50 a night on the weekends is pretty steep. I prefer to camp here off season
to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SonomaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This place is awesome,super clean bathrooms and amazing atmosphere.
The grounds are well-kept and the staff are not riding the whole time, you pay and then you camp.

There is a small racoon problem but even the racoons are friendly, they are not a danger at all.

I love this place I will keep coming. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Domino916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

#1...great bathrooms! Free hot showers! Sites were nice. I really liked that the staff just left us alone. We were with a group of about 10-12 camping families so there was defiantely some noise from our group. We kept it down at night and I guess they felt we follwed their rules. The kids enjoyed biking around the property. Not really anything to do on site. We drove out to the coast to see the lighthouse and went out to a wonderful beach. Terrific trip! Sunny in November!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

You cannot beat the location of Olema Ranch Campground. Close to many Bay Area population centers this campground was an easy 1.5 hour drive from the East Bay. Once here, there are a myriad of activities, from golf to the Point Reyes seashore. We enjoyed them all. The new ownership is making a concerted effort to improve the campground. The bathrooms were clean and all services functional. Campsites are large with new picnic tables. Campground is very well laid out. After years of neglect by the previous owners, this place appears to be turning the corner. We will be back here next year, if not before then.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wavetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olema Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Campground

Address: 10155 Highway 1, Olema, CA 94950-8900
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olema Campground is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore, just north of San Francisco. We offer the ideal place to enjoy different outdoor activities like bird watching, hiking, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. We offer both RV and Tent campsites in a beautiful rural setting. We are located next to 65,000 acres of unspoiled park land and wilderness, rife with wildlife and heart-stopping vistas. Grab a good book or your hiking boots, and come visit our outdoor family destination that will help you create wonderful lifelong memories. Obtain all your daily essentials at the local grocery or hardware store, located just two miles away in the town of Point Reyes Station. The hardware store carries sports equipment and some camping and RV supplies. There are interesting shops and restaurants in Olema and Point Reyes Station. Stop by the campground office and we will be glad to give you information on all the local businesses. Get your chance to see one of America's most beautiful landmarks when you visit the Golden Gate Bridge, which is just an hours drive down our scenic coastline. Just across the bridge is San Francisco. With the waterfront and Fisherman's Wharf, parks and museums, cruising on the bay, and lots of fine dining, everyone will find something to love in San Francisco. Also just an hours drive from the campground are the famous vineyards of Napa and Sonoma. Spend a day at the shops with friends when you visit Sonoma and Napa Valley. This area offers great places for fine dining as well as wine tours that you won't want to miss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olema Ranch Campground Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing