We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food. . . Service Needs Improving”
Review of JJ's Cafe

JJ's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: At JJ's, we bake our own breads, pastries, pies, cookies, and more. We cure our own corned beef and smoke our own pastrami and pulled pork. Our burgers are made from a 1/2 lb of locally-grown, grass-fed Black Angus and served on a fresh-baked bun. Come on up and join us. You won't go away hungry!
Restaurant details
Description: At JJ's, we bake our own breads, pastries, pies, cookies, and more. We cure our own corned beef and smoke our own pastrami and pulled pork. Our burgers are made from a 1/2 lb of locally-grown, grass-fed Black Angus and served on a fresh-baked bun. Come on up and join us. You won't go away hungry!
Janesville, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food. . . Service Needs Improving”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped for lunch on the way home from Lassen Park. The food was great, but the service needed improvement. Granted it was busy when we got there but a lot of people left not long after we arrived. No one came to freshen our beverages until just when we were almost finished eating and then we had to ask, and we had to remind our server to bring our daughter a cookie that we asked for. I'm only giving a "very good" because the food was delicious. Homemade breads, and the grass fed beef my husband said was delicious. Worth the stop!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie92453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Skip the home fries”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stopped on 29 & 30 June for lunch with my grandson (7) and friend – we stayed just south of JJ’s at a rental called Fish Inn.

My grandson had a grilled cheese the first day and a JJ’s Junior burger the second day – the Junior Burger with cheese was more than he could eat so we took half along with us. My friend had the hot pastrami and JJ’s Burger – he preferred the burger over the pastrami. I opted for the pulled pork sandwich both day – yes it is good enough to have it two days in a row.

The first lunch we all ordered home fries – but the second day my friend and I opted for the cole slaw, while my grandson order the fries again – only because he did not want cole slaw, salad or soup options. The home fires are wedges of potatoes with the skins that I think are baked rather than deep fried. The end result is a potato that is too dry. The cole slaw was a better option.

Service was good both days – despite a crowded restaurant on Sunday.

I also bought cinnamon rolls for breakfast the next two mornings from the selection of freshly baked goods on offer.

The nearby location, decent food at reasonable prices, makes lunch at JJ’s a no brainer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, California
1 review
“Get rid of some old menu items”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great improvement over previous owner, however they should get rid of some of the old menu items like the 'fries' with the skins on. Uncle Runts used to have the best french fries in whole world. The half pound burgers at JJ's are really short of a half pound, but most delicious. A half
pound should be a half pound- big! Wish they had some Starbuck's organic coffee to go with the organic beef, it can't be beat for taste. Great people, great service, great location, great view, great quality food, especially the organic beef. Just needs a few little changes. wonderful family
atmosphere. Good deserts too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New owners have made this place great!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

While enjoying our annual camping trip on our way to Lassen Park we stopped for breakfast at JJ's
Cafe in Old Station, CA on highway 89. We had avoided the place for the past several years because the food was just ok and the prices seemed too high. All that has changed for the better under new ownership. This time around the food was tasty, well prepared and reasonably priced. The delicious pastries and breads are baked on site. The service is cheerful and there is now an attractive outdoor dining option on the patio. We will certainly return the next time we are in the Hat Creek/Old Station area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ursourco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JJ's in Old Station - Best BBQ I have had in years!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had lunch at JJ's yesterday while driving thru Old Station on a road trip. We had the BBQ Pulled Pork and the BBQ Burger (new on the menu!!) and both were Excellent. Anne's homemade coleslaw was amazing (and I am picky about coleslaw) :-) We had brownie's and cookies - great desserts as well. We got a homemade pizza to go to have for dinner tonight (kept in cooler overnight just fine) so we are looking forward to a wonderful dinner as we move into a new house today in CA. JJ's will be a regular stop for us. Old Station was a beautiful place and JJ's a great place to eat. We are looking forward to spending some of our summer in Old Station (we will now live only 3 hours away) and will definitely be having our meals at JJ's! The view from the outside eating area is amazing too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Cafe also viewed

Been to JJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing