We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!”
Review of JJ's Cafe

JJ's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: At JJ's, we bake our own breads, pastries, pies, cookies, and more. We cure our own corned beef and smoke our own pastrami and pulled pork. Our burgers are made from a 1/2 lb of locally-grown, grass-fed Black Angus and served on a fresh-baked bun. Come on up and join us. You won't go away hungry!
Restaurant details
Description: At JJ's, we bake our own breads, pastries, pies, cookies, and more. We cure our own corned beef and smoke our own pastrami and pulled pork. Our burgers are made from a 1/2 lb of locally-grown, grass-fed Black Angus and served on a fresh-baked bun. Come on up and join us. You won't go away hungry!
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this place straight away when we stayed in the Old Station area. The breakfast was great - more food than we could eat and the best biscuits my husband says he has had in our various trips to the US. They're home made, by the way..... Check out the home made cookies as well, plus the cheese and jalapeño bread that we took with us for the evening was really good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardandSally4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Furlong
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find before heading into Lassen Nat'l Park”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a later start than we had hoped going into Lassen Nat'l Park. There isn't much in the way of places to eat along Rt. 89 from I5 heading to Lassen. Old Station was our last hope. It turned out to be our good fortune to find JJ's Cafe. It wasn't like we had a choice! During the ride you pass a number of cattle ranches. My wife and I commented someone should open a buger and chili joint. They didn't have the chili but the burgers were fantastic. I happen to be a big fan of a good buger and this was really one of the best I have ever had a a restaraunt. I ordered mine with the complimentary cole slaw. The burger was a 1/2 Lb. patty with grilled mushrooms and cheddar cheese. You can add the topings you want when you order. It comes on a big plate with all your fixings. You need the big plate to hold everything. The cole slaw was also fantastic. It's a small place with a simple menu and very good service. Meals are about $10 and the drinks are a bit extra. They advertise as a baked goods store but we skipped right to the main course and we left very satisfied we had found the buger joint we had been hoping to find. I hihgly recommend this place. One word of caution, they close the grill at 3PM so you need to get there for lunch. We left at 2:45 and they weren't taking any more sit downs since that was "close enough' to closing time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a great place for breakfast or lunch. Very friendly staff, clean, Large portions. No matter if you are having breakfast or lunch you will not be disappointed, for breakfast try the cornbeef hash which is homemade by the owners & lunch I would try the sourdough ruben sandwich. Then take with you the yummy cinnamon carmel pull apart bread to have around the campfire. They are only open til 3:00pm & they shut off the orders @2:45.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank walkingnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very friendly and big portions. Good home cooked meals and bread.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow..Perfect”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Amazing breakfast and lunch options. Clean, great service, scrumptious food!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank J0yceMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing