We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind owner, but somewhat rustic (and tight) rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rim Rock Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rim Rock Ranch Resort
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kind owner, but somewhat rustic (and tight) rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you are fine with rustic rooms that are very cozy and have the bare essentials, then the rim rock is fine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife,I and another couple spent two nights at Rim Rock Ranch in May to view the annualar eclipse.
The area is very beautiful and not overun with visitors. The locals were very friendly and helpful.
We spent the afternoon at a nearby scenic viewpoint to watch the eclipse. Everyone was very friendly. They provided us with view glasses and let us look in their telescopes.
The accomadations were cozy but comfortable and very functional. Each cabin had a bbq grill and a full kitchen. It was great cooking our own food under magestic pines.
We stayed in cabins 3 and 4. Cabins 1-6 are near the highway and have a little traffic noise but not bad. Next time we will pick one of the cabins farther from the road.
Hat Creek is just across the road. We fished a little but didn't catch anything. The guys in the neighboring cabin caught a lot of fish. The highlight off fishing was when a bald eagle swooped right over our heads.
We loved Rim Rock Ranch and will return.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 thru 6 near highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divingkeepsusyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Having read the negative review about room 12 and now stayed in that exact room I thought I'd better set the record straight! Check in was very efficient, I had booked the room several months previously via email exchange from the UK. Finding the room was easy as we were given clear easy to follow instructions. The motel room itself was cosy but functional, had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, BBQ and air-con. No Cutlery was provided so bring some or purchase from the onsite shop. The shower had plenty of hot water and with good pressure. The onsite shop is open from 8 til 8 daily. Restaurant wise you are struggling really, JJ's cafe is about half a mile down the road open 7am til 3pm closed Tuesday's and Wednesday's. Breakfast is great and portions are massive!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belly1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here only for a night, but we enjoyed the pleasant stay in this hotel. The room was small , but maintained very neat and clean. The microwave and refrigerator that they provided was effective. Lovely place. If I go back to Lassen , would def. stay here.
The only problem was the shower , which had very slow water coming in ...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhandpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I traveled 8,500 miles this summer through national parks and stayed in a wide variety of places. This was the lowest point. So low that it is now a funny story. I stayed here en route from Lassen Volcanic to Crater Lake National Parks.

The owner shuffled little pieces of paper around trying to find my reservation, not a good sign. This is not a ranch. It is a series of cabins and an old barn or garage.

My room was "#12 on the upper floor of the building right behind us." (The implication being that there are motel rooms 1-11?) I drove right by it!

The "building" turned out to be what was once probably a small barn or garage and my room upstairs was one of two upper rooms. (The numbers 1-10 referred to cabins.) The words rickety and delapitated come to mind when I think of the building. My room was very small and the bathroom was more like a closet. The outside wooden staircase was scary. I crept into bed and couldn't wait to leave in the morning.

In retrospect, I should have driven further north.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our family comes to Rim Rock Ranch for our yearly fishing trip. Love this place! The staff is awesome. All sorts of places to stay from big family cabins to small cozy cabins for two to the bed and breakfast.

Rustic cabins allows you to detach from the outside world. No cellphone reception, no TVs distractions! It's great if you want to spend quality time with your family. Close to beautiful Burney Falls, Hat Creek and Lassen National Park, plus many more. Our favorite part of the day is making s'mores outside or cabin in the fire pits.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angavillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with kitchen and outdoor eating area and it was great. Rustic and authentic, clean and cheap. The owners are friendly and provide hiking information as well as guided trout-fishing outings. Food store on site.
No cell service, no a/c, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Station
18.7 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#1 of 5 in Burney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
18.8 mi away
Burney Motel
Burney Motel
#2 of 5 in Burney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
18.8 mi away
Shasta Pines Motel
Shasta Pines Motel
#3 of 5 in Burney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Charm Motel
Charm Motel
#4 of 5 in Burney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rim Rock Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Rock Ranch Resort

Property: Rim Rock Ranch Resort
Address: 13275 State Highway 89, Old Station, CA 96071-9300
Location: United States > California > Old Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Old Station
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing