We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not quite Oasis, more middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rustic Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Rustic Oasis Motel
2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not quite Oasis, more middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this as a stopover between leaving Death Valley and journeying on to Yosemite.
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a clean room. Unfortunately, it was not the room we'd booked via the internet, but the error was soon rectified. Small, but clean room.

Everything outdated and bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment. Patchwork quilt and frilled pillow cases were a nice touch though. Curtains very thin so sleep quality poor owing to outside lights (left on overnight) shining into room. The shower was, however, powerful with lots of hot water. Only one small towel per person supplied, so getting dried after a shower and hairwash proved a challenge! No coffee machine in room, but coffee is available in the office for a 'donation'. Ditto toast and jam breakfast.

Be aware when booking via internet booking site (as we did) that rooms do not necessarily match description e.g. microwave and fridge not available in all rooms. Small TV, but no remote control available. No wi-fi, but good cell reception.

We arrived on Sunday so only decent eatery (Adrianas) closed, but able buy freshly baked pizza at local Mobil gas station. Lone Pine has more restaurants, coffee shops, grocery and other stores available, but is 25 miles away.

A reasonable place to stay if you are on a budget, but if you like to be nearer to amenities, places to walk to and a bit more comfort then pay a bit more and stay in Lone Pine. If we return, that is what we will do.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger double room with fridge (old but working) ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Judy is very friendly. If u need a place to stay overnight and don't have high expectations - go for it. Clean, comparitevely quiet, only the bed in a $39 room is way too soft&sqeeky, fyi. Other than that we had no issue there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelishealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelhoek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I selected the Rustic Oasis based on the images of the completely worn down sign and the classic roadside motel set-up: 8 rooms in a row, parking in front. It completely envisaged my mental image of a roap trip type place to stay. We were not disappointed! The outside of the motel looks the part, but the room and bed were really quite comfortable. Judy is a very energetic person who has a lot to tell about the surrounding area (be sure to ask her about U2's Joshua Tree!). Breakfast is optional (recommended!). Dining options in Olancha are limited to Adrianna's Mexican Cantina (until 8 pm) or subs at the Mobil gas station. Alternatively, drive up to Lone Pine.
Great place to stay as a basis for a Death Valley, Mt Whitney or Alabama Hills trip. For all you European travellers: this is as "Rustic" as it gets, in a good way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for something different this is the place for you!
Off the beaten track but well worth the drive to get there.
Judy the manager takes pride in keeping the rooms in comfy clean condition.
And if you happen to be a U2 fan...she can help you find what you are looking for!
Adriana's Cafe just a short drive down the road is an excellent place for breakfast!
All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is in the process of being revived by new owners. Karen will heat up your dinner, make you an incredible breakfast (fresh omelet, pancakes, and potatoes) and make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargirlkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Conclusion first: There was nothing wrong, except for the mattresses being pretty saggy; one thing to consider is that: For a no-extra-amenities place (no internet, pool, flat screen, complimentary anything, etc....) in the middle of nowhere, do $68/night seem appropriate?

The motel is pretty much between Death Valley and Sequoia National Parks, which is why we stayed there. If you try to look it up on Google Maps, it won't show you the right location, so here it is: http://goo.gl/maps/fQGX
We had a room with 2 full beds, or more adequately a room with a full bed, and another full bed in a second room (which was more like a big closet with no doors).
It had a fridge, TV set, brittle bars of soap and a door.

It's pretty old in many aspects: I couldn't find a way of booking online, so I had to call to book; the TV set is roughly 12", but we didn't bother turning it on, anyways (who knows, that your neighbor is deterred from watching TV all night might be a good thing?); the rooms themselves are old, too, in particular the mattresses were pretty worn and saggy.

That said though, the room was clean and it was very quiet, thanks to the building being set back from the (not very busy) highway. The owners (who live on the premises) were friendly and helpful enough, and we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First of all the location is awesome- out of an old western film but totally clean and cozy! The wonderful woman running the hotel with her husband let us look at every room - each had its own decorative theme and was totally charming! This woman was the most helpful and kind hotel manager my husband and I have ever come across. She helped us with everything we so much as mentioned and offered us breakfast! Reasonable price, unique and rustic rooms, KILLER MOUNTAIN VIEW, and the sweetest, kindest staff! There is no better place to stay around death valley!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olancha
2.5 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
23.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
24.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
24.9 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 5 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Property: Rustic Oasis Motel
Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing