We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rustic Oasis Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for something different this is the place for you!
Off the beaten track but well worth the drive to get there.
Judy the manager takes pride in keeping the rooms in comfy clean condition.
And if you happen to be a U2 fan...she can help you find what you are looking for!
Adriana's Cafe just a short drive down the road is an excellent place for breakfast!
All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is in the process of being revived by new owners. Karen will heat up your dinner, make you an incredible breakfast (fresh omelet, pancakes, and potatoes) and make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargirlkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Conclusion first: There was nothing wrong, except for the mattresses being pretty saggy; one thing to consider is that: For a no-extra-amenities place (no internet, pool, flat screen, complimentary anything, etc....) in the middle of nowhere, do $68/night seem appropriate?

The motel is pretty much between Death Valley and Sequoia National Parks, which is why we stayed there. If you try to look it up on Google Maps, it won't show you the right location, so here it is: http://goo.gl/maps/fQGX
We had a room with 2 full beds, or more adequately a room with a full bed, and another full bed in a second room (which was more like a big closet with no doors).
It had a fridge, TV set, brittle bars of soap and a door.

It's pretty old in many aspects: I couldn't find a way of booking online, so I had to call to book; the TV set is roughly 12", but we didn't bother turning it on, anyways (who knows, that your neighbor is deterred from watching TV all night might be a good thing?); the rooms themselves are old, too, in particular the mattresses were pretty worn and saggy.

That said though, the room was clean and it was very quiet, thanks to the building being set back from the (not very busy) highway. The owners (who live on the premises) were friendly and helpful enough, and we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First of all the location is awesome- out of an old western film but totally clean and cozy! The wonderful woman running the hotel with her husband let us look at every room - each had its own decorative theme and was totally charming! This woman was the most helpful and kind hotel manager my husband and I have ever come across. She helped us with everything we so much as mentioned and offered us breakfast! Reasonable price, unique and rustic rooms, KILLER MOUNTAIN VIEW, and the sweetest, kindest staff! There is no better place to stay around death valley!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Definitely rustic - quite old. worn, and simple, no internet when we were there (they are trying to bring it in), not a place for those looking for even the simple luxuries of (say) Quality Inn like little shampoo bottles, but with atmosphere and old-fashioned mom & pop hospitality to beat others in the bargain tier like Rodeway or Motel 6. Fresh coffee and food for breakfast. Stark beauty of the Southern Sierras to the West with Olancha Peak (over 12,000') towering above the hamlet of Olancha (with two restaurants, about a mile North of the motel), and the high desert plain all around. A nice stop halfway (3 hrs) between LA and the Yosemite portal at Lee Vining.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesdomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olancha, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pros: It met my criteria; clean bathroom and sheets, very small town, along my route of travel, a taste of the desert and mountain scenery, inexpensive, and had 3g cell coverage. The management was helpful. I was looking to stay away any city and loved the smal town feel of the area. Not much around.

Cons; Not much around, physically run down, squishy beds. Other folks who care more about that sort of stuff will likely elaborate in their reviews.

I travel a lot and this is about what I expect for my $60 a night. I would stay again, especially if it was just to sleep for the night.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice. Room 2 had smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLikesTheBasics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My son and I stayed at the Rustic Motel using it as base for Mount Whitney hiking. The Inn keeper Judy was really helpful. I found the place simple, clean and quite. Coffee was on in the AM in the front office. Had good time, the Inn keeper had a small fire pit out in front in the common area, we sat out on benches, had a camp fire and roasted marshmallows. Great place and half of what Lone Pine was asking. We also due to our location went Ghost-towning and hiking at Fossil falls. Judy had good information on local restaurants and local sites.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the end away from the well if you are light sleeper like me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FilAmfighter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olancha
2.5 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
23.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#1 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
24.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
24.9 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 5 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Property: Rustic Oasis Motel
Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing