We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Reviews and website do not do this luxury resort justice. The grounds are beautiful, the setting spectacular, the rooms spacious, the food delicious, and the staff as friendly as I've ever encountered.

We stayed in a "standard" Ojai room, which included a sitting area and an extra sink with vanity area outside of the bathroom. We did not get the complimentary upgrade (subject to availability) when you book with perfectescapes.com, as the hotel was completely full for Labor Day Weekend. If I had more time, I would love to have seen the luxurious "Shangri-La" rooms. High end toiletries, quality linens and turndown with chocolates definitely added to the room's appeal. Our one criticism is that the lighting is very dim, especially in the make-up area, even with the lighted mirror.

Our room rate seemed high until we saw the room and tasted the breakfast (included in our rate). Your choice of buffet or fabulous a la carte dishes. The wait staff (like all of the hotel staff) could not have been more accommodating. Lunch at the pool was standard snack bar food with expensive hotel pricing, but the service and scenery made it worth it.

The pools are gorgeous! Because there were so many families, the overflow from the main pool were sent to the Herb Garden pool...a slice of heaven. We rented a cabana to shade us from the brutally hot sun, which included 2 sumptuous beach chairs, a sitting area for 3 more, mini-fridge with cold beverages, munchies and a fruit plate delivered upon request. Staff were continually coming by to ask if they could bring us anything. Guests and staff alike seemed exceptionally happy, which may have been a result of the scent of herbs permeating the pool area.

Our only regret is that our short trip did not allow us to take advantage of the spa treatments, exercise classes or dinners at the hotel. We'd love to come back and try them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    239
    76
    52
    31
See reviews for
349
699
48
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2010

At this time of year the packages offered at the resort are a very good value. The rooms are pricey but for the price of a room the Complete Deal offered one complimentary spa treatment for each night at the resort and unlimited golf. We played several rounds of golf and enjoyed the spa. The golf course was challenging and well maintained.
The newest adult herb garden pool was very relaxing. It opened in June. The larger pool was also nice. The weather was perfect in the valley although the week we were there got very hot. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. There are a variety of places to eat on the resort property and sitting outside on the terrace one evening for dinner was delightful. Overall we would recommend Ojai Valley Resort and Spa for a few days to get away.However, it is isolated. We did not venture into the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is an excellent resort in many ways - superb setting, lovely grounds, nice pools, great rooms, comfortable beds, friendly (for the most part) service. It is just a pity that it is let down by the quality of the food, especially dinner in the main restaurant, which I would describe as mediocre at best. But for that I would have given it 5 stars. Perhaps it wouldn't matter so much if there was a choice of good restaurants in Ojai, but we didn't find that to the case.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jctee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I recently stayed at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa for two nights with my adult daughters for a "weekend" getaway. We were so very pleased with everything. The resort is set among the foothills, the accommodations were clean, quiet, beds very comfortable. There are three pools, two for adults only. Easy walk to the little town where we had a wonderful italian meal and did some shopping in the small, boutique shopping. I say boutique, but some were not boutique prices. Cute little town.
The spa offers a full array of services. We spent almost a full afternoon there. Laid by the pool after where there is meal service available as well. Will definitely go back again. It isn't low cost, but worth saving for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katcat269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

It is a beautiful resort and spa in a beautiful setting. HOWEVER, I was shocked by the terrible service we had on my most recent visit. We had a series of problems ranging from relatively small (rude staff person at the front desk), to the quite large (being overcharged by $400 and seriously inappropriate behavior by a massage therapist). I complained about these incidents and was basically brushed off -- told that they were so sorry for my inconvenience and they hope I'll come back. Well, I won't. We paid way too much money to be treated the way we were.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smwa-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We got a great deal on our stay here - stay two nights, get the third free when traveling during the week. I was happy with the deal and overall felt pleased with the property. It's beautiful, and full of amenities. Our room was spacious, comfortable and impressive. The staff is friendly and the pools and grounds are beautiful, relaxing and well maintained. However, a few things made this feel like a slightly less than a 5 star experience.

- The food: No way this is 5 star food. We ate mostly in the casual spots (the pub, poolside cafes) and were so unimpressed we had no desire to try the more upscale eateries. If you're going to charge $16 for a tuna sandwich, it better be the best tuna I've ever eaten, not a lackluster meal served with bagged potato chips. Additionally, most of the casual fare was greasy - hamburgers, fries, etc - and if we went with a salad, it was simple mixed greens, but still for $15 a pop. I was far from impressed and spent most of my food dollars at restaurants in Ojai.
- Housekeeping: While all he staff was friendly and our room was kept clean, service was spotty. We only received turndown service on one of three nights, because on the other two, they came to the room after 9 p.m. when we had already returned from dinner. Likewise, one day our room wasn't given the regular cleaning until after 4 p.m. When staying at a place this nice (and $$) I really expect the housekeeping to be handled when I'm away from the room, and in a timely manner so you feel a bit more pampered. The resort was not busy when we were there, so I'm not sure what the problem was.
- Pools: all of the pools are great, but why can't the plush chairs at the main pool also be offered at the other, adult-only pools?

All in all, a great place to stay - but they need to kick it up just a notch before I'll come back and pay full price.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bee_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My 13-year-old god child and I made our fifth visit to Ojai Valley Inn and Spa together. We visited during her spring break in past years; this year we decided to spend a few days in July. had been once without her in the summer but she had never been to Ojai in July, and this July was really hot. We spent most of our time at the pool.

We found the staff attentive and flexible; the grounds were beautiful; and the food was certainly acceptable. If you spend five days at the pool, the limited menu can get a bit repetitious.

We really appreciated the pool staff; they were eager to assist in any way they could; the pool chef made us a fun fruit plate; and the kids (and adults) all enjoyed the Dive Inn movie on Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing