We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Private Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfectly Private Getaway”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This resort is a wonderful place to get away from it all. If you are looking for something different that involves the outdoors, spa & wellness - this is a great place to escape to. Only a short drive away from LA - this place offers tranquility, privacy and a truly relaxing environment. Grounds are gorgeous. Booked through Perfect Escapes - we bought a package deal. The room was comfortable and spacious. Each room has a patio/balcony area and views. We really enjoyed the food at the resort - dinner at Maravilla blew us away, wine was fantastic. They offer a bunch of exercise classes that are included with your stay. I tried a yoga class, worked out a the gym and we did the hiking trail for 1 1/2 hours - you can rent bikes for free. The pool & jacuzzi area looked awesome - but it rained so we opted to go for a long walk and check out the city. Jimmys Pub has a great vibe (we watched the Masters there) - and the Oak Grill Cafe had a wonderful breakfast buffet spread - that was included with our package! We were able to check out late (4pm) which made all the difference to just chill and relax. I'd recommend this for couples, friends getaway, or if are with family - there's lots to do for all.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    241
    76
    53
    31
See reviews for
362
711
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have been to the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa about 12 times over tha past 3 years. We are always treated exceptionally and remembered by the staff from visit to visit. The hotel has consistency of staff which also reflects it must be good place to work for the employees. And, happy employees make for happy guests. The property is gorgeous and beautifully maintained. We like how the rooms are in separate clusters of buildings which makes the property feel very open and not at all like a big hotel with many floors. The rooms all have gorgeous views. A stay can be pricey but there are always good deals on the internet and the Resort's Website, especially between September and May. The best website I have found is Whatahotel.com which usually offers the best rate and perks like free breakfast and spa access and a room upgrade. They also have a monthly newsletter you can sign up for that has special offers. We have always had lovely rooms and the hotel is very generous with upgrades. They just added a huge second family pool. We were just there for Easter and the hotel had lots of fun activities for the children. They had a great brunch. The hotel and staff really pay attention to detail. We had nice extra ammenities in the rooms like decorated cookies, cupcakes and milk for the kids. If they know it is a special occasion, they will put extra treats in your room. We really, really love the resort and plan to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemislaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Only 90 minutes from downtown LA, what a great find. All inclusive without leaving the property is what we liked for a short weekend stay. Meals were great, pool was not crowded at this time, weather was perfect. We didn't get advanced reservations for the spa though since it was the last minute decision to come, but it looked like something we would have enjoyed. The men in our party were able to get in and they liked the service a lot. The room service was excellent and hotel staff was helpful and 4 Seasons friendly. Fresh air, lovely smells of lavender and citrus made getting away from the city relaxing and heavenly. We will plan on going back when we can spend more time browsing the town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetravelDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband and I were able to book a weekend away at the OJAI VALLEY INN and SPA (OVIS) over this last weekend. We had a wonderful time even though it was spring break and there were kids at the resort also. We have 4 kids, but they did not come with us this time. The OVIS was inviting and welcoming from the moment we drove up to the inn and were welcomed by Brian and the many other bell man that they had waiting. We were given our keys and the nice part was they put us near the spa knowing our whole purpose was for us to visit the spa and not golf. My husband and I do not golf, but if we did, this seems like the place to go (from what I heard from others staying there).

Spa: We went to the spa the following day and my husband and I both received treatments. The nice thing is the spa caters to both men and women alike. The new pool area is set-up nicely for having a leisurely lunch and drinks by the pool and also just relaxing in the sun. Both of our treatments were fantastic. All of the staff is very professional and inviting. I would book in advance, as the treatments book up fast and if you want to have a special treatment, you may not get in if you wait. Also, ask about their seasonal treatment, which usually uses special scents and lotions. I smelled so good and my skin was so hydrated when I left.

Food/Restaurants: We did not eat at the resort restaurants, instead we went to the local grocery store down the street and bought wine, cheese, hummus and crackers for a nice meal on the patio outside our room (most rooms, if not all have a patio with comfy chairs). The second night we went to Suzanne's which is about 5 minutes (driving) from the Inn. It was one of the most romantic, amazing dinners we have ever experienced. The food and service was outstanding. Suzanne's is one place you must try if you are going to Ojai, even for lunch. For us, it will be worth the hour drive up to Ojai, just to have dinner at Suzanne's.

The grounds: Ojai is situated on acres of lush landscape of herb gardens and Spanish style buildings. Make sure to bring your walking shoes as it is a treat to walk the grounds and see the amazing lavender and plants that are so well manicured. The grounds are a bit hilly, so be prepared for a workout. They do have golf carts that will take you anywhere you want to go, but we choose to walk since the weather was so beautiful and it was so relaxing to just look around at everything.

Our Room: We were givena room on the bottom floor, which was good, but not great as far as location and view. We had hard walking upper neighbors, so it was a little noisy at times. The room is very big and has a nice comfy soft bed. The best part (for us) was the Keurig coffee maker with everything you need for your coffee. We are coffee drinkers and it was a big bonus to have not only a coffee maker, but a Great coffee maker in the room. Then there was the bonus of great smelling bath products that are from their spa. The room was great for the two of us and it is decorated very nicely. I loved that it was so closely located to the spa, which gave us easy access to the pool area there (which does not allow kids under 16).

As you can see, we loved the OVIS and would recommend it to anyone that would like a relaxing weekend or week away with or without kids. They have a great kids club too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We've been to the Ojai Valley Inn several times before.. our last visit was for Easter of '08. We always enjoy it very much... Our trip this week was the best yet!
The level of service cannot be beat -- they trounced the outstanding service we experienced last month at the Four Seasons Aviara, and that was something. Staff could not do enough for our family - even our two teens aged boys were impressed.
We were upgraded to 2 Fireplace Shangri-la rooms, which we really liked - although our views have been better in other rooms... but with the cool weather we really enjoyed having fireplaces. We moved some of the furniture around so that one room became more comfortable for the 4 of us to sit together by the fire -- it was so cozy. Housekeeping was nice enough to enhance that space and keep it together for our stay.
The grounds were at their peak, and we really thought that food service had improved immensely since our last visit -- everything was terrific and our boys ate and ate.
Do not miss the chance to take a bottleof wine down to the herb garden and sit at a nice table under the wisteria vines -- it is fabulous.
The new pool was just getting ready to open -- we can't wait to go back and give it a try!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We go to Ojai to bring our son to the Weil Tennis Academy several times a year. We make it a wonderful vacation by staying at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. I recommend the tennis clinics at the tennis center and the tennis pro, Tom, gives amazing lessons. The courts are beautiful! I recommend getting up early aand sitting in front of the outdoor fireplace with a coffee from Cafe Verde, before an early morning fitness class. :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregontennismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California,USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We (3 girlfriends) had 2 Big 5-0's to celebrate but due to work commitments could not go too far. Ojai is 30 minutes from our home town of Camarillo and the ideal local getaway. The Ojai Valley Inn and Spa did not disappoint! The grounds are beautiful and extremely well maintained. The Inn itself is also well maintained and clean. We had lunch on the deck overlooking the gold course and everything was perfect. They have a good selection of wines both by the bottle and the glass and the prices are reasonable considering where you are.........I have seen way higher at lesser resorts. The spa services were fabulous and again the facility itself well maintained and very clean with a wonderful staff.
Ojai itself is only a ten minute walk from the Inn and although small has some lovely little shops that are well worth checking out.
This is a great time of year because the temperature is so favorable, with highs around 75 degrees. The summer months can be very hot, sometimes over 100 degrees.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelsClick so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing