We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful and relaxing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I truly enjoyed the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa last Spring.
Beautiful grounds and golf course, relaxing pool area, excellent restaurants, complimentary Yoga classes, super great Spa treatments.

Regina
Santa Barbara

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you Regina M for your review of your past stay. We appreciate you taking the time to remember and share your experience with others.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing getaway in the near future!

All the best,
Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    242
    76
    53
    31
See reviews for
364
712
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel and grounds are the perfect place for a getaway with friends, a lover, or alone. Everything they did here was well done without being overdone. Yoga classes, walks on the property, good food, lavender bath products from the lavender grown on property. Renew your senses and treat yourself - it's worth it!

The rooms are comfortable but the grounds are where I wanted to spend more time.

The large and well appointed spa was a treat.... although I wish they posted signs asking guests to speak softly (some ladies were quite excitable and loud).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panamtravelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you panamtravelkid for your review of your past stay with us!

Great to see that you are still thinking about your stay and were able to enjoy the serene and beautiful grounds.

We appreciate your recommendation and we will review with our associates to make sure we try to maintain the serenity of the spa for all to experience.

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a really, really nice place. I always try to give a balanced review, though, so I will try to find some minuses to go along with all of the pluses. Let's see...well, it's pricey. Even their informal restaurants are on the expensive side. But they are all really good! Lemme think of something else...oh yeah...like all hotels they tack on a resort fee. Now, we are paying for a resort room, so why would there also be a resort fee? And finally, (and I admit I am searching) the workout room. Great equipment. But it's in a dark, windowless basement. Kind of depressing. And if you want to use the steam and whirlpool -- tack on another fee. Is this a resort - resort - resort fee?

That said, this place is great. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Superb walking paths just outside the hotel. An easy walk or bike ride into the beautiful little town of Ojai. And the staff -- superb! From the concierge (thanks again Chloe for everything) to the front desk to the valets to the housekeeping staff. Everyone was great. The room was immaculate, and really nicely appointed and decorated.

And did I say dog-friendly? The friendliest I have ever seen. We ALWAYS travel with our Golden Retriever Jasper -- and all of the staff treated him like royalty -- pet bed, bowl, treats throughout the hotel...Jasper was in dog heaven.

This is a beautiful, extremely well-managed resort. I can, without reservation, give the Inn my highest recommendation. (I know I started with a few minor nitpicks, but I always want to give the whole picture). We will save up our nickels and dimes and return time and time again.

Go. Stay. You will love it.

Room Tip: I bet they are all good, but if you are travelling with your pet, they have certain rooms set aside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you thecaddy for your review of your recent experience with us!

We appreciate you sharing the review of your stay with others. Happy to hear that even Jasper enjoyed his time on the property, not to mention the pampering he received by our associates!

Thank you recognizing Chloe for her efforts in making a memorable stay, we will be sure to recognize her for her efforts!

Come back and see us again soon...

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Could not ask for a better weekend and locale. The grounds were amazing and the service impeccable. We were in the Wallace Neff building which had a lot of charm; we walked past a room in another building which looked like a "normal" hotel room. In our room, open beam ceilings and a great tiled bathroom. Bed was very comfortable.

Everyone, from the valet, front desk and restaurant staff, pool attendants and cleaning staff, was extremely helpful and cordial.

There were children with our group so we mostly hung out at the family pool. We found it really odd how "far" the adult pool was located. The property is quite large and from where we were staying, getting to the adult pool was a little trek; but I'm sure you could find someone on their staff to drive you down on a golf cart.

I did not participate in any of the resort activities but it was great that there was a huge list of things you can choose from including yoga, pilates, guided morning walks throughout the day. In the evening, we even had s'mores by one of their fire pits (additional charge).

I would definitely recommend and hope to go back to the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you SCTraveler91 for your recent review of your stay with us. The Wallace Neff building truly is unique as it is our historical building on the property and has a lot of charm to it! Glad you were able to enjoy this area of the property and even find time to partake in the S'mores during your stay.

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our associates on the property and we all look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Ojai!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This resort hotel absolutely lives up to it's well deserved ratings! The property and the views are simply gorgeous. The staff was always polite and helpful starting with the welcoming emails in anticipation of our visit ,to the front desk check in, bellmen service, pool staff, spa staff, housekeeping, EVERYONE WAS GREAT!
We stayed in spacious a fireplace suite in the Shangri-la (one of the buildings on the outer part of the property) It was immaculate, quiet and private, with a porch that looked out onto a fountain and flowered filled courtyard. Even though it was further from the main buildings, it was close to the spa, adult only pool, jacuzzi and lap pools, herb garden and cafe and the spa fitness center (where we took advantage of the free yoga and fitness classes offered daily). The massages we received at the spa were just what the doctor ordered and we were pampered from the moment we walked in the door. We ate several meals at the resort and found each thing we ordered to be fresh, flavorful and beautifully prepared and served. There are many dining options on the resort and you really never need to leave to get an exceptional meal.We aren't golfers but it looked as though the golf course was exceptional and many other guests seemed to be taking advantage of the opportunity. In short, we can't say enough about how pleased we are that we chose this property for our anniversary get away. We will definitely return! .

Room Tip: Because the property is quite expansive,talk to the reservation associate about your options and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daycavtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you daycavtravel for your review of your recent stay with us! Congratulations again on your 20th Anniversary and we know you have many choices to celebrate your milestone celebration and happy to hear you thought of us.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

OMG, what a fabulous facility and wonderful staff. Hospitality spilling out everywhere. If you do not want to be treated like a valued guest, waited on from the time you get up till you lay your head on the pillow, I would not stay here! The property is very well maintained, the restaurants have perfectly prepared food, the outside facilities are beautiful (pool, bocci ball court, patio with large grass area for events, golf course, walking trails ).

I reserved a pet room and brought my two German Shepherds. In my room they had provided pet beds (like you would have at home), two large bowls and bones (cookies) large enough for German Shepherds, and even bottled water for my dogs. My dogs were pampered like never before! There is a service that will come to the room and walk your dogs too, if needed.

This is a fabulous resort and property. I would definitely stay here again vs. traveling to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: If you want to bring your pet, reserve well in advance. They have specific rooms right off of the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you Sales2013 for your review of your stay with us! We are happy to hear your enjoyed your time with us and thank you for acknowledging our efforts with our genuine hospitality service.

We always welcome our friendly furry guests and hope you all come back and visit us again soon!

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Facilities are all the other posts say and more. We don't generally eat at the resort as the choices in town (Susan's) are more eclectic. But the note here is the resort staff is what makes this place uber special. There was a problem on this visit that I won't list, but once brought to the attention of the staff , we were overwhelmed at the attention to detail to "make it right". We will be back, and soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstewart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you rstewart100 for your review of your most recent stay with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

I am pleased to hear we were able to resolve your challenge during your visit and "make it right" prior to your departure!

We look forward to your next visit to the property and for another enjoyable golf experience!


All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing