We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Many Mistakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too Many Mistakes”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in mid-February as a romantic belated Vday mini-vacay away from our son and the NJ snow. When we arrived at our room, which was in one of the older buildings, the décor in the bedroom was updated in a grey modern style but the bathroom and the entrance were not updated and had the "Spanish Colonial" red tile and super old and outdated tub. We bought our stay on Jetsetter at a reduced rate, so for the price we paid, it did not bother us. However, it would be exceptionally disappointing for a normal rate.

What did bother us within an hour of being in the room is my husband stepping on a wet red stain on the carpet between the bed and the night stand. We called for housekeeping and waited for quite some time. As we waited, we further investigated by moving the furniture and examining it closer with the table lamp. We were hoping for it to be a wine stain or ketchup, but were shocked that it looked like BLOOD. We called the front desk and they kindly moved us to another room. After repacking, the nice housekeeper finally arrived (guess he was on the other side of the resort).

The new room looked the same as the prior one sans wet blood like stain. We then unpacked, stashed our valuables in the safe and went to the pool. When we returned to get ready for dinner, the safe would not open. Security and/or engineering came but after multiple attempts, apologies and a bit of time, it was determined that they had to DRILL the safe and replace it with a new one. That being said, they were super nice about it and drove us to the restaurant after finally drilling it open to retrieve our possessions and paid for our dinner, which was quite expensive.

The service at dinner was exceptional. The food was good, but overpriced (however, we did not pay for it). The only thing I did not like was the LONG BLONDE HAIR that I almost ate while taking a bite of my scallop.

The next day was better, although the drain in the shower at the spa wasn't really working very well and I was ankle deep in water for most of my short shower. It was not that bad given the prior day. We had a lovely couples massage and relaxed by the pool there. The spa, its pools and restaurant are nice (although the woman's wet area needs some regrouting).

The staff was apologetic and responsive and the grounds are lovely (even while suffering through a drought). However, there was so many mistakes that happened to us within a 6 hour span that it is very difficult to rate this as a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room NOT in the original buildings of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you RAnn2014 for the time you took to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn. We take guest comments very seriously as they are the best indicator of our performance.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. I assure you, this was certainly not to our 5-diamond standard of service and quality and I have addressed with each of the department managers to ensure these issues do not occur in the future. We pride ourselves on delivering an uncompromised level of luxury and excellent service to all our guests and I was disappointed to hear we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations.

We are always looking at ways to better train and develop our entire team, in addition to enhancing and the physical product and property here at the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. We will be using your candid comments to better assist us with our ongoing development program for the property.

Thank you again for the time in writing your review and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    239
    76
    52
    31
See reviews for
349
699
48
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The only word to describe Ojai Valley Inn is Magical. We came for a fun girls weekend getaway and were spoiled the entire weekend. The resort is beautiful and the service was fantastic. We visited the spa and all had treatments that were so relaxing - some treatment rooms even have fireplaces! We ate dinner at Miravilla one night and the food was so good..especially try the pork belly appetizer and the vanilla poached lobster for entree. There is a beautiful walking trail that takes you into town (about a mile) where you can do wine tasting or do a little shopping. We also were able to get away one morning for a hike on shelf road. We can't wait to get back - I still can't stop thinking about what a great time we had while we were there. This is in my top 5 vacations of all time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you FunWATravelers for your recap of your "magical" experience you had with us! We are glad you were able to enjoy the property for your girls getaway and indulge in Spa Ojai for some relaxing treatments.

Thanks again for your review and your travel tips for others to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My friends and I stayed at the property on the girls' getaway spa package. Overall, it was a wonderful and relaxing weekend and we'd stay at the hotel again. There were so many great things about the hotel so I'll start with the pros:

- Property was absolutely beautiful! The hotel is the definition of luxury. The front desk surprised us with a 2 category room upgrade to a fireplace suite right across from the spa. The room was incredibly spacious with many wonderful features such as a giant bathtub. There is also turndown service.

- The spa facilities were very nice and included every bathroom amenity you could possibly need. My friends and I especially liked the outside lounge area on the second floor since you could then actually talk while waiting for your treatment. I got a facial and my aesthetician did a great job in making sure the extractions weren't painful.

- There were many classes and activities offered throughout the day. My friends did the pilates and TRX classes and they felt both instructors were really good. The classes also weren't crowded.

- One of our favorite things about the trip was having smores each night. It was interesting that the smores kits included Reeses peanut butter cups. We didn't actually put the Reeses in our smores but we thought it was fun that the hotel was trying something different.

Now for the cons:

- The worst thing about the hotel is the overpriced lackluster food. We ate at Oak Grill for dinner and Cafe Verde for lunch. Given the hotel's luxury status and the prices they charge, we were so disappointed that the food was simply average. It seemed like they were trying too hard with the food combinations at Oak Grill since the flavors just didn't work. At Cafe Verde, we expected more healthy options given that the restaurant is at the spa. To give you an idea of the pricing, I paid $19 for a quesadilla that came with a tiny salad and $9 for a smoothie at Cafe Verde. My friend paid $18 for a vegetable tart that was teeny tiny. We decided to eat outside of the hotel after those meals.

- It's pretty confusing to find your way around the property. It's hard to tell which roads allow cars and the direction signs are small, which makes it especially hard to find your way around at night. The good thing is that there are a good number of employees driving golf carts that stop and ask if you need help.

- For the most part, the service was good. Our server at Oak Grill comped my friend's entree since she was so disappointed with her vegetable tart. At Cafe Verde though, our server was really slow and she didn't know the menu. My friend asked to make her noodles vegan but the server had to double check even though the vegan option was clearly stated on the menu.

If the food was a lot better, I'd definitely bump up my rating to excellent. The weekend was definitely still very memorable and I hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you LC411 for your review of your girls getaway spa weekend. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of the Spa Ojai experience and even enjoyed our Smores...next time we highly recommend you try the Reeses peanut butter cup smores!

As of the first of March, we started updating all of our menus throughout the property to maintain fresh and innovative ideas in our food and beverage outlets. We hope on your next visit you will be able to experience our new options and offerings.

Thank you again for your review of the property and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a beautiful property. A hidden gem! Wonderful experience.
The room was large, clean and beautiful views. The food was great, love the bar area! Now the spa, it was unbelievable, facials, massage, wraps pedicure. They did a fantastic job. Next time I want to play golf, it was raining this trip-which California needed desperately !
I will definitely go back and enjoy this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We had a large room over looking the golf course, ask the reservation dept. for a room to fit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torreypines2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you torreypines2012 for your recent review of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. We are glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating Spa experience with us at Spa Ojai. We look forward to introducing you to our challenging, yet entertaining golf course on your next visit back.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you back in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had the opportunity to give Ojai Valley Resort and Spa a "re-do". Went down with a friend for a girls' weekend and couldn't have been more impressed with the changes. The rooms were renovated, up-to-date, simple but luxurious. The service was top notch - from restaurant waiters, to pool-side service, front desk (Penny at concierge was darling), and our favorite bartender, Mario!

The grounds were impressive as was tennis with Tom, the coach at the resort. Still wish they had clay courts. We ate many meals here and thought breakfast excelled (did not do the buffet). The dinners were good - a bit of a miss on the ravioli. Definitely lunch at the spa - best veggie burger I've ever had. The Bloody Marys at the pub are a MUST.

Though we didn't use the spa formally, we had mini-free facials at the spa store and it was really fun.

I would absolutely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you Sparty76 for providing us the opportunity of a "2nd round" to allow us to restore your faith in the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa. We are delighted you had such a great time and were able to take advantage of our complimentary mini facials for your girls' weekend visit. In addition, we will be sure to recognize Patty our Concierge who assisted you during your stay as well as Mario at the Maravilla Bar. Thank you again for all your kind and candid comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa in the near future!

All the best,

Dominic Donatoni
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I highly recommend Ojai Valley Inn and Spa if you'd like a seamless vacation with real relaxation. They have so much on site that you could spend a long weekend there without the hassle of having to drive off the property, although I do recommend renting a bike and riding to town. The entire staff was very accommodating and helpful (especially Bonnie Burton) who made planning the trip enjoyable and smooth. She had everything booked and ready just as planned and put sincere effort into making sure our stay was a good one and it sure was!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited the inn for my 49th birthday. It was awesome. Extraordinary grounds, spectacular service, wonderful food, jasmine and wood burning in the air, trees lit-up with Christmas lights, fireplaces and super comfy beds. One of the best weekend getaways I've ever had.

Room Tip: Rent a suite - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0WL_CAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing