We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ojai Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
Casa Ojai Inn(Ojai)(Great Value!)
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri(Ojai)
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakridge Inn(Oak View)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Lodge Motel(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,777)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveler rating
1,341
259
89
56
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,341
259
89
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseoak grillfamily pooljimmy's pubadult poolbeautiful resortspa treatmentsmain pooldriving rangebell staffmini suiteartist cottagefireplace suiteplay golfpink momentsanta barbaratennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ojai Valley Inn Holiday

LOCATION:
Ojai is rather small and compact. One can walk to most establishments. Hotel also has bike rental.

COMMON AREAS/AMENTITIES:
The checking in/lobby area has high ceiling and spacious. This area as a whole is not very inviting. Amenities are very impressive. The gym is on the larger size with man great, clean, and modern equipment. There are many classes such as yoga and others. There are four pools and some of which are adults only. The Herb Garden pool is the most impressive and one of the most gorgeous pools I have been to. Attendants were very quick at providing drinks and whatever else. There was also sunscreen available for use.

ROOM:
Our room has a fireplace and the view is gorgeous. I was very impressed with the design and comfort of the room. It is very spacious and has all the accouterments of a resort of this caliber. The bath is large and functional. It has both tube and stand shower.

SERVICE/FOOD:
Checking in and checking out were smooth and quick. When asked for a wine opener, it was quickly delivered. Bellboys were also very quick with our bags. We had breakfast and lunch during our stay. While the food was not bad I found it to be on the boring side for a resort of this category.

When I was trying to do the booking, the website was off due to technical problem and had to call. I specifically asked about the bike rental policy whether it is complimentary or there will be a fee. The person told me over the phone that the bike rental is complimentary. When I voiced this upon checking out, they offered to remove the fee. I refused. Did not want to give the impression that we try to get a free ride. The fee for two hours was outrageous in my opinion. I think it was $16 for two hours. On the Bright side, internet was complementary.

RECOMMENDATION: The place is absolutely gorgeous from the design to the amount of space. I would like to give a five star review but take one away due to the misinformation about bike rental and “boring” food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Service is the culture here. No matter where we tapped in to resort personnel, each one always went the extra and unexpected mile, and often anticipated our needs before asking. The Mediterranean climate, farm to table dining, resort facilities, and the overall pampering of guests made our stay a rich and memorable experience. The Maravilla restaurant on the property has stiff local competition but gets our top rating for the finest service, food and wine. The local fruit, vegetables, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and wine in Ojai Valley make this area a foodie's paradise (and the resort grows heirloom tomatoes and herbs on the property). Our five-day, four-night stay was perfect!

Room Tip: The Shangra-la villas have great views, are large, and have two flat screen televisions.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights just for relaxation. Setting with mountain views, gardens, and pools beautiful . Menus very interesting, food delicious, and service very friendly. Spa a great place to relax after massage( spent afternoon in spa 103 by the pool!)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We love the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa, and stay there every year during the Ojai Music Festival. The resort has always distinguished itself for its outstanding grounds, rooms, and service. However, this year I felt it wasn't quite up to par. While the food seems to have gotten even better (and it was already very good), we were told that our favorite area of the hotel was under renovation, and that we could not stay there. We arrived to see cleaning carts outside of that section of the hotel, and what appeared to be guests staying in that section. That wasn't great, but worse, we were placed in room overlooking the valley with the view half obstructed by the roof below us. That was a great disappointment, especially given the price of the room. We have a young child, and had requested a roll away bed, but that only came after repeated calls to the front desk. It has always been the little touches that made a stay at the Ojai Valley Inn special. In past years, a small treat like a cupcake was always brought for our child, and this year there was none. The bath products had also been changed from the spa products to something more generic. One evening, I was in the room when the staff arrived for the turn down service. No pun intended, but I turned it down that evening. There must have been some miscommunication, because from that point on, we had no turn down service. We got the feeling that the hotel is cutting corners. On the positive side, we spent a lot of time at the pool, and loved the gorgeous pool and deck, but especially the pool staff, who catered to our every need. Family movies are shown by the pool in the evening, and this is always a treat for our little one, who loves snuggling up on a pool chair, and eating popcorn while watching a movie. After one night, the pool staff knew our child's name, and always said hello. How neat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Letstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent three nights at the resort and will definitely be back...beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, great spa, excellent dining, and very friendly and helpful staff...we could not have asked for anything more. We enjoyed the fitness classes, tennis center, spa treatments and dined in all their restaurants...everything is first rate. In particular we liked that the resort has a very casual style atmosphere, but yet sophisticated and classy and that it appears to be as welcoming to couples as it is to families (i.e. private adult pools and family pools, etc.). I highly recommend it and we will return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Minibarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews