We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Peru, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughters, sister and I spent a wonderful week at Ojai. It is a spectacular setting surrounded by the Topa mountains. Flowers and herbs are beautiful and the aroma of lavender and rosemary is lovely. Whether you are lounging around one of the pools, enjoying the spa or dinning in one of the restaurants, you will have the pleasure of being assisted by excellent staff. I did find this to be expensive. I do have a suggestion that the rooms be furnished with refrigerators.

Room Tip: Ask that you not be located on a main resort road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    240
    76
    53
    31
See reviews for
352
704
48
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Ojai. We originally planned to stay in one of the lower priced hotels in the area and just enjoy the town - so glad we stayed at the resort - as there is not much in town for families. Stay was nice. Grounds are beyond gorgeous. Food is outrageously expensive though. Staff is there to please you. So much so they did not reprimand a guest for letting a naked child in the pool which resulted in a "floater" and the pool being closed most of the day on a holiday. What can you do - that's what you get when dealing with pampered patrons who think they know best? Overall it was an awesome experience. Not too many chances to stay at a small, high end resort like this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkyLee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the setting is spectacular. My room was large, comfortable and quite. I was excited to come here since I have heard so many great things about the resort over the years. However, I was disappointed in the level of service (or lack thereof).

The main disappointment was at the relaxation pool by the spa. Getting service for drinks and food was amazingly slow and you had to go find someone to take your order. None of the staff would pick up dirty towels, trash, empty cups, etc. I was there for about 3 hours and was laughing that there was a sheet of paper (a spa schedule) that was sitting on the ground next to the pool that remained untouched the entire time I was there. The staff continually just stepped over it instead of picking it up. There was also a stack of used cups sitting on a table next to me. No one would pick them up and when I asked a staff member if she could take them, she took half the stack and never came back for the 2nd half. No one seemed to care that the place was a mess and no one made any effort to make it look as beautiful as the rest of the grounds. This is an expensive resort that bills itself as a “Premier Southern California Luxury Resort” so I expected much more.

We had the same experience at several of the restaurants, especially at breakfast, were simply getting a cup of coffee was a monumental effort. There was sausage on the floor that sat for 10 minutes as numerous staff simply walked over it. Finally, someone picked it up, but it was comical at how little attention was paid to details like this.

On a positive note, we did have excellent service and fantastic meal at Maravilla. Not all service was lacking, but unfortunately there were more low points than high.

Overall, the resort is beautiful place. They need to train their staff to care about their jobs and pick up the level of service if they want to live up to the expectations they set.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear SBAdvisor,

Thank you for the time you took to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Inn. We pride ourselves on delivering an uncompromising level of luxury and excellent service to all of our guests and am sorry we fell short of your expectations.

I was delighted to hear of your positive experience at the Maravilla restaurant. Customer service is a very crucial aspect of our culture at the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa and I assure you we will be revisiting with each of the respective department managers for further training and development of our team to promote consistency throughout the property. We do pride ourselves on being the “Premiere Southern California Luxury Resort” and we hope you provide us another opportunity to confirm what many people have experienced when staying with us.

Sincerely,
Dominic Donatoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles area
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my idea of heaven 2 hours from LA. It's perfect for a family, a romantic get-away, a girls or guys weekend or even just when you need a night or two alone to get away from it all. The property and surrounding mountains are a beautiful backdrop for the Inn, with its wonderful service, laid-back but luxurious atmosphere and the great spa and exercise options. This time we brought our bikes and rode to town every morning; it was wonderful! We'll be back again...and again...and again...

Room Tip: I've worried that I wasn't getting a good room sometimes but I've found something to lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allsixofusonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary, our travel agent recommended the Ojai Valley In and Spa. We were bringing our 3 year old daughter with us, so we wanted a place where we could relax, get away, but still have plenty to do with our kid. We were amazed at the beauty of the grounds, the friendliness of the staff, and the size of our room. They even set up a Disney Princess Toddler bed for our daughter! We ate dinner at the Maravilla restaurant both nights we were there, and not only was the food AMAZING, but they took extra special care of our kid. Which made it easier to take her to a fancy restaurant. I can't say enough great things about this place! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Ojai Valley Inn is one of my favorite resorts anywhere in the world. It starts with the setting which is spectacular. The Topa Topa mountains are incredible. The resort itself is luxurious, but unpretentious. Once you arrive, the bell staff promptly greeted us. Though we arrived hours before check in, on a busy 4th of July weekend, our room was ready.

We unpacked and went straight to the pool. At every top, the pool, the tennis courts, the restaurants, etc. the staff is friendly, prompt and professional. Also, the 4th of July activities for families were really nicely done.

During our stay we utilized the kids club. Our kid had fun and learned somethings along the way. The kids went into a Native American hut, they went to a raptor exhibition and picked tomatoes from the beautiful herb garden. It is not the Club Med for kids which is excellent as well. It is different, but just as fun with a little learning along the way.

The town of Ojai is great. It is small, artsy, but not touristy. You can easily spend a 1/2 a day or more ambling about.

I could go on and on but I need to get back to work so I can afford to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdpesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I had not been away from home for quite some time...we needed a weekend away!!! From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, we were so relaxed and happy! We both had wonderful spa treatments, ate great food, and drank our fair share of good wine...what could be better...thanks for the memories...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
489 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing