We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to escape from the urban life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to escape from the urban life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's only less than 100 miles from Los Angeles. I made a reservation through internet and I got a phone call from an experience planner of the hotel a few days after. She personalizes your stay by pre-arranging for many options such as spa, dining, and golf. I requested her to make a reservation for dinner at "Maravilla" and email some great lunch spots in Ojai downtown before we get there. It's a little cute village. Mostly we enjoyed the jugguzis at three different location (indoor and outdoor). It was a memorable scene at the outdoor jugguzi with fresh coffee and fresh croissant in the bracing mountain air first in the morning. The coffee shop of the spa is very good. The Spa facility was clean and comfortable but indoor jugguzi is small.
Unfortunately, "Maravilla" was not special for us since we are very spoiled with great foods.
It was a great one day trip!!

Room Tip: If you are interested in Spa, please ask your room near the Spa by walk. Please remember the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YFehmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    204
    66
    43
    23
See reviews for
303
609
41
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really liked it here. Nice place close, but not too close to Los Angeles. Snuck away for one night in February. We stayed in one of the Fireplace Shangri-La rooms. It was nice a decent size, but I had expected a little more for the price as this place is not inexpensive. You do pay for teh resort though which is really nice. We took advantage of the pools, gym, spa and fitness classes all of which were excellent. Enjoyed a drink at Jimmy's pub as well. We did not have a meal at the hotel opting instead for Suzanne's in town which was great. All in all this place was very relaxing and in a beautiful setting. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, this place is just a wonderful resort. Quiet, secluded, serene, and with outstanding service. On top of that, they are dog friendly and having our little Chewie there was so much fun. Not only do they make you feel welcome, they welcome your dog with open arms as well. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a prime resort property situatined in an extraordinary location, in absolutely superb condition with a first rate staff and outstanding accommodations!

Rooms are divinely commodious, impeccably maintained and luxuriously furnished, with almost auto-everything. A bit too "green" oriented, especially with regard to lighting, but to good intent.

Room Tip: Try to get higher-category directly overlooking golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful resort set in a valley and we got the best room (#351) overlooking it. Loved sitting on our very, very private (they aren't all like this) balcony in the a.m. having coffee and enjoying. We didn't have any spa services but took many of the fitness classes (included) and they were great - morning and afternoon stretch, roller ball and the hoops were extremely fun Also walked and walked and walked around the property. Never took the elevator (it's a multi level property) so that increased our exercise quote plus we walked into town 3 times (brisk 15 minutes each way). Fun to walk around Ojai and enjoyed a very good breakfast at the Ojai Cafe Emporium one morning. Restaurants on the property are very good and there is a nice choice. I believe we tried them all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Ojai Valley Inn many times.Each visit is better than the last-the staff at the Inn goes out of their way to make each guests stay a wonderful one. The town is charming, and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: We like the Casa Blaca, shangrila fireplace rooms-519 is a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The spa treatments were really top notch. The spa facility itself is nice but nothing remarkable. But holy hell - the spa food is atrocious!!!! Bland, frozen turkey burgers, tasteless salads and under-seasoned everything! Also, underwhelmed by dinner at the main restaurant. And can we just discuss that truly dreadful painting above the reception desk?! The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. But again, the decor is disturbingly bad - mirrors, paintings, framed tv, etc. I get that hotel art is not the best and often innocuous. Unfortunately, the design aesthetic at the Inn is aggressively awful. Bad food, bad art = no return visit - even when the lavendar loses it's scent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.6 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Property: Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing