We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four nights at Ojai Valley Inn and Spa - what a treat!”
Review of Ojai Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I can't say enough about our mini-vacation in Southern California. The grounds abound with giant trees and imaginative plantings. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our bedroom looked out onto the golf course and mountains and was extremely well-decorated and comfortable. Just wandering the property was a treat - but there was lots more to offer - a snappy spa, several restaurants and the glorious setting - already mentioned. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,530 - 1,536 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband took me there on my birthday weekend. We had been to the property before just to check it out. It's not far from where we live. We just loved its location surrounded by rolling hills and its Spanish hacienda style buildings. So now it was wonderful to get to stay here. Yes, it was a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to the room in Casa Blanca. Our room had a fireplace and furnished patio with the view of the 10th tee. The big bed was nicely dressed and comfortable. The beautiful large bathroom had separate toilet, tub and shower. Loved the bath products and the complimentary coffee/tea machine.

After checking in we just spent the time in the sitting area and watched some movies. It was so nice and relaxing. There were plenty of things to do, as shown in the daily activities list, but we were just enjoying our room so much. This property is so spread out that even though the hotel was full, it didn't feel like it. There was still plenty of tranquility and sense of calm. Our building was quiet also, except when the kids from next room were squabbling on our shared entryway. We checked out the hotel gardens we barely saw anybody at all. The hotel grounds smell so good from all the herbs and plants every where.

Sadly, the weather was a bit chilly on that weekend, so we didn't get the chance to use any of the pools. We love this resort and town of Ojai, we'll be back next time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacay2vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Was such a great place! We might make this an annual visit. Worth every penny. Food was great. Service was great. Rooms were great. Did not get to do any spa services as we were not there long enough.... but went in to it and the spa pool and looks really nice. That will be on our list next time. Eat on site. No need to leave the resort. Great place to go relax and enjoy nature and silence. Just what we needed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We checked in Thursday after Memorial Day weekend and were upgraded to a fireplace room in Casa Loma with a balcony overlooking the 1st tee and the Herb Garden Pool. Jacob gave us a quick property tour and some excellent restaurant recommendations both on and off resort property. We recived stellar service from every staff member from pool service to the restaurants to the golf shop and the spa. We ate at Maravilla on our last night and after being overwhelmed by the wine list, we were offered several tastes based on the meals we'd chosen and an impromptu lesson on wine pairing. Like I said, the service was impeccable. There were several other instances during our 4 night stay where various staff members went above and beyond or just did that something extra that made us feel special. The entire campus is beyond-words gorgeous. We can't wait to go back to Ojai!
Tips: Check out a bike for free and ride 5 minutes to town if the weather's nice. BYO snacks - we paid $40 for 2 egg sandwiches and OJ the first morning at the Resort. Green fees are 1/2 price after 2:00.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeatlesFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a group of girlfriends for the weekend, and couldn't have liked it more. It was very beautiful, the staff was great, rooms were nice. We especially enjoyed renting bikes and going for rides in the area. Everything about our stay was very nice.

One night at the pub, there were some problems with the service, but the manager handled it so nicely, and really did all he could for us, that I could have no complaints in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

First, the restaurant Maravilla is outstanding in food quality, decor' and service. It is a fine dining restaurant and we concur with other patrons that the scallops are absolutely superb! Our overall hotel experience though was it was simply too crowded - assuming 308 rooms & probably 1/2 guests had kids, there were probably 1,000 guests on property. Hence, the other restaurants were chaos, pools over crowded and really nowhere to sit with a few minutes of privacy (even the balcony had crowds moving through walkways below). Mind you, it was high season and I must assume after one day in the town of Ojai, everyone ran out of things to do and just enjoyed the hotel.

The rooms are very nice overall. Also, be mindful the hotel can also be loud with doors slamming hard with echos in the hallway. There is no valet, so no added costs for keeping car - but you have to park it pretty far from the rooms and walk to room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

What a truly wonderful place to go. I wanted a hotel where I could relax, enjoy nature and one which is not too far from LA, well this is it. Located close to Santa Barbara surrounded by beautiful lush mountains! The rooms are very spacious and big, with great bathrooms and wonderful amenities
The golf course is just gorgeous, even if you don't play one should just go for how beautiful it is.
Had a facial in the SPA, which I enjoyed very much, the lady was extremely professional and did a fantastic job, I would recomment going at least half an hour before your treatment so you can take advantage of the Spa and all of its amenities.
Enjoyed dinner at most of its restaurants. Maravilla is the more elegant one, food is wonderful and portions are the perfect size. The atmosphere is quiet and understated and service was just perfect
Jimmy's pub is a more relaxing place, for a quick dinner or a casual drink, its fun and a perfect place to go for drinks after dinner in Maravilla for example.

Then there is Cafe Verde, this is located next to the SPA, serves lunch and is also quite wonderful, the portions are a great size and they have very healthy options too. I personally liked it there since its more serene.

So whether you like to hike, ride a bike, do yoga, play golf or just relax, this is the perfect place. I believe they were even sold out when I was there but you never had the feeling that it was crowded or there were too many people, and best of all, the Staff is very professional and friendly.
Can't wait to return...

Room Tip: choose one with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mytrips02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.7 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.5 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#1 of 9 in Ojai
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: $423 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing