We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few details missing but pretty good.”
Review of The Oaks at Ojai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oaks at Ojai
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I missed the orientation tour the first day. No staff member showed up the second day either. Therefore, I did not know about the health advisor, where I could have given more specific dietary needs, and therefore miss being scolded by the meal servers for giving back something I could not eat. I did not know about the indoor hot tub, steam room or showers until the second or third day, and never knew that people could request to eat lunch outside. Other than that it was a fairly good place, the night time presentations were good. The only issue there is that the breakfast room/lounge where these were held had terribly uncomfortable furniture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Oaks at Ojai, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

It's terrible we didn't get to give you Orientation! As you experienced, we ARE a unique destination. Knowing the details is a key to a successful spa getaway. We're looking in to how we can prevent this from happening again, as well as the scolding from wait staff. Our wait staff is normally known for being very friendly! Please feel free to contact me directly before a future visit - I'd like to help make sure it goes properly! Healthy regards, Elizabeth@oaksspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Not for those who need a highly structured, boot camp style environment. That said, I had a great time and the food was fantastic. Fitness classes and hikes were outstanding. Atmosphere really encourages you to meet new friends.


Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sdnatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fabulous, just what is needed to relax! Spent the day, exercising and relaxing. Great food.
went to bed tired and got a great night sleep

staff is friend and pushes you as hard as you want to be pushed. Great for all ages!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryacronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a great massage, swim/hot tub, foot care and great lite healthy meals in the the center of town. Birthday gift from my wife. Great Gift! It was a wonderful day to spend with my wife. The building is beautiful and close to everything ojai.

Room Tip: Day trip...did not spend the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinman819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at The Oaks. This was my seconds visit, the first several years ago. This was like summer camp for adults. They served delicious healthy meals and snacks and there were many activities and classes to participate in. I found the entire staff extremely nice and welcoming. We chose a cottage rather than a room in the main building. This is a great way to kick start a healthy lifestyle. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle5835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoy going to the Oaks Health spa and the laid back feeling everyone has. Ojai is a nice town and we really enjoy the staff and meeting fellow guests that travel from all around the world to be at the spa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATSKB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent 7 days recently at the Oaks.. I have been researching facilitlies of this kind for awhile, a place where fitness and diet are the focus. One also in a nice environment and affordable were 2 of my other main criteria for this venture. I LOVED the oaks! It was definetely one of the most affordable spa/resorts of its kind that i found. It was like camp for women! We were all on a 1200 calorie a day food plan, I wont even say diet because the food was delicious! i would say i ended up loving at least 90% of what was served. And there were always alternate options if you didnt like what was on the menu..but i never opted for that. Every morning offered 3 hikes of varying levels of fitness, then a full schedule of exercise classes all day! Everything from zumba to bootcamp classes all taught by very cool instructors.
I went alone and chose to have a roommate. This could have been a scary proposition, but was just fine.. my roommate was close in age to me, and we got alot just fine..in fact i made a new friend.
The facility is definitely no frills, but all very clean and efficient. This is probably part of why the cost is affordable. I was very impressed by the constant efforts to recycle and stay green, they recommended writing your name on your plastic cups, and using the same towel for the day etc.. i appreciate these efforts. Shelia the owner was on site almost every day, she is amazing! almost 80 and still teaching classes and mingling with her guests constantly!
Im an avid exerciser, but tried many forms of new exercise and loved that!
Most of the women have been coming there for years and i will become one of them.. i cant wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: the rooms on the street side have balcony's but it can be alittle loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shootmelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.9 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks at Ojai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks at Ojai

Address: 122 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3296
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range: $225 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s not just what you lose. It’s what you gain. THE OAKS AT OJAI EXPERIENCE The women who choose the Oaks at Ojai year after year are wise enough to understand what really matters. Weight loss, yes. Fun fitness and healthy delicious meals, of course. Outstanding spa treatments, absolutely. But as the only spa retreat in the US designed for women over 40, this is a place that offers more. A casual, supportive environment. Peace and solitude. Laughter and friendship. All-inclusive affordability. Plus, everything you need to develop smart, sustainable habits. Welcome to the Oaks at Ojai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Oaks at Ojai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks At Ojai Hotel Ojai
The Oaks Ojai
The Oaks Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing