We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Motel”
Review of Casa Ojai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Ojai Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
“Fine Motel”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I don't do reviews, I like this place, it was the second time I have been there. My girlfriend was next door with her husband and we were going back and forth, someone complained about the foot steps. It was too bad. And this time I found the staff to be just a bit cranky. Not so good. Next time we meet friends in Ojai, I will shop around. Nice place, clean, moderate breakfast, probably will give it another chance. Next time we will ask for rooms away from other guests so we are not asked to hush at 9:00 pm on a Sat. night.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 123lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    220
    69
    16
    5
See reviews for
147
188
32
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2010

It's a motel. It's a mile from the center of town, so closer than the nicer hotels. But because it's a motel you get motel guests and folks who think they are in high school. The noise was so loud, it wS a pain to stay. Noise was partly because the walls were so thin I could hear every conversation happening outside or next door, or when people walked pass my room ( which sounded like a rattling piece of thin particle board); partly also because the people were inconsiderate (in a loud voice at 10 pm, "let's go to the hot tub!"). There was no bed and breakfast situation going on here. The decor is better than a motel 6. the heater is uncontrolled, you have to get up and turn it off during the night because there's no temperature regulator. The sheets were decent--white, clean. Staff initially seemed annoyed by my complaints bur were helpful, though they weren't helpful n finding hikes or a breakfast place.

If i did it again, I'd stay at the blue iguana (which is only 30 more per night) or pay more and stay at the lavender inn where you get an amazing breakfast and are in the heart of town. Or I'd splurge and stay at the ojai inn and spa. A quiet night's sleep is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Very clean, good price, walk to trolley stop. Continental breakfast was good and had a nice variety. Rooms were spacious with refrigerator, which I love. Would stay there again. Eco friendly is definitely a plus!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Ojai for our 10-yr anniversary and were looking for reasonable accommodations. The Casa Ojai Inn offered just what we needed. The room was very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast provided a decent quick meal in the morning. The only regret we had is that our room, 108, was next to the Housekeeping office and we had difficulty sleeping in in the morning due to noise as the staff was setting up their carts just outside our door. Otherwise it's very quiet at night. Next time we go there we would just request a different room. Had we brought our kids, they would have enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We spent several hours hiking just above the valley floor in the hills and walking around downtown during Ojai Day (every 3rd Saturday of each month). Downtown Ojai is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2SLOtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel was pretty standard as far as they come, yet above average of what I would have expected for the cheap price we paid. Very clean rooms and pool, nice staff, great little treats such as tea and cookies. The pool was nice but right along the road so we didn't feel like we wanted to spend any time relaxing by it as it wasn't very private. Breakfast was provided but all breads, cereals, and flavored oatmeal. There was some hard boiled eggs. I would have liked the option of as least some fresh fruit, juice, cold water or maybe some yogurt, things that I usually find pretty standard at continental breakfasts.

The rooms were nice, even a little fridge, which didn't work, but I'm sure would have been fixed if we had asked. Everything was clean, lots of space to put clothes away and spacious room to walk around. I really like that they are trying to go more "green" by using soup dispensers instead of bottles. That may not be as elegant, but it's much better for the environment which I fully support.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others who are looking for clean, inexpensive, well located, place to stay while seeing the beautiful town of Ojai.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devoroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Casa Ojai Inn with two children. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. You can take the breakfast next to the pool in the morning and it's quite ok. Unfortuntately, we booked two rooms under two different names and hence they did not realise that we would have like to have the rooms next to each other (and booking.com did not pass on our request either). If you are happy to share a queen bed, one room would actually have been enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

When my wife and I got to the room it appeared acceptable... However, as our stay ticked on it proved that this establishment was not as advertised. First, as we lay watching TV, we began to hear water dripping in the bathroom. When I went to investigate, I found a stream of water coming from the ceiling over the bathtub (this from the running shower above us). I went to the front desk to report this and the friendly receptionist said she'd look into this. My thought was that they would find another room for us, or discount our bill. But instead, she dispatched a plumber at 7pm. I strongly echoed a "no" on this since I didn't not pay to have a plumber intrude on our stay at 7pm. As the night went on the A/C would not stay on (making me constantly recycle the unit for cool air). My wife and I got little sleep as the occupants above us sounded like a sumo wrestlers going at it, not to mention the (loud) traffic zooming down the blvd at all hours of the night - then there was the drunk female (at midnight) yelling on her cell phone just outside our door. All of this 'action' was far from a pleasant stay. The final blow came when we got up in the morning and my wife wanted to make coffee. She opened the coffee pot door to pour water in it, only to find a layer of dirt in the reservoir- yuck!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai_Now, General Manager at Casa Ojai Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. I do remember your situation and it was a terrible unforeseen situation. I was called from home and came to the office immediately as we also called in a plumber. We were sold out that night so I am sorry we were unable to move you but that still does not help your situation, so I will look into this situation immediately and will be contacting you directly to give you my apologies.

Jim Johnson,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
81 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.1 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ojai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ojai Inn

Property: Casa Ojai Inn
Address: 1302 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ojai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled among the Topa Topa Mountains in Ojai, California conveniently located near the quaint Ojai Village and across from the newly renovated Soule Park Golf Course, which has been awarded a 4 star rating from Golf Digest. Begin your journey through the Ojai Village with the Ojai Trolley stopping regularly in front of Casa Ojai Inn or if you are feeling adventurous you can rent a bike and ride the Ojai Valley Trail, a paved trail that leads you through Ojai and beyond to the beautiful Ventura County beaches. Our picturesque Libbey Park, located in the center of our small town, rests underneath a canopy of large oak trees with a playground for the kids and a bandstand for our local Summer Night Concerts. Libbey Park is also the home of the public tennis courts used for the finals of The Ojai Tennis Tournament and the Libbey Bowl amphitheater which hosts Ojai's famous Music Festival and numerous other concerts and events throughout the year. The Ojai Village is filled with unique shops, exquisite restaurants, art galleries, and spas. Breath-taking yet challenging golf courses can be found close to the hotel and are perfect for year round golfing. Hotel guests will find Ojai an ideal location for day-trips to the Los Padres National Forest and Lake Casitas for fishing, hiking, biking, and climbing experiences. Remember to bring a swimsuit for the water holes that you may discover as you are exploring the natural beauty. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served daily. Guests will enjoy a refreshing swim in our Salt-Water pool and Jacuzzi and sunbathing on our spacious sundeck. Our guests can enjoy discounts for spa services at the Ojai Day Spa or stay fit with complimentary passes to the Bryant Street Gym. Meeting facilities are available for group events in conjunction with the Soule Golf course banquet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Ojai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ojai Hotel Ojai
Best Western Ojai
Ojai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing