We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

You just can't beat The Blue Iguana. As soon as you drive in there seems a calmness about the place, even though it is off a busy road.

it is perfect for us and our two children. The rooms are quirky, clean and well stocked. The staff are delightful and remain in the background which is how it should be.

Thank you for creating such a gem. We have travelled world-wide for years and this is the only place we have come back to twice and hope we'll be able to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    115
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
134
231
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

My husband and I spent Friday and Saturday nights at the Blue Iguana in Suite #7. I was concerned that it might be noisy because the property is right on the highway into Ojai and our room was right in front of the pool, but noise really wasn't a problem. There's a lot of vegetation between the buildings and the road, and the couple of young children using the pool didn't use it too late. The landscaping is attractive and far nicer than you'll find at any other property in Ojai (though I can't speak for the resort). Our suite had a king bed, chaise, full-size ktichen (though just the bare minimum for cooking and eating utensils, as you might expect), a dining table, an extra table, and smaller pieces of furniture to place travelers' items on, and a jacuzzi tub in a spacious bathroom. The suite is nicely decorated and windows open, so we didn't have to use AC. There's a minimal continental breakfast, which we supplemented with fresh, local fruit. We would stay here again. It's a couple-mile drive into the main part of town, but that makes it quieter, and you can also take the trolley in.

  • Liked — size and value
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Blue Iguana has nice and pleasant architecture, and the rooms appeared pleasant, but our stay was marred by poor quality construction and furniture. Hanging a towel on the towel rack caused it to falll down, drawers didn't close properly, and the worst was an extremely poor quality mattress. (They advertise "premium quality memory foam pads"--that they put a "premium" pad over a cheap mattress seemed emblematic of their approach)

  • Liked — Nice architecture
  • Disliked — Mattress
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIInnkeeper, Owner/Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2007
I am sorry to read this entry. It is our intention at the Blue Iguana to provide the best possible product quality and customer service. Sometimes repairs are needed in rooms that go unnoticed by our staff until a guest brings them to our attention. As soon as a problem is brought to our attention we make every effort to correct the problem immediately. We have 2 maintanance people on staff and pride ourselves in providing an excellent product at a reasonable rate. We are very sorry this guest was not satisfied. We wish he had brought his dissatisfaction to our attention so that we could have had the opportunity to correct this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We booked a room well in advance of a two-night stay starting Sept. 24. Unfortunately, a huge wildfire broke out nearby after we made the reservation. We called two days before our stay, when fire safety officials had posted an evacuation alert for Ojai and the fire was within 10 miles of town. We explained our concern, as there are only two roads in and out of the area and strong winds were predicted to send the fire closer. Hotel would not cancel our reservation, and charged us $99, despite the danger. Will never book a reservation with this hotel again.

  • Disliked — The total lack of customer service/disregard for safety.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book ahead of time for this hotel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WashDCfrequentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

This was a wonderful find and was probably my favourite location of all the places we stayed on a trip from Los Angeles to San Francisco in August.

We tried to book individual hotels, and our stay here followed four nights at the Magic Castle in Hollywood, so it had a lot to live up to. The ladies in the reception were friendly and helpful, but a little disorganised - we have two children, but only the extra fold-up single had sheets. They were unable to find any spare sheets for the futon. Never mind, we improvised. We had booked room 5, which has a sitting room and kitchen in addition to the double bedroom. The kitchen was fantastic - well equipped and clean - so we could prepare food if we needed. The bed was probably the tallest structure I have ever slept on, and not particularly comfortable (very soft). There was also a small terrace at the back with a table and chairs.

The property itself has a lovely pool and jaccuzzi area, where we sat and recovered from the frenzy of LA. And there is another grassed area with tables and chairs and some outdoor games. Everywhere was very green, with amazing planting, which really complements the adobe style buildings.

We felt very relaxed at the end of our stay and we really enjoyed a couple of days swimming in the pool and just chilling. Ojai itself is a very laid back town in a remarkable setting. I would recommend a stop here for anyone doing the west coast trip.

  • Liked — Pool, general ambience
  • Disliked — The tall bed
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herindoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

I stayed at the Blue Iguana twice this year, each time for five nights. And each time I was impressed. The rooms are HUGE! I stayed in two different rooms and both were more like suites with seperate kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and sitting room.

The place has been very nicely decorated and the grounds are very nice. Very peaceful. The staff is minimal but friendly. Plenty of free parking.

The beds are VERY comfortable. Large towells and plenty of them. Good water pressure in the shower.

I was in Ojai on business and needed to get a good night's sleep and that's what really impressed me about this hotel. I slept better here than I usually do at home! I have a hard time sleeping in hotels but this one is somehow different.

The location is convenient to downtown Ojai and only about 20 minutes off the Ventura Freeway.

My only complaint with this place is that their wi-fi is terrible. If you don't need computer access while in Ojai, it's a perfect place. The hotel management told me they were working on upgrading their internet access. Assuming that's done, I'll look forward to returning to this hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

After failinig to find any lodging in Ventura, my exhausted family toiled through the hills looking for a place to stay. At an intersection, we asked another driver if she knew of any place we could stay in Ojai. Sure, she said, and led us right to the Blue Iguana Inn and drove off with a wave. Miraculously, there was a room available on a Friday night! The landscaping, the folksy staff, the comfortable rooms, the art, the great pool all refreshed and cheered us immediately. It really was an oasis for us and highpoint in our vacation. Not to mention the great guests-we me a woman from the Bay Area (our home) who was a possible business connection for my husband, an animator,and also for me! A great hotel feels a bit like home, but also, comforts, inspires, and attracts like minded people. We will definetely be coming back. Thanks for creating such a fully realized vision.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing