We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved this place! It was our first trip to Ojai and weren't we lucky to end up in room #206 at the Blue Iguana! This room is upstairs in the back and was amazingly beautiful. It's huge, with a separate sitting room and large bedroom. Included is a cooking area with table and chairs and all the basic amenities--plus lots of snacks to choose from at reasonable prices. Wonderful, comfy bed, cozy fireplace, TV, and not one but two private balconies to sit outdoors and enjoy the perfect temperature and pleasant views. We extended our wine and cheese hour to two hours as it was just too nice to get up and go out to dinner! Beautiful, unique, charming, quiet and peaceful. We would definitely recommend this inn to others and really hope to return soon for a longer than one-night stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevatyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    115
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
139
233
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I have visited Ojai three times in two years. Twice we've stayed at the Blue Iguana and once at the Emerald Iguana. Most recently we stayed in a spacious, warm room in the Blue Iguana for New Years. It was only moments from our destination (the local country club) and a three-minute drive to town. The room was too big to be cozy but you got that feeling anyway. Bedding, etc. was perfect. Kitchen was Spartan but fully appointed.

Room Tip: The Web site has photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zososfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

only stayed one night, but really enjoyed this place. Stayed in room #206, and the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Place was huge, felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Two great balconies, with access to a third on the roof. We stayed a night before going on a boat trip to the Channel Islands, and it worked out perfectly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'm renovating my second home in Ojai and am unable to stay there until the renovations is completed in a few months. This was my first stay at The Blue Iguana, and it won't be my last! I will HIGHLY recommend it to friends and family! My room was spacious and very well appointed, and thoughtfully pre-heated for my late arrival on a chilly evening. It had the sleeping area, fireplace, sitting area, kitchenette with table and chairs, dressing area and nice sized bathroom. It even had it's own private gated terrace with table and chairs. The amenities were abundant and thoughtful. And the snacks and drinks are the same price you would pay at the store -- no price gouging here! I wasn't told of the continental breakfast when I made my reservation, so was pleasantly surprised to hear of it from the desk clerk the next morning. It was more than enough to get the day started! Hard boiled eggs, bread for toast, bagels, cream cheese, jams, pastries, muffins, hot and cold cereal, coffee, tea, juices and fruit. This is in a lovely restaurant style stand-alone building. The owners obviously care a great deal about their property, and it shows! My only suggestions: add decaf coffee in the breakfast room (for those of us allergic to caffeine) and Q-Tip cotton swabs in the bathroom. Kudos Blue Iguana!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LfldCtyConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We would like to thank this guest and all the others who have taken the time to give us such great reviews. All of us at the Blue Iguana work very hard to provide the best product and guest service. It makes us very happy when our guests appreciate the property and enjoy their stays with us.
Thank you to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Blue Iguana. Had the King Suite #5, with King bedroom, full size futon sofa/ bed and full kitchen. Quiet, peaceful location. Entire room sparkling clean and neat. Perfect for us and our 2 girls 8 and 11. Everything we could need in nicely decorated and colorful bathroom. Very convenient to have the little snacks and cold drinks in the room for a small charge. Fireplace cozy and warm; easy to adjust or turn on/off. Enough drawers for all of us to unpack and put away our things. Very comfortable bed and futon. We needed a couple extra blankets and we had them in 5 minutes. Loved the southwestern decor here and there and the comfy bench with pillows on the covered porch area right outside our door! Will stay here on our next trip to Ojai!

Room Tip: Suites have more space and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaV_11534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Before booking I read the one- two- and three-starred reviews on Tripadvisor. I convinced myself they were all written by problem lodgers or extremely picky people. I no longer think that.

PROS

Beautiful facilities. The grounds are lovely. The rooms are furnished with artistic elegance.

Our suite was pleasant and roomy. The king-sized bed, in particular, was large and comfortable. Plenty of drawer and closet space.

Another reviewer thought the showerhead was a problem. Not in our suite. My husband thought the shower was one of the best he’d had while traveling.

We experienced no street noise or noise from neighboring lodgers. Our suite (halfway back) was quiet and well-insulated.

CONS

Kitchen--No casserole dish of any kind for the microwave or the oven. One large glass container had to double as the dog’s drinking bowl and a serving dish. No dish draining rack. No sink stopper.

No instructions for working the satellite television. No list of local channels. A very small selection of videos to choose from (one shelf in the office to supply everyone). One extra blanket for the bed. One small sponge. Etc.

A sign in the breakfast room asked that we not take more than our share of the food (whatever that means). A sign in the bathroom reminded us to conserve water. (Trust me, we do.). We were reminded to keep our dog on the leash, to keep our dog off the furniture, to pick up after our dog (we always do),not to lose our keys, observe quiet hour, etc. etc. The admonitions kept coming. We do all these things anyway, and we didn’t appreciate the incessant reminders.

The first night of our stay, a large dog was tied to the railing of the office near the door when my husband tried to enter. The dog lunged and snarled and came close to attacking him. Later, the same thing happened again. My husband reported this problem to the attendant. Her response? Nothing. Not: “I’m so sorry I’ll speak to the owner.” Not: “That’s unacceptable, please accept our apologies.” She said nothing.

The breakfast consisted of a bowl of fruit, dry cereal, a few golf ball sized pastries, and hardboiled eggs.

We won’t be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are sorry this guest did not fully enjoy their stay at the Blue Iguana. We make every effort to provide the best possible product and service, thus our check-in form does list property policies, especially for guests staying with their dogs.
We keep our kitchens stocked with a basic set of pots, pans and cookware, although additional cookware items are gladly provided upon request.
Our complimentary continental breakfast includes a variety of bite site muffins and pastries served along with full sized English muffins and bagels served with butter and cream cheese. We also serve a variety of fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, milk, coffee & tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room itself was beautiful, fitted with every amenity, from the plumped pillows to the coffee and snacks. Our room was quiet, in the back with a lovely bamboo screen in a carefully landscaped environment. The staff was attentive and very helpful. Amazingly inexpensive, at least for our timing (just before Thanksgiving).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing