We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant inn with character”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were here to hike in the surrounding hills and this was a pleasant base. The room (105) was spacious, clean and well-lit. We weren't able to fully utilize our outdoor patio area as the light went out and they weren't able to get it lit even by the next night. They did make an effort. Everyone was helpful. The breakfast was good for a continental buffet and the breakfast room was pleasant, as are all the grounds. We enjoyed the jacuzzi despite its abundance of froth scum and we had it to ourselves both evenings. The pool was likewise deserted, presumably because it was too cold to swim in. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are glad this guest enjoyed their stay despite the issue w/ their porch light. An electrical problem did occur and an electrician had to be called in to make repairs, unfortunately, he wasn't immediately available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 583 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the back rooms (Hacienda?) that had a small courtyard and also access to a common gazebo area where I sat and read my book in the afternoons. Felt like a complete getaway in our own little house. Microwave, fridge, coffee and good internet access. Comfortable bed and soft sheets. Very quiet. Because the hotel is right off a main road, we were concerned about noise when we first drove up. We also were surprised that it was a mile or so from town. But, ended up being very happy at the location (across from a running/biking trail) and not bothered by noise. The pool is nice, though cold, and there are artistic touches everywhere. We checked out the Emerald Iguana - their fancier sister hotel in town - but liked our choice better! Continental breakfast was sweet, at a little breakfast house with a good selection of quality items. All the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. We are already thinking of returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was my first time to visit Ojai and Blue Iguana Inn made my visit relaxing and amazing. Staffs are very friendly. Our room was clean and has one of the most comfortable bed I laid on in an inn or hotel. I had our complimentary breakfast underneath the trees near the breakfast buffet area and it was so relaxing and laid back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donw20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was my first time to visit Ojai and Blue Iguana Inn made my visit relaxing and amazing. Staffs are very friendly. Our room was clean and has one of the most comfortable bed I laid on in an inn or hotel. I had our complimentary breakfast underneath the trees near the breakfast buffet area and it was so relaxing and laid back. One of the best birthday weekend I have had!!!

Room Tip: Request for a room further away from the main road to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGabrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely experience in Ojai! close to the main street, beautiful pool and jacuzzi, lush greenery, very clean, nicey decorated, beds very comfortable. Best complimentary breakfast in their own breakfast room! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Thank you Blue Iguana

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CulverCityFamily9023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the inn for one night in one of the two-bed rooms near the pool. We were both impressed with the clean, comfortable room & enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. There is a bit of road noise since the location is off the highway before the speed limit is reduced coming into town. However, we did not find this to be a problem in the room & we both slept well. It was warm and the a/c worked great. Breakfast sitting outside under the trees was lovely. Considering the price of things in Ojai, we felt that the inn was a great value and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want to leave windows open, you may want to request a room back from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USC-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The overall stay was the best we have had in months. The room was beautiful, spacious, good bed, and very clean. The neat grounds, and the lounge furniture under the huge oak tree encourage one to just kick back and relax. Being away from downtown Ojai is a plus, if you want town, a five minute drive is easy. We ate at El Guardino Italian in the middle of town, Excellent!!, the food, wine and service was great, had not changed abit from our last visit.
The Inns breakfast was nicely done, lots of selections to start the day. The staff really works at being helpful and pleasent. Love this place. Rex of Lakewood.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool have a great view, easy parking right outside the door with no pool noise to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RexLakewood_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you to Rex, and all our other delightful guests, who have taken the time to write such nice reviews sharing your experiences with our future guests. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stays and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
509 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
187 reviews
3 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $158 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ uniquely decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Many with fireplaces and private patios or courtyards. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Enjoy our outdoor pool & jacuzzi and in-room spa services. Dog friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing