We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wasn't expecting this. Very big "rooms", more like little apartments, with full kitchen, bathroom, living space and large bedroom. 2 TVs, one with DVD player, small hi-fi in the bedroom. Very cozy, too! Perfect stay. Will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    114
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
131
228
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Despite the rain in December, we loved the cosy room we had at the Blue Iguana Inn. Not too big, not too small, this is the perfect place to have a second honeymoon with your spouse. The decor is stunning, and made me wish this was my own home.

Room Tip: Loved the private outdoor patio in room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to discover the Blue Iguana Inn. It's such a charming place, very welcoming and cozy. The rooms are incredibly spacious and well maintained. With the full kitchen you can stay in and cook too if you want. The staff couldn't be nicer either.

Room Tip: The best value for a larger group is the separate Casa Alegre which has two bedrooms and can sleep s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyhowdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed during Christmas and had a very nice time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a lovely patio. Microwave, toaster, coffee maker... perfect little kitchen. In room gas fireplace was cozy. Easy access from hotel to Ojai activities. Nice little place...but don't go to Ojai Club and Inn -- or you'll have hotel envy. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justonetaste203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This b&b is super cute, well-maintained grounds, cute rooms with wood-burning fireplaces...we were in 104 which has a private patio which was very nice as well as a mini-kitchen. The bed linens are good quality and the room was spacious, warm and clean. The art and decor is very unique and charming. The pool is not heated but the hot tub was perfect for the chilly Dec night. The breakfast is more than sufficient - plenty or bagels, pastries (good ones), fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese, cereal, coffee, juice etc etc. More than enough. If you have bikes, there is a great long bike path into town from the Blue Iguana, very peaceful. Suzanne's Cuisine was a great place for a romantic dinner and there are a couple of wine tasting rooms in town which are great - especially Ojai Vineyards tasting room. For $149, we were very satisfied with this b&b/inn and would recommend it.

Room Tip: back of property is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been going to the Blue Iguana about once a year for a decade. It's a charming wonderful spot. Beautiful inside and out, a great get-away from Los Angeles. They've got comfy beds and great showers too. A lovely small yard to throw a ball or sit at the table under a tree and read. They don't heat the outdoor pool in the winter so it's not for the faint of heart, but there's a jacuzzi to relax in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearIlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was my mom's 88 birthday and celebrated in Ojai and stayed at the Blue Iguana Inn. It was FABULOUS! The staff were kind and helpful, and the room was wonderful. The furniture was high quality and the beds incredibly comfortable. The utensils in the kitchen were clean and appeared new. The pool and jacuzi were also wonderful. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing