We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, lots of rules.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, lots of rules.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had a fine stay recently with my wife and our dog....though it wasn't perfect. To be constructive, I will share my concerns. From the minute you check-in there are a lot of rules. The pool closes at 5pm....well before dark. Too bad, nice pool. Quite hours begin at 9:30pm with no exceptions. I am not staying at my grandmothers house. I will watch my noise like a responsible person, but I didn't even venture our on one of our 2 balconies after 9:30pm as I didn't want a knock on the door. Also, our dog could not be left alone at ANY time in our stay or we would be asked to leave. Our dog is 10. Super quite, lays around most of the day. Not destructive. If my dog couldn't behave in a hotel room without me while I took my wife to dinner...then I wouldn't bring my dog. If there was an accident or he mis-behaved that day then that's what my credit card on file is for. Speaking of, they took my credit card for incidentals (normal), but then held an extra $100 on a separate charge just for the dog. Why? Just use the card you've already put on file. Annoying. This place is fine for what it is. We do have options, they should remember that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are very sorry this guest felt we have too many rules associated with our property. I would like to clarify what may have been some misconceptions as to these policies.
First, our swimming pool and hot area are open from 8am until 10pm daily. Our 9:30 "quiet time" is a suggestion to our guests (especially those who come in groups) to please keep excessive noise to a minimum after that time. We certainly do not monitor guest behavior unless excessive noise or disturbances that are bothersome to other guests are created.
It is true, that our pet policies are fairly strict. Unfortunately, this has become necessary because not everyone takes full responsibility for their pet's behavior and we have, in the past, had damage to our rooms and guest disturbances due to pets that were not properly supervised.
We appreciate all of our guests and strive to create a relaxing and pleasant environment for everyone has stays with us, thus we do have a few simple rules in place to help insure everyone has the best stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    115
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
135
231
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent two nights at the Blue Iguana and the stay combined a considerable amount of charm with fine service. The setting is magical with winding lanes and a flower laden fountain. We stayed in suite #1 and other reviews regarding noise were accurate. However, the provided white noise machines did a good job of dealing with the traffic noise problem. The shower worked well, towels were thick and ample and the decor of the rooms was original and comfortable. Service was prompt and invisible. We added a jeep trip to our stay and that too was handled with efficiency. The inn is a bit West of the town of Ojai but we enjoyed being outside the town and a delightful bike/walking path laid out on an old railroad right of way provides a nice flat walk to town if desired. The pool is cool, the hot tub hot and plenty of towels are available at each. The continental breakfast is laid out in a lovely setting to the rear of the property. My husband, adult daughter and I enjoyed the opportunity to reconnect in the lovely Ojai valley

Room Tip: When I stay again I will request a room to the rear if available but the setting provides a lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eupton3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm a family travel writer, but stayed at the Blue Iguana Inn in Ojai for a professional conference called Creative Alliance. It was the perfect setting for this retreat-type get together. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and of course peaceful. The continental breakfast each morning is above par, and the lodging is cozy yet elegant. We stayed in one of the bungalows with full kitchen and private patio. There's also a pool and hot tub (though small) and the inn is in easy distance to downtown Ojai. Could you bring kids here? Yes, and they'd enjoy the room to play on the grounds, but a quiet atmosphere is respected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It doesn't get any better! Beautiful grounds, relaxing rooms with great art, comfortable clean bedding, wonderful lighting, relaxing patios. I never wanted to leave. We spent our 23rd wedding aniversary here and our love just grew even greater. We felt so happy, when we went out to play around in Ojai, we enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Blue Iguana Inn exceeded my expectations in so many ways. Wish I could have spent more than one night, but even one night there is worth going. For the price of only a hotel room elsewhere, we had a one-bedroom suite with full kitchen, beautifully furnished living room, plush bedroom and spa-like bathroom. And their very generous continental breakfast was enough to keep us satisfied 'til dinner. I'll definitely return to the Blue Iguana Inn and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Ojai Valley. I chose this hotel and our room based solely on their website, which I think depicts the accommodations very well. I have nothing but praise for the Blue Iguana Inn and its services.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLL750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This comfortable property is a good destination if you are headed to Ojai. The property is reminiscent of a vintage California mission-style motor court. It is well kept and clean with nice landscaping. The staff is very accommodating. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite - #1 - it is the closest property to the main (two-lane) road going in to Ojai. Although traffic noise is not that big of a problem next time I would request a room at the back of the property. If you want to be able to walk from dinner to your hotel, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property - away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and Is stayed in the Casita del Sol for 5 days because we aren't taking our honeymoon until December and we needed a little TLC time before the holidays. The Blue Iguana exceeded our expectations. The Casita is adorable with a beautiful private backyard and enormous front porch to sit, drink wine, play scrabble or just enjoy the lovely Ojai nights. And the price is MORE than reasonable. We loved every second we were there, found the ladies at the front desk very helpful for suggestions and referrals and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing