We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Iguana, Ojai, CA”
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyutlan, Colima, MX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Iguana, Ojai, CA”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is our second stay at this delightful property. The first stay was in a bungalow at the back, away from the main road into/out of Ojai. This time we stayed in a different spot, closer to the road and the traffic noise was loud and clear in the early mornings. Otherwise, it was a perfect spot. The bungalows are large, comfortable, nicely decorated. The kitchen was fully equipped. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and cared for. If not for the traffic noise you would think you were out in the Spanish or Italian countryside.

Room Tip: Request a room/bungalow at the back of the property. Road noise can get loud in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZekeHuckGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    117
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
148
242
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Not only is the staff excellent, but the grounds are beautiful, fully representative of Ojai's charm and mystique. The rooms and the suites are so charming, rather an updated rustic Spanish feel, and the Whitman Architectural design touch is evident, both within their unique interiors as well as the exterior, lush grounds. I kid you not when I say they transport you to a higher level, spritually and emotionally- you're on vacation, whether you're there for business, pleasure or hiding out. Not just another facet of California's beauty- a totally different hotel. I stay here quite regularly and I've been in so many of the rooms since I stay for business. There is not one mediocre room, or mattress, all rooms are slightly different and have a certain charm to them.

The rooms next to the office are truly exceptional with a view of the pool/jaccuzzi area. The lower is Moroccan, rather.

There is a Gaudi-esque sculptural Iguanna who watches over one! Always a great experience. The sheets are fresh, scented with a delicious cinnamon to me. Or perhaps I imagine it, excited to sleep deeply, soundly. Nice breakfast room with healthy fare. Love it and cannot leave it. MM

Room Tip: The VILLA! Or the back are really quiet. 206 and 205 are HUGE, and well worth the extra few $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I visited the Blue Iguana Inn for Memorial Day weekend and it was the perfect escape from Los Angeles. We brought out dog with us and stayed in a beautiful suite with a private patio. The room was quite spacious and comfortable and our dog loved the patio. We'd definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Southern California is beautiful and the Blue Iguana is the most homey and unique inn/hotel I've ever stayed in. There's nothing like this place back home! We loved it here and I hope we'll be back again someday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I found the Blue Iguana not only charming but very well furnished with all amenities. The place is beautiful with large trees and lovely vegetation and fountains. My room had a sitting room, a bathroom with great lighting, a comfortable queen bed, table and two chairs, two armchairs, a kitchenette, an iPod player, alarm clock and flat screen tv. It also had two balconies, a small one on one side and a larger one where I could see the mountains and had my coffee in the morning. The continental breakfast was complimentary, with fruit, coffee, juice, yogurt, bagels, cream cheese, muffins and hardboiled eggs. It was served in a separate room adjacent to the beautiful garden with the option of sitting inside or at any of the outside tables that line the patio or in the tree shaded garden. My only regret was not having enough time to enjoy the facilities such as the pool, jacuzzi and rooftop patio. You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The perfect place for a great get-away weekend. Charming, quiet and relaxing! Very good expanded continental breakfast... just enough. Our room was amazing and very friendly. Definitely would come back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeL422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Wonderful time at this hidden gem.
Lovely accommodations... like a apartment. We had a full kitchen and a patio and two bedrooms.
Quite a find..
The staff was super helpful and accommodating. I would come back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Property: Blue Iguana Inn
Address: 11794 N Ventura Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing