We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beauty”
Review of Ojai Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ojai Retreat
Ranked #3 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2008

I came to Ojai for a seminar and stayed at The Ojai Retreat. I found it to be one of the best Inns I've ever visited, and fully reflects the beauty of the Ojai Valley. It offers spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, and I was very comfortable and enjoyed amazing views from my room and the outdoor landscaped terrace overlooking the mountains. This place is calming and ideal for retreats and/or time out and away, to relax and regenerate. The breakfast was made of delicious organic fruit, granola, yogurt, baked goods, and a variety of hot drinks and juice (all included!) When I was planning my trip, and after researching a dozen of other places in Ojai I found that, for what it offered and the price point of the different rooms and cottages, the Ojai Retreat offered amazing value. I highly reccommend it.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank lovevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 519 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2008

Ojai is a magical and tranquil destination with the Love of Meher Baba everywhere. Our recently built cabin was very comfortable and the staff is always warm and friendly. The Ojai Retreat is our favorite destination to unwind from the city and go deep within oneself and be ONE.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mbonnlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just back from a 4 week trip through California/Nevada and would like to send this review to all fellow travellers. Ojai retreat was definitely one of the highlights on our trip. Everything just perfect, the tranquility of the place, friendliness of staff, interior of the rooms, we really fell in love with the place.
The lady at the reception (unfortunately I forgot her name, sorry) was extremely helpful with any request we had, e.g. my wife and I are keen golfers and had to organize our golf outings on the local golf courses she helped us with directions, booking the tee times,etc., to use the same words: just perfect. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubist288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This is a very unique facility. Rooms are arranged in buildings with two or three rooms each. Most rooms are large and very comfortable with a nice seating area outside with a great view. Be aware, there are no phones, TV's, or other noise makers, which is part of the charm of the place. The staff is very friendly without being intrusive. I have stayed there twice in the past two months and enjoyed it both times and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RP2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

the ojai retreat center is a wonderful find. the property is lovely, the staff is kind and helpful, the rooms are comfy and private. i first discovered the place several years ago and try to come back every few months or so for a night or two of peace and relaxation. my husband came with me two times ago and did not want to leave. the prices are very reasonable and the location convenient to shops and restaurants.

my only complaint is the fold out couch in bella vista, which is not particularly comfortable as a second bed. otherwise, my visits have all been perfect.

karen k

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leahking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

As the property's name implies it is a getaway retreat. The room and bath accommodations were delightfully fresh, clean and inviting. Perfect for a short or long stay -- we were there 2 nights. Sitting outside in the early evening sipping wine was a delight as we looked out at the beautiful countryside. No phones or TV's in room were a nice change, although they need to extend wireless internet access to all rooms. Breakfast of juices, fruit, granola, breads, bagels, tea and great coffee was a good start each moring. Would have liked some yogurt, but that's being picky. Only complaint was the stark interruption to the peace and quiet when the athletic field at the bottom of the hill erupted in annoying teeny-bopper screaming during soccer practice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

If you want to enjoy a magnificent view, comfortable renovated rooms (we had ´"The" Ojai Suite), the quietness of nature, a relaxing small pond and waterfall, the Ojai Retreat is your place.
No television, no phones, just you and yourself... and your eventual partner(s!).
Not the place to look for rock and action, but a place to enjoy and why not, meditate, and enjoy the programm offered: It is a "retreat", not a "hotel". I kind of like giving my money to places with a purpose which is not only to make a profit: this one is a non-prfit organization.. but very well organized (it ticks like a Swiss watch!)
The place is spotless. A good bed from which we could enjoy the view of the Ojai valley... A nice size terrace, where we fell asleep contemplating the stars...
The Breakfast lounge room has a low volume classical music, and interesting books... the breakfast itself is composed of various items, all organic and some home made, delicious.
We had all of them on the terrace... tables were adorned with sprigs of rosemay, said to be deterrent for potential wasps... a few came by, and left right away!!!
After you have been greeted by very profocient and pleasant Office Staff, be sure to meet with the smiling, discreet and Swiss owner "Ulrich".. this might explain the above ticking of the place!.
He is a good source of information on the Ojai Valley.
Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Villabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
502 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,698 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
0.6 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Address: 160 Besant Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $150 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ojai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing