We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ojai Retreat & Inn
Nearby Hotels
$409
OjaiValleyInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ojai Inn(Ojai)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri(Ojai)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakridge Inn(Oak View)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
456
67
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
67
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roombella vistahomemade granolathe main houseeuropean styleget awayhealthy breakfastranch housebagelsviews of the mountainscity lifemain roompeace and tranquilitygreat roomown private patiothe cottagesperfect getaway
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 534 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I spent three delightful and delicious days at the Ojai Retreat in their lovely Garden Room, which looks out upon a spreading Oak tree, the valley and mountains beyond. The views from the main house are also spectacular. We roamed the five-acre hilltop property enjoying bunnies, birds, flowers, oak and eucalyptus groves. Breakfasts were excellent, boasting organic foods and coffee. This retreat fits well into the spiritual tradition of Ojai, respecting the environment and providing a peace and serenity that comes from the surroundings and the philosophy of those who create the retreat. We found it heavenly, and plan to return many times.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the Garden Room, but must say that even though it was very close to the main house, it was quiet and peaceful. I doubt there's a poor choice available.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Absolutely love the setting, homey rooms, amazing breakfast. Clare, the receptionist, adds to the glorious welcome. As an author, I find myself escaping the LA hype often to re-group at the Ojai Retreat. I've been 4 times. I'm booked in again in October to use the facility for a book signing event.

Room Tip: I've stayed in two different rooms and they were both great - the oak room detached from the main house and Topa Topa in the house.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were fortunate to spend two nights in the Sky Suite at Ojai Retreat. What a great experience! The suite had all that one could have asked for, lots of space, a kitchenette and views to die for! The Retreat is quiet and laid back with most of the lodges havings their private space. We were spoilt at the self-service breakfast which had such a great choice of cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, home-made bread etc. and delicious orange, banana and strawberry juice. After doing a lot of touring it was perfect to relax at the Retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank way2go07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Ojai Retreat several times. It's been a wonderful experience every time. The rooms are quaint and quiet. The grounds are charming and peaceful with a beautiful view from the main building patio. If you like enjoying nature in a tranquil setting, you'll love this place. The employees are always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is is great. I recommend the yoga classes that they offer throughout the week. Every time we leave the Ojai Retreat my husband and I feel relaxed and rejuvenated. Only regret is that we haven't been able to stay for a longer period of time. Check it out. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We traveled to Ojai last week during a sweltering end of summer getaway. We stayed at the charming Ojai Retreat, an affordable European-style compound of twelve renovated guestrooms perched high on a hill with fabulous views overlooking the valley. Our room came with a great air conditioner that made for wonderful sleeping. The room was located in a separate cottage on the property and it had a cozy private patio. The room (with microwave and small refrigerator) and bath were very clean, well lit, comfortable, accessible, safe and conveniently located to the main house which holds a library and breakfast space (included in price). There is a wonderful outdoor common area with tables and chairs for dining and enjoying the views. Interesting programs and presentations are scheduled in the evening, at a minimal charge or by donation. We attended two presentations, inspirational in focus, and felt them to be quite worthwhile. We were also impressed with the well maintained grounds with its walking paths and numerous sitting areas designed for those who wish to sit and contemplate the beauty of nature. We received 5-star hospitality and will make Ojai Retreat our go-to place when we visit again.

Room Tip: Two of the four rooms in main house are upstairs and have a shared bath. Rooms in cottages have private outdoor sitting spaces with views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews