We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hummingbird Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Overall this was a nice quiet place. It is located just outside of Ojai and the parking lot was big enough for our motorcycle trailer. We stayed in a bungalow with two comfortable queen sized beds. The rooms were roomy with nice hardwood floors, a glass bowl sink, a stylish dresser and desk, leather padded headboards, a large tv, a nice face, working ac/heat, a small refrigerator, safebox, and a microwave. The lights were on timers to save energ, the toiletries were recycled and supported the honeybees! There was also wine sparkling water and glasses in the room for $20, candy and chips for $3. The bathroom was nice... though the shower did seem less moderen compared to the rest of the room. Breakfast bar consisted of poptarts and apple juice and there was no laundry facilities. The house keeping provided fresh towels and made the beds. The hot tub and pool was also nice. Overall a nice little place. I would deffinatly return. =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnybuns71595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    41
    19
    31
See reviews for
35
86
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a perfect getaway for my husband and myself, this was our first visit to this cute and cozy inn. I purchased a night through Groupon which included a bottle of wine and some olive oil, yum!! The room was very clean and comforting and the girl that was there when we checked in was an absolute sweetie, we had no reception on our cell phones and we needed to call to check on our toddler w/her babysitter, well the clerk offered hers and we we're so amazed because honestly who does this but a good samaritan. Overall, we will definetly stay here again, plus they offer a very tasteful breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Really good value for this sweet little motor inn. Nicely appointed, quality bathe products, complimentary wine, happy good morning breakfast room with good coffee, real cream, waffle maker and fresh oranges for one to juice.
And I loved the morning sun streaming in over the east facing patio!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Okay, for all of you previous reviewers who complained about the towels, you can relax, they have brand new ones. This hotel is an amazing little gem, close to shopping/restaurants and local attractions, which was made better by a great deal with Groupon! We took advantage of a wine/olive oil deal, and it was beyond our expectations. Our king room was lovely, with a cottage-like "shabby chic" feel to it, and soothing neutral colors. The laminate floors and plantation shutters on the sliding door to the patio made the room very light and feel spacious, and the bar area with built-in microwave/refrigerator/safe was a great amenity. Aside from the dated bathtub/shower fixtures, our room was very nicely remodeled, and very comfy. We loved that it was dog-friendly (with fee). The pool isn't heated, but the jacuzzi was perfect after a day of sightseeing in Ojai. The complimentary light breakfast was also a very nice amenity, with a good selection of items to choose. Everything about this hotel suited our traveling needs, and we definately plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Hummingbird four times already, and will keep coming back. Great value for money. The rooms are spacious, clean, beautiful and comfortable. Bed is very comfortable. Shower/bath is not very modern, but the water pressure is strong for a great shower.Breakfast is simple, self-service, includes, coffee/tea, cereal, oranges, orange juice, bagels and waffles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception. Ground floor rooms are more luminous (as they have floor to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitamenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I chose Ojai and The Hummingbird Inn for a two night midweek getaway because of a special rate offer, and we were generally satisfied with our choice. Our room was cute & comfortable for the price we paid, but I would have wanted more amenities and luxury if we'd paid anymore. Light "wood" (laminate) floors and painted white headboard and bedding gave our King room an airy, modern, country feel. The bed was extremely comfy, and the bathroom was fine. We also had a patio, but we didn't use it due to rain. A couple of minor issues were that the floor squeeked when you walked across it (as if it hadn't been installed quite right), and the A/C-heat unit was so noisy when it cycled on and off that we finally got up and shut it off. The girls at the front desk were extremely nice and helpful, but the included breakfast wasn't that great -- mostly wheat products, which I don't eat, and neither my husband nor I liked the coffee. The one exception was the fresh, squeeze-it-yourself orange juice, which was absolutely delicious, and the retro-style lobby area they serve breakfast in is cute and bright. We used the spa one night, and that was nice and clean & hot. All in all, a cute and clean little place if you aren't looking for much more than that.

Room Tip: Not sure if all their rooms have been remodelled. I'd be sure to ask about that if I stayed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skistopalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's the small things that make a big difference sometimes, and this hotel delivers. From the clean spacious room, to the complimentary wine and chocolate, to the friendly staff, this hotel was a pleasure to stay at. Great location, nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 125travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
3.1 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Inn

Property: Hummingbird Inn
Address: 1208 E. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation and enjoyment is key to our remodeled spacious grounds and lawns. The pool and lounging area are completely enclosed for your safety and privacy. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning, and our tea and coffee each afternoon and evening. Relax & enjoy the beauty of Ojai. Enjoy our comfortable table sets around the property. We are only blocks from downtown Ojai and steps away from the Ojai Soule Park Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing