We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good, not great, for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Fresh Seafood

Sea Fresh Seafood
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ojai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, not great, for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Entres a bit pricey for small town food, but the quality is generally good, with very nicely remodeled ambiance...and where else can you watch a mexican guy make your sushi?!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank weimdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    57
    19
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Heard of this restaurant from other travelers passing through Ojai, who highly recommended it. We weren't disappointed, and neither was our little dog, who didn't have to stay in the car while we feasted on deliciously prepared trout and clam chowder! Both the food and service were excellent, and the heated patio is lovely, and very comfortable, for dining with your best 4-legged friend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bb8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food. Nice outdoor dining venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I have wanted to try this place for a while and finally had s chance to try it the other day.

The food was really good. Smoked fish bruschetta, octopus salad, sushi

Everything was really flovorful, fresh, and well presented.

The service was just ok, but it could have been an off day. We went at lunch time

I will definitely be back again. I noticed that they have a great happy hour food menu which unfortunately I missed by 20 minutes

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Like2dineout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm 42 years old and I've been to a lot of restaurants. This was by far the worst service that I have ever had in my entire life. Sometimes my wife will say to not leave a tip because of bad service, but I usually feel guilty and leave at least leave 5%. This was the first time that I felt justified in leaving nothing. The hostess/owner was rude from the start. Nobody brought us water or took our drink order for 15 minutes. We ordered appetizers and they never arrived. We ordered bread just to keep us going and it never arrived. When our food did finally come it was all wrong. Our bill was completely wrong. A bad experience all around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeg19035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another visit.... Still pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Second visit within a few months.... Food good; but a bit disappointed with presentation. One of my shrimp a
had a major part of his coating gone.
BIG PLUS for the bartender, after hearing that she didn't have my favorite desert beverage... Was, for getting it in.... And for recognizing me when I came back several weeks later!
IF you want to establish yourself as a "regular" someplace... This should be it.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Desertrose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing