We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A pleasant evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranch House

Ranch House
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Besant Rd
Transit: Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.
Description: The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Used a Groupon for a nice dinner; sat outside on a cold night but the heaters were going full blast and it was really quite pleasant. Had wonderful scallops a nice Bonnie Doone wine, and a yummy dessert (New Orleans Delight). Scallops came with 3 veggies (squash, potatoes and broccoli. Good service although did seem a little disorganized. I will dine here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KLD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    46
    43
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the 3 digits bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, the setting is incomparable. You will not find it anywhere else, maybe close at the Ojai Valley Inn, but here is really really nice. But the food was never to our expectation and the bill was always to our wallet strangulation....Once in a blue moon we find a place that is well worth a 3 digit bill, where we will be happy going back on a special occasion. Not here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BohemiaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the 3 digits bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, the setting is incomparable. You will not find it anywhere else, maybe close at the Ojai Valley Inn, but here is really really nice. But the food was never to our expectation and the bill was always to our wallet strangulation....Once in a blue moon we find a place that is well worth a 3 digit bill, where we will be happy going back on a special occasion. Not here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BohemiaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went here just to check it out, because we heard it was a nice restaurant. Wow, so beautiful. There are hidden places amongst the bamboo that you can eat at. There's a bridge and fish ponds. Such a fun romantic place!! There are little white lights and waterfalls everywhere. The prices are on the high side, but so worth it. You're paying for atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were so looking forward on dinning here but unfortunately we did not have a good experience. The patio is absolutely beautiful, my steak was horrible and my friends salmon smelled of fish when they placed it on the table. The inside entry and dinning area really needs updating, the only good thing about ths place was the patio. We complained about our food, and even though we both only took a bite or two from our dishes and they took the dishes back without asking if we wanted anything else. We loved our salad and the crab cakes but were disappointed when they still charged us half price for our bad uneaten meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugarplumskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranch House also viewed

 

Been to Ranch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing