We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Bite was Simply Delicious!”
Review of The Oak Kitchen

The Oak Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oak Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 96 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 150 (Ojai Avenue)
Description: The Oak offers a daily breakfast, lunch and dinner experience featuring locally sourced products, many of which come from our resort herb garden. Al fresco dining under the vine-covered pergola offers dramatic views overlooking 200-year-old Oak trees, golf course and sweeping mountain vistas. Nightly specials. Saturday Breakfast Buffet | Saturday 8:00AM - 1:00PM | $29 includes made-to-order omelets, fresh fruit and breakfast classics; kids 12 and under $10.00 Bluegrass Brunch Buffet | Sunday 9:30AM - 2:00PM | $49 includes carving station, raw bar, market salads, chocolate fountain bottomless champagne and more; kids 12 and under $14.50
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Every Bite was Simply Delicious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were joined by friends for a mid-week dinner out on the Oak Grill under the majestic Old Oaks. Our party ordered the pork shank, raviolis, grilled halibut with ceasar and heirloom tomato salads and EVERY bite was simply delicious! Each plate was prepared for presentation and did not disappoint. There folks from all walks of life, kids and older just enjoying the beauty that is Ojai. The dining experience at the Oak Grill is a treat and the service is some the best I have ever been treated to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Meals”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great dinner and a fabulous breakfast at the Grill. We really loved dining under the beautiful oaks and the bougainvillaea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I really love to eat lunch and indulge in a glass of wine on the lovely patio of the Oak Grill. The lunch menu is just right, and sitting on the tile patio and looking out at the mountains, giant trees, and golf course is a wonderful treat. I also like to eat breakfast there, when it's warm, but I only like to eat breakfast at hotels when it's included, as otherwise, it always seems expensive to me. This holds true in my book for all hotel breakfasts, so it's not a knock against the Ojai Valley Inn.

Dinner can be equally delightful at the Oak Grill, especially on a warm night. Again, the setting is spectacular. The offerings seem a bit limited on the dinner menu. They have all the categories (pasta, salad, fish, red meat, etc.), but generally just one option within each category. I had the scallops most recently, and they were delicious. However, my husband wanted steak, and the offering of steak was just o.k. We also wanted to have an appetizer that we saw on the menu in the adjacent bar. We were surprised when our server said he'd have to check to see if we could have that in the Oak Grill. Of course, we were able to, but that attitude of reticence permeated the whole evening. I think that all their servers could use some more sophisticated training.
A bonus for families: young children can putt on the putting green while waiting for their meal. When our children were young, we loved eating at Oak Grill for this feature alone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2goldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
770 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend afternoon”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location and service couldn't be better. Started with a few drinks at the pub, overlooking the golf course, and moved over to the grill for a wonderful dinner on the patio. The service was wonderful, and the pasta dishes couldn't be beat. It was all so relaxing, can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studio city
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really nice setting with great service!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant is next to a putting green. With giant oak trees and green grass, you feel like you are in a park.

We had lunch here. We had Reuben sandwich and three different salads. Food was very good and the service was excellent. The staff was helpful and even bring you water when you are done eating and the check is paid!

We had a late lunch so by the time we finished, only two tables were occupied and they were cleaning up the rest of the tables. But, they told us to take our time and came over to see if we need anything.

This place is worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fruitbowl_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing