We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Capri is such a cute hotel.
I slept so well, and the room was comfortable to be in. The green colored walls and beautiful hardwood floors just gave it a great modern touch. While some of the extras in the room, were classics that I haven't seen since I was a child A record player & VCR ...there was also a dvd player. The hotel lobby had VCR and DVD movies that you could borrow for the duration of your stay. The white leather Chase lounge was comfy for watching tv.
The grounds right outside my patio room, were so beautifully green, and the huge Buddha statue was calming.
I missed the opportunity to check out the heated pool, but I will back in February.... will definitely enjoy it then. I can not wait to return to this fun hotel.
The Manager Christopher was so cute and nice and was knowledgable about the area.
He gave me drink vouchers to their restaurant the Deer Lodge, which has the best food ever!!

Room Tip: the patio rooms are pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    57
    31
    39
See reviews for
86
161
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a great stay last night at the Capri in Ojai. It reminded me of the Parker in Palm Springs. Very well done period decor. Friendly, helpful service.

I highly recommend it for someone staying in Ojai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClayDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were just looking for a quick little getaway for the night and we were so pleasantly surprised.
The hotel itself was like a little Palm Springs type oasis. We were there in the winter but got lucky with warm weather so we could enjoy sitting in the pool area to relax.
By far the best part is the attention to detail and the friendliness of the manager (Christopher) He made the stay so much more memorable and enjoyable!
I have already recommended the hotel and Christopher to two friends and we have only been home for one day. We will definitely go back!
Also go to the owners restaurant "The Deer Lodge"

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Jacuzzi room which we enjoyed but it did not have a balcony or patio. The patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 259KimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Overnighted in Ojai here, and found the place through Tripadvisor. The manager Christopher is super nice and gave us a free upgrade and restaurant voucher when we tried to redeem a Yelp special and he couldn't do it because we already booked through a website. If you like more of a modern/hipster vibe to your hotels this is the place to stay. Think of a lower budget Ace in Palm Springs or the Hollywood Standard in terms of decoration and detail. If you're more sensitive to noise I would recommend staying on the top level as you will hear people stomping around above you if you are on the ground level. Price to value ratio is excellent, I definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEYHEY661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
706 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The skinny:

Parking: plenty of spaces
Decor: retro
Service: friendly
Pool: not heated
Hot tub: broken when we went
Bed: comfy
Bonus: dvds you can borrow, doggies welcome

We came here for one night just to get out of LA. The room is spacious and the bed is comfy. It's not that updated but for one night it was sufficient. The bathroom is kinda small but the water pressure was good and the temp was hot. Unfortunately the pool was not heated and the hot tub was broken but the hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants so that's what we did!
There is a continental breakfast available in the front lounge which is a nice little spot to hang out in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean. I like the mid-century theme. The decor is very sleek. Rooms are spacious. Bed is excellent. The management was also very accommodating when we had to cancel at the last minute because my husband fell and broke his rib.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I shopped for clean, convenient and 2 queens --cheap! The hotel far surpassed our expectations. It was a boutique experience at a motel-chain price. The working turntable and classic records made our room a sanctuary. I am not a fan of mid-century, but this place rocks. Hip and warm and fun. Loved it!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing