We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A Litte Old A Little Shabby Retro Fun?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
260 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A Litte Old A Little Shabby Retro Fun?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First I must admit I am jaded and already mad at this place. I bought a hotel deal on Living Social which included a bottle of wine upon arrival; however, when I checked in they would not honor the promotion. (Although it was paid for ahead of time. Deceptive advertising?) They did have a nice bottle of wine set up in the room for a cost of $35.00. That was a bit fishy to me. They offered us two coupons for a "glass" of wine at another restaurant facility miles away. Odd. The place is definitely dated with the cute "retro" touches nice but they don't pay attention to details. The bathroom shower curtain had a nickel size make-up stain (room 107) and the tile on the floor of the shower needed a good chlorine scrub as it was not clean. The vanity area was cute but who knew that the metal lunchbox had washcloths in it? Maybe a sign would be helpful. The fridge and microwave were handy. They do include a vcr, and record player (yes a usable one) so if you are inclined to bring a few records, you're in luck. The room is painted lime green and has some little decoration touches I found amusing. (Check out the odd shaped pillow that look like hotdog rolls tied with twine.) The one added plus that changed this room from poor to average was the private little fenced in deck with had for our dog. It had a nice lounger, three chairs and a table looking out to the yard in the back. It was nice and convenient for our dog. All and all, don't pay over a hundred for this hotel and make sure they include all the extra's promised in the fine print. Would I go to this hotel again. NO WAY!

Room Tip: If you travel with a dog choose room 107 or 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calitripgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    122
    51
    27
    39
See reviews for
81
153
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

There's a nice relaxed feel here at the Capri. The lobby is mini Palm Springs cool, and the pool area stylishly atmospheric with curtained cabana lounges and lots of palm trees. Our room was small and clean, with bright lime walls and fun touches like a little metal lunchbox for the toiletries. Nice to have a mini fridge, but reeeeally nice to have a patio. Room 109 is a double queen with a flagstone patio which opens out to a really large fenced in green space that was heaven for my little dog. They're really dog friendly here.
Although the patio gate had a latch, we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the room's sliding door open, so we locked up and used the AC. I don't like sleeping with AC anywhere, and this old fashioned wall mount was hard to regulate, I alternated between feeling too hot or too cold a lot of the night. Also the walls are thin, we shared an adjoining door with the room next door and when they started having really loud sex, it was like we were right there in bed with them. Imitating them was a really great way to get them to quiet down. Just a little friendly call and response action.
This is a re-done motel, not a fancy hotel. I agree they could have done a more meticulous job in redoing things, paint detail, finish work, new windows, etc...But we had a nice stay. I dealt with Christopher on the phone and in person, he's not warm and fuzzy, but he's to the point and helpful.
The Capri was fun and different for Ojai. Plus it has the most awesome sign out front!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came up to Ojai with a reservation to stay at the Capri not knowing what we would find. What we found was a gem of a hotel--------- beautiful ,peaceful, great people!!! Coming from New York this was so needed!!! We fell in love with Ojai and the Capri Hotel!!! We shall be back!!!❤

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Looks like an old two story motel but upgraded with all the right touches to provide a great experience for one night or several. Fresh rooms and a nice poll area plus friendly and helpful staff. The little garden with the Buddha was a nice touch. Breakfast was a little on the lean side...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sengstromtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Capri motel has that fun "retro" vibe like the funky Palm Springs hotels! Front desk guy is interesting...as long as you don't expect ritz Carlton service at rock bottom prices you will enjoy this fun festive place! Lobby has tons of movies to choose from and rooms have cool record player/cd/stereo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeropete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a Sunday night with my wife here for our anniversary, which she purchased with a Groupon. She loved the modern decor and funky flavor of the place and had wanted to stay here for a while. Pros: We found the rooms to be tasteful, tidy and pleasant. King size bed was nice & comfy. Everything looked pretty fresh and new—nice, considering that the place celebrates its retro roots. The location is conveniently just outside of Ojai's downtown, and we took a nice evening walk there after dinner. Cons--Christopher at the front desk seemed downright annoyed that we were even there. Not sure why, especially since the place seemed empty. We looked forward to using our Groupon voucher for two glasses of wine...until we learned that the hotel's restaurant, the Deer Lodge, was over 3 miles away...guess we should have read the fine print. The WiFi was useless--the signal was either too low or the password didn't work from three different routers. Bathroom lights were controlled by motion sensors that shut off the lights 15 seconds after you got in the shower, leaving you in the dark. (I appreciate the attempt to save energy, but would make far more sense to replace those halogen bulbs with CFLs or LEDs.) And as a vegetarian, I was disappointed to find that all the hotel's soaps & shampoos contained honey (named ironically 'Bee Kind').

All of these little annoyances were not enough to make our trip unpleasant, but I wouldn't come back, especially at the normal rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caprihotel, Manager at The Capri, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
If you would have looked closer to "Bee Kind" Product you would see not made from Bees but a % of the Money of buying this product goes to Save The Bees :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I went for two nights recently. Overall, we were really happy. The decor is funky and fun, the pool area is great and we loved our back porch. With a couple of adjustments, this place could be really great. Specifically, the room gets really hot and the swamp cooler takes a long time to cool it down. Also, 3 of the 6 lights in our room were burned out, which didn't really matter. Finally, the mattress was a little hard, so I didn't sleep great the first night. I adapted by the second night though!

Overall a nice place, we'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colliejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing