We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Comfort & Cuteness in Ojai”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Comfort & Cuteness in Ojai”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I found the Capri by chance when I needed to stay in Ojai overnight at the last minute and found this adorable place. The Capri is a small renovated motor inn that's been done over in a minimalist, hip contemporary style, granted with a lot of Ikea but still fresh and cute. it's super reasonable and basic but has (almost) everything you need for a comfortable stay.....clean rooms with cable, small fridge and a new cool line of cruelty-free bath products, coffee in the morning in the lobby and a pretty pool area and a lush green lawn. Plus alot of the rooms have a balcony or patio. The only things missing were a more comfortable bed and bathtubs. I happened to visit during a time they were having trees cut down and it was a little loud for the whole day, there was no notice so it might have been nice to forewarn guests or offer wine at the pool to help ignore the constant chainsaw noise. I could see how Christopher who's the office manager might come across as a bit moody but he he was really great and super helpful, going out of his way to make a room transition easy even when I returned from the hotel 2-3 hrs later than expected. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeagleBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    57
    31
    39
See reviews for
86
161
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at some very nice hotels but this one stole my heart. Its small but has everything I need since I travel light. The pool area was so relaxing and beautiful. I especially enjoyed the Cabanas when I wanted to take a short nap. There are no poolside services but I am certainly capable of bringing a small ice chest with everything I need. There is an adorable market right down the street which you can get anything you might want for a small getaway.
The water is not heated but the warm weather in Ojai makes the natural temperature perfect and refreshing.
The rooms are simple but spacious and have patios or balconys. The type of guests who stay here are friendly and not pretentious which makes you feel like you are welcome.
I am definitely heading back here soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The pool was wonderful! There's a nice lawn courtyard, fire pit & lounge chairs. If you're looking for a nice place to sun bathe and float the Capri is great. They offer bikes for guest use & offer a breakfast of coffe & packaged danish. Rooms are bright and clean but not fabulous. Overall town is quiet, with many great restaurants.

Room Tip: All lower level rooms have a pool side patio, but not all patios have access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The lady here is nice, otherwise I would have given the service a one star. The youngish hippy guy at the front desk was not so nice. The bathroom lights (all the lights) are on a timer. We did not know this and when my daughter was taking a shower at night, the light went out on her. She fell and bumped her head and fell again trying to feel her way out. She wasn't seriously hurt but could have been. When I told the guy (Is his name Christopher? I'm guessing it is by the other reviewers similar complaints), he merely said that's just the way it is and the same thing happens to him (perhaps, maybe one too many times). No concern, no apology, just a get lost look, which is his permanent expression.

Also, the website says they have in-room coffee makers. They don't. There is this redundant water pitcher heater (redundant because there is a microwave below it that can do the same thing faster). If I know in advance my room does not have a coffee maker, I bring my own. But alas, I was falsely advertized this feature and was even more disappointed when I found out the lobby doesn't open until 8am. We had places to be and couldn't wait. Some people (me) cannot function without coffee. I cannot drive or even talk. I had to get my husband to drive into town for expensive coffee on both mornings. I found that to be an unnecessary inconvenience. Christopher acted inconvenienced that I even brought it up.

The free breakfast is basics like yogurt, cereal, bread. The orange juice was in a carton and had expired two months prior. This concerned me since the milk was in a machine and there was no telling how old it was.

On a good note, the hotel is pretty and beautifully decorated with a nice pool and a park-like setting. I'm disappointed that the location is ideal, the rooms roomy, and the cat (Nicco) sweet and I will never get to see them again (unless I hear Christoper has left).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ojai hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our First Visit in May 2013 .... Lovely 3 night stay, nice food, very warm and friendly welcome made it more of special happy experience, with great prices, clean and comfortable room, Perfect Area situated by the sea and near Local Attractions. Highly Recommended and definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Seemingly retro, cool vibe turned into nightmare upon encountering manager named Christopher and sidekick Deseree. Managager threatened to call the police on me (screaming in my face) when I asked him why HE was 20 minutes late opening the lobby in the morning for coffee. The police? In Ojai? In hindsite, I wish he had called the police. It might've brought my overall experience and this review to some sort of honest and revealing closure. Physically charming but somehow emotionally abstract property seems to be attributed to this erratic behaving man and the the most apathetic desk girl person I have ever encountered. As for the room, it was bizarre, decorated in garage sale like large pieces of...lawn furniture? Bowls of old school candy for snacks. Limited towels, soap, etc. It was as if the help was on vacation or unsupervised. In fact, the whole place feels unsupervised. Like the staff's parents own it or something and they're on vacation too. I left shortly after being screamed at, got away physically unharmed with all my belongings, and was charged $145 to my credit card. Believe me this hotel, even with a nice staff, would be worth about $35 tops per night. Just a really, really weird experience, like no other I've ever had in all my travels. Forever memorable and very difficult to shake off. I would definitely go to any other Ojai inn, or enter this one at your own risk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I went up for a relaxing weekend, and it was just that and more. The rooms are great, the pool clean & refreshing. I even brought my dog along, who loved the zen garden to roam around in. I would definitely go back again soon!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, I'd advise on the bottom floor room w/ a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing