We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fab!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

So much fun! A step back in time, but newly and tastefully done. We expected Frank Sinatra to walk around the corner. Really a fun and very comfortable place to stay. Love the pool And cabanas, stay here you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: 105 was great! You walked out of your,fenced in area to the pool! Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotoborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    123
    52
    27
    39
See reviews for
82
154
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The attention to details at this Hotel make all the difference. The restoration of this 1960's hotel is beautiful. The colored lights outside, the soft colors on the interior walls, the sleek look of the furniture make this hotel very visually appealing. The continential breakfast was better than I expected, with make your own waffles and interesting teas. My Husband and I brought our dog since the hotel is pet friendly. This was the first time we traveled with our dog. The room was great for the 3 of us since it had a large fenced in patio. With all the pluses the only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars is the noise from the room next door. We could hear them clearly, and they were not talking loudly.
Ojai is a great get away from LA, I would definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I found this hotel from a groupon ad and while we didn't use the groupon, we changed directions and headed to Ojai. When we pulled in I was a little worried and apologized to my husband...but we walked in the lobby and instantly liked it. The rooms have been remodeled from the motel look, and are large, comfortable, hip and zen like, great furniture, books to read, quirky movies on loan and we had a private patio on the ground floor that opened up to a grassy lawn. There is a swimming pool with nice lounge chairs. Disappointed that the spa didn't have hot water for a soak after our hike though.

PET friendly...we didn't travel with our dog this time, but nice to know we have this available if we come back with him. We planned to stay one night and extended it to two. The front desk recommended some great restaurants and spa, and the spa gave us a discount when I mentioned that he referred us there.

This is not a luxury hotel that some people want in Ojai but we really liked it.

Room Tip: Ask for a private patio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skielyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was expecting the Capri to be different after reading other reviews. I wasn't disappointed. Reception was an experience - white leather sofas and large fireplace - possibly deserving of more grandiose hotels. Service was casual but good. The room though, was excellent. WHen you pick up the keys, you are told to drive around the side to your door. Your heart sinks because what you find looks like the ouside of a motel. But the room is fab. Bright, clean, lots of space. A fridge, a microwave, a good shower room, and an enormous comfortable bed. French windows to a private pation with a gate to the garden and pool. This was a ground floor room, the first floor have balconies. After a great night's sleep, the continental breakfast brought me down to earth again, but I would recommend the Capri for any who want comfort and quiet .

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiniKervene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Three of my college buds and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at The Capri in Ojai. From the moment we stepped foot into the lobby/hang out/buffet breakfast room, we knew we were in for something refreshingly different. The creative, unassuming decor was funky and fun. We were warmly greeted and given restaurant tips, shopping insights, and hiking trail recommendations from adorable Desiree. With keys in hand, we were pleasantly surprised with the simple, yet creative room designs. Bright greens and white laminated furniture were efficiently laid out, and included a sizable flat screen TV, and an assortment of VHS tapes, or DVDs to enjoy, with dozens more to borrow from the lobby. Wine glasses, an opener, and a small refrigerator were also included in the details. As for the beds, all 4 of us were quite happy with them. Our air conditioner units in our 2 rooms worked efficiently, with the expected amount of output volume. A plus for us was the convenient location of The Capri- totally within walking distance of downtown shopping, dining, art galleries, or book browsing. We didn't use the pool, but were quite happy with the jacuzzi. So, if you are game for something a little different, and are not too stodgy, the Capri is for you!!

Room Tip: You had better check to see if there is an elevator.... We didn't see one. Book early. Ojai is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overworkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights at this great hotel. The moment we walked into the lobby we knew we'd love it there. The new age / 60's feel to the lobby & room was refreshing. The grounds were beautiful as was the pool area. Christopher & the other sweet women at the front desk were helpful & made us feel right at home !

We loved playing with Nico the little kitty. The room was spacious & welcoming. I loved the cool lights at night in inviting colors. All of the other guests we met loved the place as well. The breakfast bar was great, lots of neat choices & good coffee & teas.

The bed was very comfortable & we loved our closed in patio at the back of our downstairs room. We'll be returning in the future !

Room Tip: We loved our room with the outdoor closed in private patio !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Obviously, this hotel has been updated; very nicely I must say but still has a few "sins" remaining from the original design/layout.

First, the walls are not very sound proof as we were able to hear the rooms on either side fairly clearly. Fortunately, they were not noisy people.

Second, the toilet shares the same room as the shower, a nice size room but the front of the toilet is very close to the wall where you almost have to step over the toilet to use it. Makes for a tight “fit” sitting down but doable.

Third, there was only one night table lamp.

Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

All said, I would recommend The Capri as a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing