We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet weekend in Ojai.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet weekend in Ojai.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just on the edge of downtown, you don't hear the traffic caused by motorists and cyclists (motor) touring through the downtown area. Also very shaded. Spacious, clean rooms and a great place for family members to gather, a geat time was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Calhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    127
    55
    30
    39
See reviews for
86
157
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a wonderful couple of days, Really great people, nice rooms with a view of the mountains! Perfect little getaway for us!! We will be back!!... Great pool, spa, and Grass Area, animals playing, with a beautiful View! Can't beat this for the cost!

Also had a great treatment, in the spa! Great price, my wife and I loved it... best in the valley for your dollar...

Thanks see you soon.

Room Tip: 203 had a perfect view of the pool but not to close and the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Capri is a sweetly restored mid century motel that strives to be a boutique property. It misses its mark, though. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the setting and grounds are stunning. But the service is deplorable. "Not my problem" appears to be the mantra here. Wifi not working? Not my problem. No towels at the pool? Not my problem? Checking in at 2:30, the tattooed hipster at the front desk practically barked accusingly that "check in was not until 3." As if we had arrived hours early.I dealt with three different staff members: 2 downright rude, 1 simply indifferent.

The staff is surly and clueless and so very young. I stay at a good number of boutique hotels, where the staff tends toward young and hip, but there is semblance of courtesy. Not here. It seems as though the adults in charge have left the keys to the kids.
A shame. Otherwise the Capri would've been a real find. But this kind of attitude? From people who live in Ojai? Come on!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gayley1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an average-quality motel (not hotel) but newly remodeled so clean. There is a nice pool, jacuzzi and reception area for lounging. Continental breakfast and wireless internet included. There is wall-unit air-conditioning, so noisy! I would stay here again but not for the amenities, just for the lower price in this pricey community and for it's cleanliness. Balconies are small. Patios are much bigger and fenced well for privacy.

Room Tip: Balconies and patios face west so the balcony rooms in the back get hot in the afternoon sun (rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I went to Ojai for our 8th anniversary. We weren't sure what to expect. We loved it. The hotel rooms and grounds were lovely and very well maintained. Christopher was very welcoming and helpful giving us tips on restaurants and things to do in the area. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My best was celebrating her wedding in Ojai, so we decided to stay at the Capri. This was by far the best stay I've had in a while. The staff was friendly, the pool was great, and the patio was very charming. Although the atmosphere seems to be very retro-chic, they were very family-friendly and playful with my boys. Would most def. stay there again and recommend it to others!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My best girlfriend of 48 years and I stayed at this charming hotel in Ojai to celebrate her 60th birthday. We were so pleasantly surprised at the charm of the hotel. IT is fresh and clean and has a great pool. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed a nice flat screen TV and bottle of wine on arrival. WE walked to a restaurant for dinner and had a nice continental breakfast when we left. Will go back soon.

Room Tip: We preferred the first level with nice enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyb295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
12.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing