We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for the price”
Review of The Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capri
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place for the price”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Loved the pool, garden, room, proximity to town. Chris at the front desk was very helpful. I plan to come back often

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeweeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    57
    31
    39
See reviews for
86
161
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got a deal for the Capri on Living Social and thought it would be a perfect weekend getaway for our family and another family that we like to travel with. It was about a 2 hour drive from Orange County. The drive from Ventura to Ojai was scenic and the town of Ojai itself was a quaint, artist town that reminded me of Laguna.

The hotel itself was deceiving. From the outside it looked like an old motel, but once you stepped into the lobby you felt like you were in a modern hotel with a lot of retro 50's decor. The artwork in the hotel seemed eerily familiar and when talking to the hotel manager he told me that all the artwork was done by the singer and guitarist of one of my favorite bands, Love and Rockets.

The room itself was really nice. It looked recently remodeled. It had a large, flatscreen TV, DVD player, clock radio with a dock for your iPod Touch or iPhone. The one thing I thought was odd was that they had big, flatscreen HDTV's, but the reception was in standard definition.

There is a nice courtyard with a large lawn big enough to play frisbee or other outdoor activities.The pool area looked like it was recently remodeled with two cabanas, a hot tub, a small kiddie pool and a regular pool. Neither of the pools were heated, but the hot tub was, but it did not have bubbles.

The breakfast that was set up was fantastic. There was a selection of bakery items from local bakeries, cereals for the kids, waffles, fruit, etc. Plenty of food to fill you up and get you ready for your day.

I will definitely come back and stay here next time I'm in Ojai. My only complaints are that the pools are not heated and that the TV's are in SD instead of HD. Other than that, I highly recommend staying here. For the price, you get a lot more than you paid for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

In spite of the few inconveniences (e.g., no soap at sink, no foam cups in room for coffee, lack of tissues in bath area), we really DID enjoy ourselves at The Capri. We were gone sightseeing most of the day, but the times we had at our room & lobby (for limited breakfast) was most enjoyable -- thanks to Christopher, who made our visit pleasant. Town is delightful for a small one. He facilitated the registration process in spite of the few problems on my part where I had to phone a family member to gain the proper i-d. Beds were terrific.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a small, hotel that seems to have recently modernized their rooms (retro-modern). The pool area is great with BBQ for guests to use, Kids pool next to regular pool and spa.

Family friendly and couple friendly alike. The majestic views of the Topa Topa's from the cool lobby where they have huge Apple computer for guests usage and nice continental breakfast in the morning. Have a fire outside your patio room or chill at many of the restaurants within walking distance.

The gentleman at the front was helpful and accommodating.

We will be back

Room Tip: Down stairs (patio) rooms have private outdoor 'fire pits' and furnature
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place as all the potential to be a GREAT vacation spot. Every ounce of me really wanted to champion this "hotel", but too many unacceptable amenities rained on my parade. The rooms and the grounds reminded me of an old lady that wears too much make-up thinking she's still 20 years old. No matter how much you cake on, you can still see the cracks.

Starting with the grounds/amenities: unfinished lawn, non-heated pool, no jacuzzi jets in the hot tub, sub-par breakfast, missing pieces from the board games, large hole in my pool towel, and my pool lounge chair was broken.

The Room: bathroom shower needs a desperate update and thorough scrubbing. WiFi did not work in the room. IKEA furnishings ugly. Bed was very hard and the rooms were hot with cheap/loud AC units. But worst of all - the sound proofing is non-existant. One of the most important aspects of any hotel stay is peace and quiet. I could hear my neighbors next door and above - perfectly. I could eavesdrop word for word on my neighbor's husband drama and the gal pal'ing going on upstairs. Unacceptable. The biggest laugh were the posted pricing on the doors. $399/night when not discounted! That has to be a joke.

This place is perfect for party-couples, bachelorette parties, birthday's in the 20's. This place could easily be a 4 Star with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taurenlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ojai hotels

Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Bought a Groupon deal to this hotel for a quickie, mid-week getaway. The owners obviously had a vision for this property, which in itself was a good one. But it appears they tried to pull off their "retro" theme either by themselves, or with completely non-skilled crafts-people. Paint slopped on the walls, the door paint had flat & gloss paint on it...and not on purpose. Looks like lots of IKEA furniture and accessories which are fine at home, but can't hold up to a commercial setting. Towel bar barely hanging on in bathroom, no hand-soap, hand-prints on the ceiling(!!), and the bed....eeee-uuu. The mattress had no pad, just the sheet and then mattress. I didn't dare pull it back to see what evil lurked, because it was already late when we got there. The room seemed clean enough, and there was a good odor of bleach on the sheets and towels thank goodness. Room was stiffling hot when I got there (it was drizzly weather outside) and I had to sleep with the loud air-conditioner on to breathe. WiFi didn't work in the room. I could go on, but long story short...the web and professional photos make this hotel look like someplace we'd want to stay. The reality is something else entirely. It's clear some people really like it here. I would stay again if everything else in town were booked up, but only then.

Room Tip: Consider a different property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heidimiller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Bad accommodations. Would never recommend this place.
Moldy grout around the bathtub. Didn't bother to paint near and behind the stool. Chipped and dinged paint throughout our room. Cheap furniture. 2 tissues in the tissue box. No hand soap for the bathroom. No bath mat. No clean paper cups 2nd day. 1 washcloth for 2 to 4 people. Grounds were extremely un-kept. Breakfast room had only 1 table. There was one grab bar on the back wall, outside the tub/shower combo. Slippery tub with no safety mat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatriciaC948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
81 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hummingbird Inn
Hummingbird Inn
#8 of 9 in Ojai
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Property: The Capri
Address: 1180 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it's within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley's best hiking trails and wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a patio, which are our pet friendly rooms.There are Natura organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on. We offer Wi-Fi, 42" flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, and a fireplace in our lobby. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing