We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard community museum”

Ojai Valley Museum of History and Art
Ranked #7 of 45 things to do in Ojai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ojai Valley Museum highlights the history, art and culture of the valley through museum exhibitions, programs and events. Housed in a National Register Building (originally the St. Thomas Acquinas Church) the museum includes semi-permanent history exhibits, a Sespe Wilderness diorama, highlights from the permanent art collection, and a Chumash Interpretive Garden. Four major original exhibitions are mounted each year, alternating between history and art subjects. A museum gift shop featuring books, gift items as well as locally produced cards and postcards. A tourist information office is included on the SE corner of the building. It is staffed 7 days a week with brochures, maps and magazines to help you make the most of your trip to Ojai. Regular events include 10:30am Saturday historic walking tours of downtown(no tours in August, September or on Ojai Day) for only $7 which includes museum admission and Town Talks on a wide variety of subjects (typically 3rd Sundays at 4:30-6pm) for $5. Check website for most up to date schedule of Town Talks.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Standard community museum”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely building and location is excellent, but if it were not for the temporary exhibit about the pioneering families of Ojai Valley, there wouldn't be much to it. I suggest that they retain a portion of the temporary exhibit and incorporate it into the permanent collection. Worth 1 hour of your time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“What a fantastic historic museum in the lovely town of Ojai”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a fun little afternoon side trip I had today! I spent the weekend in Camarillo and decided to venture over to Ojai for the afternoon. So glad I did!
Though I went from 72 to 97 degrees in the short drive over, it was such a treat to spend a few hours in the adorable laid back little mountain town of Ojai. Stopped in to the museum (old Church) and had such a lovely little chat with the docent. Nice nice woman! The museum has loads of easily digestible history on Ojai, some neat artifacts, a small but nicely done diorama and an additional wing with personal art collections (my favorite was Disney OF COURSE!). Even picked up a book from their gift shop to take home to my mom. Spent the rest of my day strolling down the Main Street, bought a "sweet" from one of the little shops and relaxed in Libby Park. Love this little town! Need to come back and check out one of the MANY Day Spas as well as some horse back riding! Until we meet again, Ojai!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pay the few dollars and educate yoursef in 30 mins”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

stuffed animals, easy to digest local history, learn about native indians (who would know driving around California they ever existed except in Hollywood?), kids liked the models, in and out in 30 mins if you want - longer if you get chatting to the friendly staff. I'd actually go back if I was in the area because it't exactly what ou want a museam to be - meaningful, enjoyable (an archery collection?) and informative without over stating it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice small museum”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Super small museum which was just perfect for kids. We have been to a lot of huge museums that take hours to go through so my kids were pretty relieved when they realized that this museum only had two big rooms in it. They had a small collection of taxidermy animals, a bit on the Chumash, and then other peoples private collections of various things which I am sure changes regularly. For the price it was a good deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool little museum”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best part of the museum is the beautiful old church it's located in. They also have a surprisingly interesting collection of history and art, and the greeters were incredibly friendly. It's very small, and I wish it was simply free to get in, but in the end I'd pay the $5 to visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank colliejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojai Valley Museum of History and Art also viewed

 

Been to Ojai Valley Museum of History and Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing