We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gem in Shangri La” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Iguana Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem in Shangri La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived after sunset at this lovely inn.

Tucked in a residential hood in Ojai, just a few blocks from town, this lovely hotel is a real find.

The lovely Pilar greeted me at the check in and showed me to my room. I stayed in "Frog" and is perfect. One large bedroom and a super huge living room and kitchen. There's also a beautiful patio area. I could have stayed a month.

The property has a nice pool area and breakfast buffet. It's not a huge hotel/inn, but that's the charm.

Top grade for service, privacy and romantic potential. The staff is professional, friendly and will go the extra mile to make things perfect.

Can't wait to go back for another adventure.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The website has some very nice pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solo57NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    63
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
282
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Emerald Iguana is our new perfect place in Ojai! We totally fell in love with the place from the moment we arrived. We had to get away for just one night (last minute, same day kind of thing) and we found this little yet beautiful hotel on Kayak. It's almost like something out of a story book! Nestle into the small hills and surrounded by trees, its the perfect get away! We stayed in the Grasshopper room, it was tastefully decorated, had a small private patio. The service was great, the swimming pool was really nice, specially at night with all the candle lighting. Loved, loved loved the Emerald Iguana so much that we booked our Anniversary in August already!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Densonioslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good location, great service, large rooms and beautiful pool area. This property is small, a boutique type inn with a warm, friendly feel to it. The staff is extremely helpful in every aspect. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have stayed at the Iguanas before. This time my husband and I chose "Cricket" suite at the Emerald Iguana for our anniversary. Very nice room adjoining the pool area with light and space.
2 story suite with 2 balconies off the bedroom and one patio off the dining nook. One balcony gets western afternoon light and looks out over a veld of bamboo. The other faces south east into the pool/breakfast area, is framed by a great tree and gets morning light. It was a totally peaceful and magical environment. Iguana maiden waves her wand. I am in bliss and forget my recent three surgeries and year plus struggle with cancer. Enjoyed breakfast by the pool in the sunlight. Check in and out was efficient. Parking close. Walk or drive into town easy. A very special place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We loved our weekend at The Emerald Iguana! I chose this hotel for me and my boyfriend based on a friend's recommendation of The Blue Iguana but decided that it would be more convenient as well as more fun to be able to walk into town. Then, I read the reviews of the Emerald Iguana here on TA and was convinced that this would be the better experience. The weekend did not disappoint! We hiked on Saturday, used the jacuzzi/pool services that afternoon, walked into town on Saturday eve for dinner and slept in on both, Saturday and Sunday morning. The pool/jacuzzi area was lovely with roses in bloom and a great breakfast is served at the pool until 10 am. We loved our room (The Grasshopper) with the exception of a small screen tv that was stuffed into even a smaller armoire. We had to move the tv out of the armoire in order to watch it. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the decor in the room was very romantic.

Room Tip: There were some larger and maybe more beautiful looking rooms than our room, but honestly, I felt th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JARidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great escape to a very peaceful historic destination. Throw back to the 60's. No view of the majestic mountains from the inn but walk a couple of blocks towards town and you can view the glorious mountains surrounding this lovely retreat area. Restaurants are very dependable and the Inn gets cozier as the days go by. Lovely escape - the staff is super. I think I saw Opie Griffith on a skateboard!!! Location is great for busines, couples, family, friends and solo!

Room Tip: Request bright room with personal patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are so pleased to fine such a jewel in Ojai. The property was suggested to us by the Ojai visitors center. It was like being in Costa Rica, a brief rain in the morning made the birds come alive. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julestoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Property: Emerald Iguana Inn
Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Iguana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing