We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful”
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emerald Iguana Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here to visit family with home too small for comfortable stay. Two nights. My room (Toad) was great....charming cabin vibe. Main complaint: Too much potpourri or fabric softener or some sort of perfume in room! On a warm night had to open windows and use fan. Also, feel breakfast snack could be available earlier. 8:30 is kinda late for early risers. And no decaf evident. Lovely grounds with relaxed happy people enjoying their stay. Nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyforth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    70
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
330
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Emerald Iguana. We were in town for three days for a family event and decided to return to this beautiful inn. The Tadpole room was very nice, with parking close by and the pool just around the corner. The inn has wonderful charm and décor and is so blessedly quiet! We'd return in a moment!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LelaOrangeCounty_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just spent a delightful two days at this romantic Inn with my husband. From the moment we walked through the beautiful gardens with cottages everywhere, beside a shimmering pool, and into the Peacock Cottage, we knew we were in a very special place. All our cares and concerns melted away within these beautifully decorated surroundings. This place is so calming to the spirit. All the modern convenience of flat screen TVs and WiFi hookups, full appointed kitchen, charming claw foot tub in the large bedroom behind a Balinese room divider and a huge two-party shower, walk in closet with ironing board and iron, and comfy queen bed. All of the tile work appears to be new. Saltillo tiled floors with just the right amount of area rugs. Two concerns--the old fashion toilet is small, short, and very close to the wall---The window AC unit is Very noisey and during hot weather was very necessary to be on high. The Continental Breakfast was the best I have had anywhere in the world. I have traveled extensively and I would have to say this is one of the most enjoyable places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeentherD0NEthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Last year my wife & stayed at the Blue Iguana ... and last week at the Emerald. Both are stellar properties. Our room at the Emerald Iguana was charming and comfortable. All the personal touches by the designers and the staff were well thought out. Our unit -- like the others -- has a cabin quality to it ... we had a nice porch and were just around the corner from the pool, spa and breakfast area. The Continental breakfast was perfect for us. It was fun reading the journal in our room (Tadpole) and not surprising to see how many repeat customers the room had.

Room Tip: You have to pay a premium if you travel on a holiday. We stayed the nights of July 2nd & 3rd and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zososfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As always, a beautiful stay at the Iguana, with exemplary service and serene surroundings. Stayed five nights this year (have stayed at least 5 or 6 nights every year for the past 6-7 years). The staff is friendly and helpful, but not intrusive -- there when you need them. We noticed a lot of the sprucing up that is documented on the website, fresh paint here and there, the Wifi seems stronger (if you must stay interweb connected). The new location of the office is a home run. It makes sense in it's new spot. The new tile work and balcony at Treehouse is spectacular, and it has the unexpected benefit of making the pool area even more serene than before. Improves upon what was already great. Breakfast even better than last year (do miss those addictive croissants though, maybe bring them back?) Could they hire any friendlier, smarter bunch of people to work the desk? I don't think so. If you are staying here for the first time, you will love that you can easily walk to the Arcade "in town" and all major restaurants and attractions, yet you feel private and secluded when at the Inn. On cool nights in "Cricket" you can open up both doors in the 2nd floor bedroom for a cross breeze and fall asleep to the sounds of the room's namesakes. I skimmed some of the negative reviews here. Ignore them. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Cricket or Peacock are favorites, but really, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilmandTVGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved the modern design of the house blending into its surroundings, and the patio spaces outside to make it easy and pleasant to enjoy the outdoors. The Ojai Gardens were pleasant to walk through, even on a very warm morning.
Quiet, comfortable and calming!

Room Tip: This cottage was off-site; no fitness center or room service, but a lovely lodging getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ahhhhhhh, seems to be the first thing I do/say when we pull up to the Emerald Iguana. We've stayed here two times and I can't wait to go back. The place just "feels" relaxing the minute you step foot on the property. The setting is so tranquil and the staff does everything to make sure the time you spend there meets your every expectation.
We stayed in the Acorn Suite this time and loved it. It's off by itself with a large private patio, large sitting room, kitchen and lovely bed. The hotel is walking distance to the downtown area or the famous hiking/biking trail that extends to the coast. The happy hour and breakfast are nice extras to this wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Property: Emerald Iguana Inn
Address: 108 Pauline St, End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023-1815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing