We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!!”
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ca.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The staff goes above and beyond.Loved staying there

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoginiCa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
96
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

A grouchy manager who would not accommodate a request for clean towels until she was asked twice, was our greeting. The same manager scowled at us over breakfast, which was a casserole of mysterious egg-like mush, so we did not dare complain. The room was so ordinary, it was hard to believe this was the same place described on their web site with such glowing praise. Buyer beware here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantGardener12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My friend and I just stayed here on a rainy weekend in October. We were in the Craftsman Room and enjoyed it completely. As people have said before, the location is fantastic, the home is charming and the hosts were friendly, available, and answered all of our questions from where to eat to how to boot up the complimentary Apple laptop for guests. We thought the wine/cheese, complemented by olive tapenade one day and olives/marinated tomatoes the next was delightful. Hot tea is available all day and we took advantage of that every night after coming back to the inn after dinner. Our breakfast buffet was an egg fritatta along with fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and usually something like banana bread. It was nice to eat outside on their garden patio. I wouldn't hesitate to visit if you want to stay in B&B with some original charm.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophieSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My mother and I came back to the Lavender Inn. We simply LOVE staying here. When we walked into the welcome office, The Innkeeper gave us each a warm hug and said "welcome home". What more can I say? The wine and cheese and figs and baquette were a perfect end to a warm and friendly day. The Frittata served the next morning was absolutely divine. AND...I just read that the owner, Kathy Hartley, was just named "Philanthropist of the year". That does not surprise me. We met her at the Inn and she is as charming and down to earth as the environment she created. Next time you are anywhere near Ojai...go in and check out this amazing historical landmark...and remember...bring your mom. She deserves to be treated like a queen.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I can't tell you how wonderful the Lavender Inn is. For starters, the Inn is absolutely picturesque with incredible attention to detail. The history of the building and the subsequent owners is a story in and of itself. The landscaping is gorgeous and you can easily spend your time listening to the water fountains or sipping coffee or wine and pondering why can't life be this good all the time. The food is great and the staff is more than skilled and competent. They're warm and very personable. They make it look so easy. Do I recommend the Lavender Inn? Yes and my wife and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbleharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Overall, we recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced relaxing stay, especially if you want somewhere that accepts dogs.
Room was lovely, even if not perfect. Handle to closet door, lampshade, & dvd player were broken, but hopefully by now they are fixed.
Location was great. Across the street is a good health food store and nearby are many restaurants, wine tasting, and shopping, as well as hiking and other outdoor activities. They are steps away from lovely Sunday morning farmer’s market.
Food was good – nice breakfast and afternoon wine/cheese/appetizers.
We stayed 3 nights: 2 out of 3 staff people were wonderful, very kind to us and our dogs, offered great suggestions for activities. One employee was cranky & stingy with food service.
Great back yard where we were able to dine with our dogs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavenderinn, Innkeeper at Lavender Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2009
We are very dog friendly and enjoy that guests can bring 'family members' here.
Occasionally some things get damaged with use. We thank all guests that bring such things to our attention. The items listed on this review have since been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Great destination. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and of amazing value. The staff are incredible and the food is fantastic! Nice big yard that is safe, beautiful and serene. A++++++++++ We will definately stay again. Thank-you Lavender Inn!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygolucky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Property: Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a ROMANTIC GETAWAGIRLS NIGHT OUT AT THE INN, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a QUIET RETREAT. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a petite waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle modern twist. Full, GOURMET BREAKFASTS and housemade TAPAS & WINE are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. Look for our COOKING CLASSES in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. We are proud to have created a 3 day CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, InnCourage, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer - a full time on-site counselor, massages, facials, healthy cooking class, American Cancer Society Look Good Feel Better make-up & wigs, and support from fellow cancer patients. Lavender Inn is More Than a Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing