We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% wonderful experience”
Review of Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“100% wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best way to do this is bullet points otherwise I will go on and on and on.

-Absolutely beautiful, homey, quaint, and cozy B&B
-Beth, Linda, Diane, Vanessa, Dan, and staff are fabulous, warm, and welcoming and all contribute to the beauty and sense of ease you feel the second you arrive.
-The rooms are all individually beautiful and unique and have robes in each room. In addition Vanessa makes a gourmet mean breakfast while you stay and sets out a wine and cheese spread in the evening. Must I go on?

Our Wedding
-Beth coordinated everything for us and was worth every dime. She made evrything so smooth and calm so that we could enjoy every moment. We had huge wedding parties and both our families occupied the inn n and Beth along with the staff was so patient and accomodating.
-Vanessa served us our breakfast the morning of our wedding and the morning after on our own seperate patio which made things so special.
-The cottage could not have been more perfect for us girls to get ready in. The private back patio has a chandelier and getting my makeup done out there next the the buddah and water fountain was so friggen relaxing and special.

I will never stop reccomending this wonderful gem and cannot wait to keep revisiting! A huge thank you to everyone at Lavender Inn!!! Love you guys!!

Tara and Ryan

Room Tip: The Provence Cottage is amazingly quaint quiet and has its own private patio and kitchenette. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
95
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to CA having stayed at 3 distinctly different yet wonderful properties. The Lavender Inn was delightful! We stayed in the Romantic Suite because it had a king bed. The room was spacious, well appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a small balcony off of it that was delightful. It is an older home that has been beautifully restored and maintained so I would disagree with some reviews that implied it was not up to snuff. The Innkeepers were lovely, extremely helpful offering suggestions for things to do, restaurants etc. The breakfasts were yummy! These ladies can cook! One morning was eggs with polenta and fresh vegetables and herbs, the other a light and fluffy frittata. My husband and I certainly enjoyed the chaise on the front porch to read and enjoy the sound of the fountain, (both of us were lulled to sleep by it)! The gardens are beautiful, freeform and full of herbs and flowering plants. The backyard offers a large porch and also several seats tucked into the landscape where we enjoyed our wine and cheese in the afternoon. We both like to be active and found the shelf trail that was recommended a good way to burn off some calories and offer beautiful vistas of the entire Ojai valley. Walking to dinner every night is a treat and we actually went to the same place twice because it was so wonderful, sat outside on a lovely patio and enjoyed dinner made with fresh, local fish and vegetables. We walked around the Ojai Inn and resort, just to see what others had fussed about, and both said how much we preferred the comfort and coziness of the Lavender to the pretentious pomp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMCFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I attended a wedding at Gridley Ranch and stayed at the Lavender Inn for one night. This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised. My room (Tree House) was clean, comfy bed, and had serene views of the backyard from two large windows. I shared a bathroom with another room, accessible from one door in the hallway. The Inn is walking distance to the parking lot where the bus picked us up to go to Gridley Ranch. Breakfast was also delicious and I enjoyed dining on the patio in the morning. Staff was friendly including the adorable dog. Great experience!

Room Tip: Tree House is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLadyinoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose the Lavender Inn for our Sons wedding and could not be happier with the outcome. Perfect location and walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores. The staff was incredible and accommodating. The property was perfect for our wedding with 90 guests and the fact that we could stay at the property, made preparation easy and relaxed. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the property is beautiful and relaxing. We would do this again without question and look forward to going back even for a weekend to relax and enjoy the quaint town of Ojai. A great value and the perfect location for a wedding!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room # 3 with a small balcony overlooking the garden and a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter was recently married at the Lavender Inn and thanks to the wonderful staff, beautiful and comfortable accommodations, it was a wedding to remember! We booked the wedding venue for the rehearsal, wedding and reception. The wedding venue is located in a beautifully landscaped, enclosed yard with water features, trees, flowers and shrubs. You would never know you are in the center of Ojai, quiet and relaxing. We also booked the seven rooms within the Inn and the adjoining cottage. Basically, we had the entire place to ourselves and Beth and Vanessa made us feel as though it was our own. The mornings greeted us with wonderful homemade breakfasts, fresh squeezed juices, and hot coffee. In the afternoons the Inn offered complimentary wine and cheese. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We hated to leave, but will certainly be back. If you are looking for a getaway that is just a short driver north of Los Angeles, a place where you can really unwind and relax, this is the place. You'll love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lavender Inn is one of the nicest places I ever stayed. The calm grounded atmosphere, the beauty of the land, the outstanding breakfast (Vanessa is a 5 star chef!), the afternoon wine and cheese buffet ... it is just a dream come true. The rooms are lovely, calm and I slept like a baby. It is my second stay at Lavender Inn and I will definitively come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lavendar Inn and loved it. It's in an excellent location - 1 block off of the main drag - and within walking distance of good restaurants, art galleries and wine bars. The Inn itself is very charming - a beautiful old home with a wide staircase, comfortable living room, and a very roomy deck and garden area. We stayed in the Topa Room which has a very spacious bathroom and a balcony which we enjoyed wine on in the evening. The Topa Room is on the street side and while you do get some street noise, it was not bothersome to us. The Innkeepers were very friendly and breakfast was outstanding. In particular, Vanessa makes a killer meal that is as lovely to look at as it is to eat. All in all, a very comfortable stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Inn

Property: Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023-2722 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a ROMANTIC GETAWAGIRLS NIGHT OUT AT THE INN, intimate business workshops, family reunions, or a QUIET RETREAT. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a petite waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle modern twist. Full, GOURMET BREAKFASTS and housemade TAPAS & WINE are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. Look for our COOKING CLASSES in our kitchen, Ojai Culinary School, with visiting chefs. We are proud to have created a 3 day CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, InnCourage, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer - a full time on-site counselor, massages, facials, healthy cooking class, American Cancer Society Look Good Feel Better make-up & wigs, and support from fellow cancer patients. Lavender Inn is More Than a Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing