We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and great location”
Review of The Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose the Lavender Inn for our Sons wedding and could not be happier with the outcome. Perfect location and walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores. The staff was incredible and accommodating. The property was perfect for our wedding with 90 guests and the fact that we could stay at the property, made preparation easy and relaxed. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the property is beautiful and relaxing. We would do this again without question and look forward to going back even for a weekend to relax and enjoy the quaint town of Ojai. A great value and the perfect location for a wedding!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room # 3 with a small balcony overlooking the garden and a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
97
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter was recently married at the Lavender Inn and thanks to the wonderful staff, beautiful and comfortable accommodations, it was a wedding to remember! We booked the wedding venue for the rehearsal, wedding and reception. The wedding venue is located in a beautifully landscaped, enclosed yard with water features, trees, flowers and shrubs. You would never know you are in the center of Ojai, quiet and relaxing. We also booked the seven rooms within the Inn and the adjoining cottage. Basically, we had the entire place to ourselves and Beth and Vanessa made us feel as though it was our own. The mornings greeted us with wonderful homemade breakfasts, fresh squeezed juices, and hot coffee. In the afternoons the Inn offered complimentary wine and cheese. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We hated to leave, but will certainly be back. If you are looking for a getaway that is just a short driver north of Los Angeles, a place where you can really unwind and relax, this is the place. You'll love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lavender Inn is one of the nicest places I ever stayed. The calm grounded atmosphere, the beauty of the land, the outstanding breakfast (Vanessa is a 5 star chef!), the afternoon wine and cheese buffet ... it is just a dream come true. The rooms are lovely, calm and I slept like a baby. It is my second stay at Lavender Inn and I will definitively come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lavendar Inn and loved it. It's in an excellent location - 1 block off of the main drag - and within walking distance of good restaurants, art galleries and wine bars. The Inn itself is very charming - a beautiful old home with a wide staircase, comfortable living room, and a very roomy deck and garden area. We stayed in the Topa Room which has a very spacious bathroom and a balcony which we enjoyed wine on in the evening. The Topa Room is on the street side and while you do get some street noise, it was not bothersome to us. The Innkeepers were very friendly and breakfast was outstanding. In particular, Vanessa makes a killer meal that is as lovely to look at as it is to eat. All in all, a very comfortable stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent a few days at Lavendar Inn for our anniversay and it was absolutely beautiful!! Our room was lovely, and we completely adored sitting out in the wicker chairs on our little balcony over looking the gardens...with our coffee in the mornings and a glass of wine in the early evenings. The breakfasts and the evening appetizers that Vanessa prepared each day were amazing!! She was so sweet to us and made us feel really special!! We definitely will return soon!

Room Tip: Every room is beautifully decorated but we thought the rooms over looking the gardens, the pond and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Frequenting the Lavender Inn for several years now, it has become one of my most cherished places to stay. The staff are wonderful and they take care to continually make improvements on the building and the quality of food (like more organic, local food!). They are also working towards becoming a more green business (changing to non-chemical and eco friendly cleaning products and service supplies). I especially enjoy that the Inn is a historical site and how quiet and beautiful the location is. I have also found the gardens and spa next door to be healing perks after a long day!

Beth is a kind and delightful innkeeper and make sure to hit one of Vanessa's breakfasts, she is the best chef and brings the most eco/health consciousness to the Inn!

The Lavender Inn is a place where everyone feels welcome and comfortable, it is truly my home away from home!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, with their own unique charm, it only depends on your style and personal pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lavender Inn:

We selected the Lavender Inn after reading very good reviews. At our destination we found the Lavender Inn to be unsatisfactory. The room was very small and dingy, paint chipping off the walls, plus other issues to numerous to mention.
The bathroom also had issues, not one place to store hygiene products. Flushing the toilet at night would probably wake up just about any other guests.
Thebeautiful garden as decribed looked unkept.
The breakfast was marginal at best, during breakfast we felt as though it was “hurry up and finish”.
Would not stay at this B & B again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyinglady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavenderinn, Owner at The Lavender Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am so sorry you had such a poor impression of us! To us innkeepers, we are more than a business; we love the Lavender Inn. We try our best to help our guests have a memorable experience, so we take reviews seriously - good and bad. I'd like to address some of your comments.
We are continuously painting and updating the Inn. Some rooms are more difficult to paint due to rooms being constantly booked. This spring, only able to close for 2 days due to previous reservations, we painted walls, carpeted floors, did routine mechanical work, trimmed trees, and spring cleaned... after a very (happily) busy holiday and early spring season.
Since then, we've had 3 weddings, a 5 yr reunion celebration for our own cancer retreat nonprofit, 2 private brunch events for travel writers, fundraisers, and 3 cooking classes, on top of a nearly constant booked Inn serving Wine & Cheese and Breakfast every day. We still maintain the inn and always keep it spanking clean where people have remarked, "You could eat off these wood floors." We've attached a few pictures of some of the events and typical breakfasts
taken since March.
We take pride in our Innkeeping and Housekeeping staff and trust that they do their best to accommodate everyone's special needs... be it allergies to down, foods... or anything else. Most of the staff has been with us over 5 years and some from the beginning, 10 years ago. We thrive on the diversity of our our guests!
The original building was a single room Schoolhouse in 1875. This building has had many lives. The upstairs was remodeled about 15 years ago including soundproofing between the walls, and. we assure you that guests cannot hear anything in adjoining rooms.
As for our gardens, they are ever evolving. Our gardener and stylist Daniel does such outstanding work that Sunset Magazine and CABBI have written about it. Those that were recently married here or had events and travel writers have raved of it's beauty. What I think you might be referring to as "unkept" is the flowers that are uprooted during the night by a family of raccoons looking for bugs in the soil, and, yes, that does look upkept until we replant them.
Regarding our breakfasts, we're the only accodmodation in Ojai that serves a FULL Breakfast in Ojai. Food writers have written about our dishes, made with local, fresh ingredients. We cater to all diets - vegan, vegetarian, high protein, and gluten free. Not only are we (innkeepers) amazing cooks, but we are a culinary school. Chefs and innkeepers teach and create culinary recipes in our professional kitchen.
We truly hope that you might give us another try and see if your experience might be different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.0 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Inn

Property: The Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic or outdoor adventure getaway, Girls Night Inn, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our guests to relax in or for a memorable setting for GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle contemporary twist. Both BREAKFASTS and HAPPY HOUR with appetizers, wine, and local craft beer on tap are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. We offer cooking classes in our kitchen, OJAI CULINARY SCHOOL. This is our 10th year of InnCourage, our CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing