We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!!”
Review of The Lavender Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lavender Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Lavender Inn is so beautiful -- including the rooms, interior decorating and gardens. The food is wonderful! Love the hospitality of the staff. I stayed a week here. I really enjoyed absolutely everything. Convenient to everything in the center of town. Highly recommend the Lavender Inn!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnamarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
97
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphys, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed this last Sat. nite at the Lavender Inn and had wonderful experience. You feel like you are home when you walk through the front door. The staff is so welcoming and the Inn is cozy and beautiful appointed. We slept like a rock and woke up refreshed and enjoyed a healthy, fresh breakfast in the morning. Just wanted to say "thank you so much!" On top of the Inn being wonderful, the town of Ojai has a very special feel to it. The air is clean, the weather gorgeous, the people are super friendly and the shops have handmade crafts that are beautiful. There is a lot of history in the area about the Chumash Indians who named the valley Ojai. They spelled it Awhai, meaning "moon." The people who have come to live in Ojai have a love and deep respect for the land and work together to create a healthy, connective, wonderful little community. It is truly a "slice of heaven."

Margo and Mike Anthony
Murphys, Ca.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Like staying at a person's home. Room was nice and garden is beautiful. Cozy, and romantic.

They offered wine and cheese before dinner. Gives you an opportunity to chat with other travelers. In general, a very communal atmosphere.

Organic breakfast was tasty. They also offer cooking classes there.

Center of town location cant be beat. Farmers market on the weekend!

Ann in the Spa gave a great massage...well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattxwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had never stayed in Ojai before and we were going to spend the weekend at a ceramic art workshop. I found the Lavender Inn on the web and booked it. It was fabulous. Well appointed, fabulous food, lots of places in the garden to either socialize or curl up with a book. Each room is unique and delightfully decorated. The staff was extraordinary, friendly, helpful and full of suggestions for restaurants. We will definitely stay there on our next trip!

Room Tip: There are only about 9 rooms so get whatever is available. The Lavender Garden was wonderful, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Lavender Inn in Ojai, so cozy and welcoming was beyond my (positive) expectations.
First the people...Diana, Vanessa...made me feel at home.
The breakfasts were divine! Abundant, yummy, diverse and prepared with love.
The wine and cheese in the evenings were top quality and brought us all together by the cozy real fireplace.
The cottage I was in, was much more than I needed, with it's own fireplace and private garden.
I thank all involved at the Lavender Inn with all my heart.
Linda Aciman, from Istanbul, Turkey

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaaciman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I just finished a wonderful three day weekend with my boyfriend at the Lavender Inn. It was our first trip together, my first trip to Ojai, and both of our first times staying at the Lavender Inn. All I can say is book your reservations now! The Inn is just so warm and cozy, and has such a amazing relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. We stayed in the Topa Room and it was really bright and cheery, with a lovely private balcony off the bedroom. The Innkeepers Vanessa, Beth, Angela and Diana could not have been warmer or nicer to us, and we really enjoyed chatting with each of them each morning as we had breakfast. Breakfast was always really delicious, with an egg dish, pastries, muffins, delicious granola and very fresh yogurt and fruit. Vanessa even offered to make us just scrambed eggs which we took her up on, and the eggs were just delicious. Each night they made a fire and my boyfriend and I enjoyed sitting in the living room in the fire at night after we had dinner out, and it was so peaceful and tranquil. They also offer a lovely wine and cheese hour from 5-6 pm and it was also very well done, with delicious cheeses and great wine. In general, Ojai has wonderful stores to shop at, and the people are really friendly. We cannot wait to come back to the Lavender Inn, and would highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing and calm retreat away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, NM
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We went to the Lavender in for our 31st anniversary, and really enjoyed it. We received a warm welcome, and our room lived up to our high expectations. The decor was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. We had a beautiful flower arrangement of roses and lillies, that was a nice surprise. Also a little balcony and very nice bathroom. The Inn had lovely common rooms, with a beautiful garden, and a fire in the fireplace in the evening. It was within walking distance of many nice shops, and a cool market was right across the street. I had a massage in the little spa in the front garden that I really enjoyed. And breakfast was wonderful! We enjoyed talking with the other guests, and had a tasty array of eggs, potatoes, fruit, breads, and more tasty sausage, herbs and other condiments than I can describe!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awolfe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
2.0 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Inn

Property: The Lavender Inn
Address: 210 E Matilija St, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly The Moon's Nest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort with elegance, the Lavender Inn is conveniently located across from shops, galleries, and restaurants. Originally built in 1874, this Bed & Breakfast offers a romantic or outdoor adventure getaway, Girls Night Inn, or a quiet retreat. The gardens are absolutely stunning with mature oaks, 7 fountains, a waterfall into a petite pond, and colorful flowers for our guests to relax in or for a memorable setting for GARDEN WEDDINGS. The interior is tastefully decorated with an array of art and antiques but with a subtle contemporary twist. Both BREAKFASTS and HAPPY HOUR with appetizers, wine, and local craft beer on tap are served daily on the veranda. Put on one of our lush robes and wander out the front steps for a facial or massage in our LAVENDER INN SPA. We offer cooking classes in our kitchen, OJAI CULINARY SCHOOL. This is our 10th year of InnCourage, our CANCER WELLNESS RETREAT, free to underserved women undergoing treatment for cancer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing