We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in the Ojai Valley”
Review of Sakura Ojai

Sakura Ojai
Ranked #32 of 96 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in the Ojai Valley”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

The tuna on fire is one of my favorites. I try to stick to the more sashimi type offerings for health reasons, but if your are into rolls, these guys rock. The Ojai roll is one of the best and is a roll that most anyone in your party will like. They are vary accommodating, will adjust your order as you request and typically will have a complimentary appetizer or additional treat on the weekends for you. To top it off, Eddie and Claire are two of the most genuinely nice restaurant owners I've had the pleasure to know. They recently opened another restaurant behind the arcade that has a similar menu, but Eddie is slowly incorporating some Korean dishes. Go.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Suzi”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food, cold beer and good service. Group of six and we ordered several dishes. I'm not a fan of cooked/hot sushi but they had really good tasty rolls. Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sflslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Specials”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just good food, and plenty of food to share. This is the place to eat for anyone who likes sushi
It's consistent and of good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't beat the top of the list 'Lunch for 2 for less than 10 bucks!"”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, the two of us can eat here and spend 10 dollars. We share one of the lunch specials and while we don't leave with a FULL stomach or having experienced an original sushi, we feel satisfied and our wallet is still smiling. We use to get two specials but at the end we would felt we overate. Now we get only one: a salad, a soup, a bowl of rice, and 3 items from several options (usually we choose California roll, Mix Tempura and Shrimp Tempura roll, our favorite) ,all for 8.99 plus tax and tip. Service is variable, sometimes great, sometimes on the indifferent side, but the sushi is right, the sitting outside is OK and the price for lunch is unbeatable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BohemiaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual and good”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We eat sushi often. We eat here most of the time. It's consistent and of good value. If you have time sit at the bar and ask the owner to make you something special. His creations are great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terriojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Ojai also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Ojai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing