We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous and not safe”
Review of Ojai Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ojai Rancho Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dangerous and not safe”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in the fireplace poolhouse which was decorated nice with a comfortable bed.
Yes the spa was closed for the winter but they could have removed the foot long dead rat floating in it. Our biggest concern is that the lock on our door did not stay locked.
We left for dinner and returned to find our dog (it is supposed to be friendly) running loose by the busy road. A desk clerk told us that she had already seen our dog running loose earlier and she herself "locked" our dog back in the room. But obviously the door does not stay locked. What's worse, management failed, despite promises, to contact us about this problem. It's supposed to be pet friendly but in reality, this place is dangerous and unsafe,.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcritic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoInn, Manager at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Ojai Rancho Inn.

We are a pet friendly hotel and as is standard hotel industry policy, you are not allowed to leave animals unattended in the guests rooms. As the manager of the property, I have checked the door lock and it is functioning correctly. However, it would be easy for a dog to stand on its hind legs and with its front paws push down on the door handle. Thank goodness our front desk staff is alert and placed him back in the room. I feel it would be terrible for something to happen to an animal because of human negligence. This is one reason why hotel do not allow owners to leave their pets unattended.

Regards,
Chris
Ojai Rancho Inn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    25
    18
    20
See reviews for
29
94
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

A pleasant older motor court redone in attractive western style, located a few block from the center of Ojai and immediately adjacent to the Ojai Valley Trail. a great place for access to shops, restaurants, and hiking/biking. Rates are reasonable. We had motel entirely to ourselves the first of two evenings during the off-season. Management made every effort to accomodate us after we discovered a miswired room and relocated us in an upgrade at no extra charge. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulrich1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoInn, Manager at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Ojai Rancho Inn.

We appreciate your complements and acknowledgment of our efforts to make this the best little hotel in Ojai. Come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Chris
Ojai Rancho Inn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Our room had a cowboy/western theme with branding iron designs on the shower curtain, pictures of Native Americans, etc. Room was a little snug but manageable. Everything was very comfy and the covered porch with a table and chairs was delightful. The continental breakfast was awesome -- artisan breads, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit, and, of course, great coffee. Very close (10 min. walk) to the historic downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalBMWRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I was a guest at the Inn in mid-Dec. My stay in Rm 7 was deplorable. Most significantly, there was no heat in the room -- while the temperatures dropped significantly during the night. Since I didn't return to my room until after the Inn staff left for the evening, I couldn't bring it to anyone's attention until morning. So it was an extremely chilly and uncomfortable night! The staff was very apologetic the next morning but unable to restore the heat. When I asked for an adjustment on my bill, I was told they've have to bring it to the attention of the owner. Over the course of the next 48 hours, I had to track down the manager, who travels from property to property. She reportedly checked with owner, Steve Elison, and advised there was nothing they were willing to do to adjust my bill. They acknowledged having very antiquated pipes and that they were intending to upgrade the pipes sometime in the future, but in the meantime, buyer beware. Their attitude was it was just "tough luck." Since when is heating not a part of the basic room accommodations. Unbelieveable!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpryce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoInn, Manager at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Ojai Rancho Inn.

As the new manager of the Ojai Rancho Inn, I have instituted a strict policy to ensure all the pilot lights on the heaters are lit before the guest checks in to the room. Additionally there are portable heaters in the room closets.

Regards,
Chris
Ojai Rancho Inn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ojai hotels

Camarillo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We loved it here. It is quiet and romantic and has a very romantic feel to it. It is in the perfect location and is a fun, quaint hotel. The staff was nice and a the breakfast was included!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We took a chance on this motel, even though the reviews put us off a bit. And we're glad we stayed here. It is a good bargin, and well located. Sure, it's not fancy. But it has its charm. There were three of us traveling together and the rooms are designed to accomodate two people in a queen or king bed. The staff pleasantly added a roll away for us. That left little room to move around. So be aware that the rooms are small. Clean. We had no problems and the staff was helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexrandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I'm sad to say I even have to give a star!! This is hotel hell. When we arrived and 2 hours after check inn they told us our room was not ready yet. So we went to eat @ there restaurant for a free meal on them which was probably the worst service & food we ever have experience to date & dirty!! This was probably enough red flags to bolt!! when we got back to our room.We began to settle inn our fairly rundown somewhat musty room only to find a soiled tampon within the sheets, that I discovered with my foot. We were out of there. They said they had another hotel next door The Capri that could take us if we wanted. We looked at each other & ran for the hill!!! We ended up staying at a charming Bed & breakfast called the Lavender Inn. It ended up being a great weekend. But there seems to be a monopoly on the hotels in Ojai. OJAI YES The chain of hotels NO!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynrochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.7 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.8 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Rancho Inn

Property: Ojai Rancho Inn
Address: 615 W Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3724 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ojai Rancho Inn-a Shelter Social Club property continues to reflect Ojai's relaxed and friendly personality. We offer service and amenities that ensure every visit is memorable. Our beautiful property, which is located within steps of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, boasts a tranquil garden that adjoins Ojai Rancho Inn to the popular Ojai Valley Trail. With our convenient location, free bikes, swimming pool, spacious grounds, and friendly staff we hope you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ojai Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Rancho Hotel Ojai
Rose Garden Inn Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing